We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the standard accomodation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kuranda Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kuranda Resort to your Saves list
Kuranda Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 Greenhills Rd, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kuranda
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not the standard accomodation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The surroundings are breathtaking, the staff very friendly and happy to help. However standard feature such as changing towels, removing rubbish, hair dryer, toaster,table and chairs, wardrobe are not available. The accomodation consists of timber cottages and shower floors are timber. Due to continues wet environment in the shower, there is a musty smell in the rooms. There is no mesh on the windows, therefore you cannot open the windows due to the risk of getting insects, reptiles etc.
You can survive for one night, however if you intend to stay for several days, you are better off somewhere else.

Room Tip: Use this place as a last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    7
    5
    48
See reviews for
23
39
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is definitely a case of the resort looks a lot better in the photos than reality.

On arrival we found the reception area to be quite acceptable, and the main area did look nice and definitely in the balinese theme although the reception staff were not very well organised.

What is not mentioned in the resort details is that the whole resort is on a hill and there is no vehicle access, so after lugging our bags down the hill to our room we were quite dissappointed in what we saw.

Our room (no. 40) was a wooden cabin which is obviously not well maintained and in drastic need or maintenance. The stairs leading up to the door were loose. Inside of the cabin was even worse. The room was quite spacious with a spa in the corner of the main room, but there wasn't even a couch to sit on, just a big empty space. One of the light fittings was hanging off the wall with exposed wires and the insulation in the ceiling was also exposed and hanging off. The bathroom was in need of a good clean and the light didn't even work. There was not a TV in the place and the only place to sit down was in the cramped bedroom on the bed. The louves didn't close and there weren't fly screens on the windows so the mosquitoes were everywhere.

We were so dissapointed in the place we only stayed half an hour and even though we had prepaid out nights accommodation we left and found another place to stay. It's a shame as the resort has a lot of potential but we definitely would not recommend, we wished we had taken notice of these reviews and not wasted a night's accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This resort is totally changed. It's like going to Bali without the 61/2 hour flight. The rooms are large and spacious..balanese style, some with tv some with cd/radio (your choice). It's in the Kuranda rainforest with it's own walking track to the villiage (15 min) or a 4 min drive.
The two swimming pools with water fall are in lush rain forest surrounds.The new ownder Kevin & his wife Ika and staff will really look after you & the food is different each night(even the locals eat here. Ika is Indonesian & the food can reflect that. It's delicious.
You must visit.
Any comments on this resort prior to 1/5/2012 are totally redundant........

Room Tip: just ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Now I know this place has had a lot of bad reports and things said about it , those remarks all belong in the past now. Recently I stayed there when so many others warned me not to , but hey I need to see things through my own eyes my own way. But to the new owners and managers credit , the place looks great , the pool is awesome and also the food and new menu divine.

Big Kevin , JDee and staff will go out of there way to make your stay enjoyable , pleasant but most of all worth your while. Dont give up here all the staff and current managers are conscious of turning this great place around and to redeem past appraisals full circle.

Its a great place to stay so giver it a go !!! Thats all the team running show now wish people to come back and make this the age of renaissance again for the Kuranda Resort

Room Tip: Near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at Kuranda Resort & Spa recently and was surprised that the place is under new ownership and management.Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will be difinately going back again. With the facilities being upgraded, the resort is going to fabulous. Can thoroughly recommend staying, Very peaceful and the new Management & Staff were lovely.

Cheers Mirvan & Irma Johnson (Brisbane)

Room Tip: Suggest to organise in advance when you book, ask the friendly receptionist
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had the misfortune of staying at the Kuranda Resort and "Spa" (what a joke that is) in October. Our 'fully serviced' room was filthy - it clearly had not been cleaned after the previous guest. The shower had empty little bottles in it, a used disposable razor, hair, and a piece of used soap in it. The toilet had not been flushed. The bed was unmade and the sheets were dirty. The room was advertised as having a kitchen, dining and living area. There was a kitchen (complete with dirty dishes) but there wasn't a table or chairs so there was nowhere to sit. When we checked in they initially couldn't find our reservation (we had the confirmation info). When we went back to find out if we could get a clean room they said they were busy getting ready for a big banquet and didn't have any other clean rooms. An awful start to an otherwise great trip to Australia. Don't fall for the 'Resort and Spa' title or the online photos of the pool and lobby! It's dark, dirty (filfthy) and creepy. The pool was disgusting and cloudy.

Room Tip: We can't recommend anything about his place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have stayed at this place in the past and loved it, however, something has seriously gone wrong since then. The new manager was beyond rude and this was the final straw after a string of disappointments and below satisfactory standards. This so called resort experience was beyond pathetic and the manager was so rude I can't bare the thought of good hard working people forking over their money to this poorly run establishment only to be treated like the scum of the earth. Honestly, I have stayed at the back packers down the road and if given a choice knowing what I know now I'd choose the back packers any day. We arranged for early check in and arrived latter than planed yet the room was not ready when we arrived latter than expected, the staff at reception had no idea what they were doing (but were at least friendly - with the exception of the manager), the linen had not arrived and the cleaners had not finished cleaning the room so left half way through with the place still not cleaned. We went out and were told their would be linen in the room before we got back - there wasn't. In the end the cleaners grabbed a set from another cabin and handed them to us all scrunched up for us to make the bed ourselves. We didn't realize there were no towels until we go out of the shower! There was no TV in the room, the shower rose fell off on my foot, the floor boards moved, the roof was tarped (probably leaks) the milk in the fridge had been opened and the coffee was hard as a rock - everything was dirty including the spa and there were suspicious stains on the couch (wtf?!).The pool/grounds were not maintained. The food was pathetic and overpriced and don't even bother ordering desert - we were given a desert menu but when we ordered were told no desert was available!The wait was ridicules even though there were only 7 people to cook for in total! All of this we were willing to forgive until the manager treated us like we were the scum of the earth for requesting to charge our meals to the room. When we were told ever so rudely that the restaurant (if you could call it that) was cash only we asked if eftpos or an atm was available, at which point the manager decided to yell at us and big note herself by repeating several times that "I am the manager, I am the manger" (as though that was something to be proud of lol!) and rolling her eyes and putting her hand out demanding cash. Thank god we had enough cash on us to pay for the meals even though we paid for the room on eftpos she said they had no facilities for this. Nowhere was it written on the menus or anywhere else that it was cash only. She then proceeded to question as to whether we had paid for our room already, implying that we hadn't (we had - as well as providing our credit card details for security). It is such a shame as this resort had once held a special place in my heart and Kuranda is such a beautiful place. The resort itself has so much potential if only management would wake up to themselves and realize they are running it into the ground. Whilst none of the staff had a clue I suspect this is due to the new management, I was told they had gone through a lot of staff since the change over and geez I have no idea why that could be?

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuranda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuranda Resort

Address: 3 Greenhills Rd, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Kuranda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kuranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuranda Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the essence of the world heritage Barron Gorge National Park, Kuranda Resort & Backpackers will remind you what it is to truly relax and unwind. Revitalize your soul amidst the tranquil surroundings and enjoy the tropical ambiance of Northern Queensland. Kuranda Resort combines relaxation with adventure with a range of tour options. Ride the Skyrail, sail out to the Great Barrier Reef, experience the thrill of extreme White Water Rafting, or simply marvel at the beauty of the rainforest. Relax by the pool, before preparing your senses for the gourmet dining experience offered at our onsite Bar and Restaurant. Choose from a range of fully self contained apartments or Egyptian style chalets with oversized cotton daybeds and cushions, and the tranquility of our natural red cedar surrounds. Resort facilities include 1 million litre, 4 metre deep pool with connecting waterfalls, fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts, conference rooms and extensive backpacker comforts.The amazing bar and restaurant set on the pool edge will surely take your breath away, especially at night. With live music by the fireplace and an extensive range of wine and beers this venue has got it all. It is recommended that guests hire a vehicle for their convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kuranda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuranda Hotel Kuranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuranda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.