We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular diner since January 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Vibe Kuranda

Village Vibe Kuranda
5B Coondoo St., Kuranda, Queensland, Australia
(07) 4093 7184
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 36 Restaurants in Kuranda
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Regular diner since January 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I have dined here quite regularly since early 2012 and I have to say that unfortunately it has become quite average since the change of ownership.
With the old owners it was fantastic and I would easily have given it 5 stars. Food was great value for money, staff were brilliant, you always got a wet flannel on your table, you ALWAYS got a bottle of water. It was that great that I would never have dreamed going anywhere else for breakfast.
Unfortunately not long after the change of ownership my husband and I, plus friends who were also regular, saw a gradual slide.
Food portions started to whittle down and sometimes not taste so great, (apart from the owners) staff seemed like they had somewhere more important to be, we have to ask for water and flannels now etc. I'll also mention that it took me 25 minutes for a coffee a few weeks ago and this was on a quiet Sunday morning. I had to ask where it was.
Unfortunately for a name like Village Vibe the Vibe seems to be slowly going downhill. We will definitely be trying somewhere new from now on.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuranda, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nasty, and definitely not cheap!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I used to go to this cafe regularly and always enjoyed the food and service. However, new owners took over in September 2012 and things have really changed! I've been there twice in recent months and the prices have gone up but food quality and service have taken a huge dive. I had hoped after the first visit that I had just caught them on a 'bad day' so gave them another chance but never again. The coffee was terrible, we waited for ages to get our simple order, there was no hint of an appology and the wedges were cold and poorly fried. The woman who waited on us was rude and abrupt as she dumped the food down and hurriedly left. Everything about the experience was terrible and very disappointing after having had several years of delightful visits to this place in the past.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Cafe in Kuranda!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a really cool cafe in Kuranda! The staff are super friendly and always greet me with a smile. The coffee is really good, as is the food. They open for breakfast at 7:30, which is super handy because most of Kuranda is not even open at that time. They also have free Wi-fi with any purchase.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuranda
1 review
“Fabulous food & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had the best experience for lunch at the Village Vibe. Having amazing options on the menu to choose from, we all enjoyed a brilliant selection of foods, drinks & tastes. We had a large group of ladies & we were catered for beautifully. Definitely recommend the chai tea! The atmosphere was alive & vibrant. The food, atmosphere & staff were fabulous!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited for lunch during our day trip to Kuranda. Cafe is bright but also cosy. Ordered the chicken vibe sandwich and my boyfriend had the Aussie toastie. My sandwich was delicious and huge! Couldn't finish it all! Reasonably priced too. We couldn't resist a scone with jam and cream. This was also delicious! The lady serving was very friendly. There's also free wifi.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Vibe Kuranda also viewed

 

Been to Village Vibe Kuranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Vibe Kuranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.