We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And it wasn't the wet season!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barron Falls

Barron Falls
Barron Gorge National Park, Kuranda, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$173*
and up
Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class...
Ranked #5 of 12 Attractions in Kuranda
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“And it wasn't the wet season!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you love scenery then you'll find this well worth the trip. We didn't get to see the falls in the wet season, when we're told the view is even more spectacular; but the smell of the rainforest and the view of the falls and cliffs were beautiful - my camera got a work out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    96
    34
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Definition of a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Looking for something to make a day of, another traveler and myself we're told about this mystery waterfall. We took a local bus up to the Kuranda Markets which was only 4 bucks each way if I recall, compared to a very pricey tram/gondola/train situation. It was quite the adventure making out way to the falls but we managed, and worth it is an understatement. We took the trail from Kuranda, through the rainforest, then up the long road to the entrance only after going to a dead end trail which we thought was the right route. On the way back to Kuranda we walked along the train tracks which was out of service at the time, and ended up being a more direct route with some incredible views as it goes along the river. I highly recommended that you start your day early as this is an all day event and you'll have to catch the last bus back down the mountain.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great view of the waterfall and of the gorge! If you're in Kuranda, it's very easy to get to. Take a bottle of water though. You'll snap some great photos, but you really have to see it with your own eyes to admire its beauty.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very powerful, pretty waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is absolutely worth a visit when you are in the area. HUGE waterfall; some great photo opportunities.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
280 attraction reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Nice view of a waterfall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The trails to the falls are very well made and maintained so it was easy access. There are plenty of birds and beautiful scenery along the way. I'd advise mosquito repellent or you are very likely to get bit. The best view seems to be from the train platform, so be sure to go all the way down

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barron Falls also viewed

 

Been to Barron Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barron Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.