We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay as good as the first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yabbaloumba Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yabbaloumba Retreat to your Saves list
Yabbaloumba Retreat
118 Booloumba Creek Rd | Cambroon, Kenilworth, Queensland 4552, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Second stay as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Returned for a second time as our memories of the last stay were so wonderful. Fantastic cottages with everything you need. Location and views that have you relaxed as soon as you drive in the gates. Think this will be our regular getaway place. Might try the colder months next time to utilise the log heater.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It gets better with each visit... we promise (But then we are not bias :) ). You definitely need to visit the Hinterland in the cooler months, you wont be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Once a year my parents come to stay with us and my wife and I take advantage and have a night away kid free. This year we chose Yabbaloumba Retreat and what a good choice it was. The accommodation is perfect, perched on top of a hill overlooking the valley with beautiful cool breezes even on the hot days we were there. It was also spotlessly clean (a change from most of the places we have stayed) and well appointed. The hosts Barbara and Lloyd were very welcoming and always happy to help, and they have an extensive DVD collection to choose from if you just want a night in.

The only let down was the food we got from a takeaway in Kenilworth which unfortunately was not great, thankfully the supplied cheese and biscuits and delicious breakfast kept us from going hungry!

All in all a great night away, and for the first time ever we will try and return to the same spot next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It's great you have enjoyed Yabbaloumba Retreat, but we are disappointed that the food outlet in Kenilworth was not up to standard. Next time you stay we would encourage you to order one of our meal packs. Guaranteed quality local food, that you can prepare yourself in the comfort and privacy of the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back same time next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have travelled all over Australia and with overseas travel under our belts YR is truly 'Magic'. 5 star places can learn many things from YR in terms of cleanliness, attention to detail/s, little details that make the world of difference to your stay, something that you get walking through the door for the first time and then walk the farm. Although it's a working farm, it is truly a retreat, as you cross that first grid and then the cross the second grid you regain inner peace as calm comes over you. We don't know how to explain what happened, but 'WOW' 'WOW', 'WOW', Thank you. Linda and Ross

Room Tip: All cabins are perfect so just go and experience it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Yabbaloumba Retreat, we would definitely have to agree that there is magic here beyond words here on the farm, and we are so glad we got to share our small piece of paradise with you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I needed to find a place where I could loose myself in thought, rejuvenate my soul, and lift my spirit, and here at Yabbaloumba Retreat I found that and much more. I came by myself for some well earned, deserved ME time. From the moment I set eyes on the property from the road, I knew I had made the right choice. Barbara and Lloyd are such genuine country people, who have done a wonderful job creating their slice of heaven. Barbara is a wonderful cook ( fresh, warm croissants delivered every morning )... and Karen .. what a wonderful, down to earth, caring, happy lady. Karen is the beautiful soul who delivers your breakfast ( the day before for you to cook ), always with a smile and a kind word. Then there is Bart the Goose ... well I could write for ages about my adventure with him ... but he is such goose :) A country girl born and almost bred, this was an amazing experience, and the views are to die for, magical. I found magic in each and every day of my stay. Thank you Barbara, Lloyd and Karen for making my stay with you all the more special. I would definitely come back, and next time bring my husband.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for you sincere compliments, it was our pleasure to have welcomed you to Yabbaloumba Retreat, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were looking for somewhere peaceful and inspiring to see in the New Year. Thinking clear skies, away from the city lights, fresh air........ Wow, did this fit the bill!

Views to the far horizons, luxurious accommodation with every little detail thought of. Very generous breakfast including a lovely fruit platter, juices, croissants, yoghurt, muesli, bacon and Eggs........... Attention to detail was obvious throughout, .

Close to some marvellous walking (Booloumba Creek National Park- Strangler Fig Cairn and Artists Cascades), some great canoeing spots (Baroumba and Baroon Dam) and little country towns to explore (Kenilworth, Imbil).

Spa was lovely after a day spent walking or canoeing. Didn't get to use the fireplace this time of year, nor did we need the aircon on, as the cottages are positioned on a ridge and catch cooling breezes.

Definitely a little slice of heaven!


Just a wonder

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for such a great review, Yabbaloumba really does tick all the boxes and we are so glad we got to share it with you. We hope to see you again soon and maybe next time you can use the fire place:).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and l recently stayed there for 1 night to celebrate his birthday and it truly was a beautiful and relaxing experience .The accommodation was perfect everything was spotless .The spa what a great size, the bed great and soft felt like l was sleeping on a cloud the view from the bed was amazing . Cheese platter on arrival with a bottle of wine, fresh fruit, yogurt ,nuts .Breakfast supplies in fridge that you can cook on BBQ and watch the amazing view .We had warm croissants derived in the morning yum. It was the perfect weekend away with a view you could look at all day we did not leave the cabin at all .Can not wait for it to get cold so we can return to relax in front of fire , in the spa. Simply perfect, would highly recommend to anyone who wants to relax in a private and peaceful retreat

Room Tip: All cabins are private with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We would have to agree that Yabbaloumba is perfect in everyway, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, as for winter here at Yabba it is beautiful from morning frost with deer in the paddocks, it is just spectacular. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We visited this place during the last school holidays and spent 3 delightful days doing very little other than just enjoying the absolute tranquility of the rural surrounds. The accommodation was perfect, the views gorgeous, the breakfast provisions were huge and the bed and pillows, oh so comfortable! Lloyd and Yvonne were the perfect hosts; unobtrusive but there when we needed them. We've already raved about our stay at Yabbaloumba to our friends and would certainly go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Yabbaloumba Retreat, we can definitely agree that our views are gorgeous. we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yabbaloumba Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yabbaloumba Retreat

Address: 118 Booloumba Creek Rd | Cambroon, Kenilworth, Queensland 4552, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yabbaloumba Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yabbaloumba Retreat Kenilworth, Australia - Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yabbaloumba Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.