We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Somerset Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lake Somerset Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lake Somerset Holiday Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   78 Kirkleagh Road, Kilcoy, Queensland 4515, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Happy Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We camped in a powered site during the long weekend. It wasnt too busy.
Pretty spot with lake on both sides. Small Playground but lots of space for kids to play and ride, Putt putt also kept them busy. The free BBQs were great and the amenities were clean with hot showers and laundry. There is also a common roofed bbq area with fridge/microwave and hot water, but we didnt utilise this.
Great place for fishing and boating, I wouldn't think about going in really busy times as the spots are quite close together and you have to find your own fire pit (not one for each spot)
Overall a great stay, bring kindling and firewood as its been picked clean. We will return for shure.

Room Tip: Hav alook online at the map and find somewhere close tothe amenities but not on the thorough fare
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Officer at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing this review of your experience, we were very pleased to hear about the highlights of your stay. We appreciate any comments to assist us in maintaining and improving our service levels and facilities so thank you for your feedback!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    22
    15
    14
See reviews for
73
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Myself and a group of friends decided on Lake Somerset Holiday Park for the Queens birthday long weekend to celebrate the birthday of a friend. Camping, fishing and catching up around a camp fire was the plan, however this was not the case. First off on arrival i was overwhelmed by the dust bowl like conditions of the camp ground. Surely with a fresh water Lake attached to the camp ground, they could sort out some revegetation areas and get the grass growing, but unfortunately it would seem that profit has come before visitor satisfaction. We were packed into the camp site like sardines in a tin which would ultimately lead to our eviction from the grounds. I will be the first to admit that we may have been a little more jovial than other groups, however this would not have been an issue if there was some sort of limit and organisation of the camping area whereas to not get as many punters in the area as physically possible. This was even more evident when another camper thought it appropriate to set up his tents all around my car and boat, leaving me to have to ask others to move their cars and assist with getting my boat out of the spot which it had been for a day and night before more campers were herded in.

Gone are the days were issues can be sorted out amongst one another, instead our group was the target of a very ill mannered, unprofessional member of staff. A warning would have been sufficient, instead we were threatened in a very inappropriate manner. Another day went past with even more campers jammed into the area, with not even 1 metre distance between camps, of course there are going to be a few issues with the 10 pm noise restrictions. The following day that same rude gentleman came storming into our camp site, notifying us that we have 1 hour to vacate otherwise the local police would be called. This was totally uncalled for and quite a surprise. We packed our things and left, which wasn't an issue as it was good to get home to a sanitary bathroom.

Overall the area is very pleasant and scenic, however Lake Somerset Holiday Park need to have a good think about how they run their camp grounds and possibly some customer service training focusing on conflict resolution for their members of staff.

I will not be returning.

Room Tip: Avoid long weekends and public holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Officer at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your feedback following your recent visit. It certainly is disappointing to read when our guests have a less than satisfactory experience and we hope these comments provide some clarification on some of the points you raised.

We have a set of rules in place, found on the back of the park map, to ensure that all visitors to the park have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. One of these rules states, “the peaceful enjoyment of our park and its facilities by all visitors is important to us. Please assist by being considerate to your neighbours and restrict noise from radios, televisions and social gatherings after 10pm and before 6am”. The Park Managers received a number of complaints about your group being in violation of these rules and did issue you with a warning on the first night of your stay. It is my understanding that you continued to violate these rules on your second night with excessive noise well past 10pm, and as this was impacting the enjoyment of other guests, management had to ask you to leave.

We do not have allocated sites for our unpowered camping due to the grounds being set on such a large area of land (45 hectares). We have found that the majority of visitors to the park enjoy the freedom this allows, and that for the most part guests are quite considerate of not taking up an unreasonable amount of space, we apologise that this was not the case during your stay.

With regard to the sites being dusty, unfortunately this is because there has not been any significant rainfall for some time now, however once the area does have some rain the grass does grow quite quickly. We are also continually upgrading the grounds and maintenance of sites is carried out annually during off peak periods.

Thank you again for providing this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 days camping with friends here. Unpowered site, was lovely. Water both sides of us, clear flat ground, kids had a ball being free and cycling around. Was busy (queens holiday weekend) but didn't feel squashed in.
Not cheap, but top spot. Defo will return!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Officer at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent experience. It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a great time over the weekend, and that you have already decided to return.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casino, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed in a lake View cabin for 4 nights.
I found the staff very helpful and friendly
The cabin was clean and stocked with everything u need possible didn't have to take anything other than clothes and food. In the evenings I spent most of my time on the back deck overlooking the lake enjoying a few drinks. I walked around the park and if u have a caravan, motorhome or tent the park certainly has the space to accommodate. I took my jet-ski to Lake Somerset and the boat ramps were a nice gentle slope which I have a sedan car and had no problems getting my jet-ski off and onto the trailer had a great time. I definitely go back again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Officer at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Lake Somerset Holiday Park. It is wonderful to hear that you found our Lakeview Villa was ideal for a comfortable and relaxing holiday, and that you enjoyed some time on the beautiful Lake.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a great 4 days at Lake Sommerset Holiday Park, found staff very helpful and friendly.
Ammenties were clean and quite new. Fishing was great plenty of fish. We would definately go
there again.We had our own camper and there is plenty of room for powered and unpowered vans, camper trailers and tents.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Officer at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for coming to stay with us, and for writing this lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our location and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Congratulations on the catch! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum Sands Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed in a Lake View cabin for 4 nights. This the second time we have stayed at Somerset Holiday Park and have always enjoyed our time there. The cabins are comfortable, clean and stocked with every utensil imaginable for cooking indoors or a barbecue . Even though I don't fish my husband enjoyed going out in the boat with friends. I was happy to go for a walk around the lake and to sit on the verandah reading. Nights were spent sitting around the fire after dinner having a few drinks and a laugh. People who stay there are relaxed and it is easy to make friends. Staff are very helpful This is a great holiday spot for anyone who enjoys boating or fishing. If you have a kayak take it with you it is a magical place and safe.

Room Tip: If you are not in a caravan or camping the Lake View cabins are a great option . Might be a bit exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Officer at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Sounds like you had a pretty amazing experience at Lake Somerset! We appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

It was awesome! Had two nights and 3 days there absoulte lovely would defintaly reccomend it to anyone :) Its great just to sit around the fire with marshmellows and relax, and the fishing was great! Well go again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Guest Relations Officer at Lake Somerset Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for leaving this great review and recommendation!

We are delighted to read you had such a wonderful experience staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Somerset Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Somerset Holiday Park

Address: 78 Kirkleagh Road, Kilcoy, Queensland 4515, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Kilcoy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kilcoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Somerset Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Somerset Holiday Park is located on the shores of Lake Somerset, centrally located between Brisbane, Toowoomba and the Sunshine Coast. It is a short 10-15 min drive south of the nearby town of Kilcoy and you can launch straight off the bank onto thousands of kilometres of pristine lake. Lake Somerset Holiday Park offers a relaxed 45 hectare family friendly environment for camping and water sports, providing camping sites, modern amenities, electric BBQs, 2 boat ramps, sporting oval and a kiosk stocking drinks, snacks, ice, gas and limited grocery items. Ideal accommodation for Lake Somerset fishing holidays or water sport getaways. Renowned for premier angling, Lake Somerset is a great place to have your next fishing holiday. The waters surrounding Somerset Dam are home to a host of fishing delights, all waiting for you to explore. Our camping and backpacker facilities and family holiday cabins cater perfectly for any type of water sports or fishing holiday in the Lake Somerset/Somerset Dam area. Lake Somerset Holiday Park's patrons are often seen undertaking water sport activities such as waterskiing, wakeboarding, flyboarding, sailing, kayaking and canoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Somerset Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Somerset Holiday Park Australia/Kilcoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Somerset Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.