We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Breathtaking and a perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yabbaloumba Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yabbaloumba Retreat to your Saves list
Yabbaloumba Retreat
118 Booloumba Creek Rd | Cambroon, Kenilworth, Queensland 4552, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Breathtaking and a perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and it was fabulous. All the little touches, and everything provided was amazing.Much more than expected. Everything we needed, they had. We didn't have time to fish or walk around the grounds but we will be back to do that next year for sure. Perfect spot, romantic cabin, great place to sit on the deck and have breakfast or some cheese and wine before starting the BBQ and settling in for the evening. LOVED it, and the hosts were lovely also. Perfect getaway.

Room Tip: There are only 4 cabins and they are perfectly spaced and all in great locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
It will be great to welcome you back to Yabbaloumba Retreat on your next visit. Don't forget that the fish you catch don't have to be thrown back :) Thanks for taking the time to review our retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We treated ourselves to one of the gorgeous cabins at Yabbaloumba Retreat in June. The cabins are luxuriously appointed, with a gas fire, huge spa bath and many nice touches such as complimentary cheese platter and wine. The property itself was beautiful, with clear creeks to explore. The hosts are welcoming and are happy to let you wander around the property (though perhaps a mud map in the room might be helpful?). After a walk it was a treat to sit with a glass of wine watching the sunset over the dam and mountains. The location is great, close to Maleny and Kenilworth. We wish we had been able to stay for more than one night, but will try to return another day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for your comments...we too are somewhat bias and think Yabbaloumba Retreat is pretty special. The heads up on the mud maps is good and we will get something drawn up to help with exploring the property. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our experience was second to none, the cottage was fantastic, peaceful luxury. The propery itself is spectacular. A quiet location, wonderful hosts, an experience we will always treasure. Close to hinterland townships, or take a walk through the national park down the road, or better still just enjoy the property - plenty of space to walk and enjoy. Take a dip in the creek, lovely clear fresh water - no better place to swim. As for fittness - the outdoors beat a gym any time.

Room Tip: bring your dinner with you, a kitchenette is provided in the cottage and once you arrive, you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review Yabbaloumba Retreat Lisa F. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I smiled when I read your tip as we hear often from our guests that they just don't want to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Yabbaloumba Retreat is just that. It is tucked away in a little slice of heaven on Earth. Close enough to enjoy day trips to the surrounding hinterland towns, yet far enough away from civilisation, that you wouldn't know anyone else was within cooee, as you sit in the couples spa and watch the hills change from green to glowing orange as the sun sets from behind you. Not enough can be said about Barb & Lloyd, they were friendly, accommodating and very good hosts. The 4 days away felt like 2 weeks, so that tells you something about just how good it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Excellent play on words, RichieRich...glad you had such a relaxing time. We never tire of the sunsets or sunrises especially when there is a bit of cloud in the sky late in the afternoon or the mists of a morning shrouding the creeks. The name Yabbaloumba is a marry of the two creeks that meet on the property - Booloumba and Little Yabba. Thanks for posting a review on your stay with us. As a relatively new property, we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The first "Wow" came when we drove round the corner and could see the property on the hill and they just continued. Amazingly peaceful and beautiful location on the hill looking down the valley, over the dam to the surrounding hills. The "cabins" (they are so much more than a "cabin") are immaculate and very tastefully decorated and the facilities are excellent. Breakfast on the deck watching the rising sun is an experience - but if you like your bacon be sure to guard it from the Kookaburra. lol. The small but lovely extra's such as cheese platter, wine, organic brekky and croissants just topped it all off.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Being 'one with nature' can go a little overboard when the birdlife invite themselves to breakfast! Sorry about the bacon...the Kookaburra obviously enjoyed breakfast with you both. We enjoyed sharing Yabbaloumba with you Andrew and your lovely lady and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. The cabins are positioned atop the hill looking out over the dam and hills. Our Cabin had everything you could ever want and was substantially larger than a hotel room so even if its pouring rain you can curl up in front of the fire, relax in the spa bath or watch a movie (Barbara has a diverse range of videos and shows to choose from). I cannot think of a more pleasant stay I have had in Australia or abroad. This place is so good you want to keep it for yourself and not tell your friends. Barbara and Lloyd are very pleasant as were all the ladies that help her run the cabins. I cannot wait for my next getaway to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical and all designed so no other units can look in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recommendation, Mitch. It was lovely to read how much you enjoyed Yabbaloumba. We all endevour to deliver friendly, professional service and it was a pleasure to relay your comments to both Karen & Liz who help Lloyd & I with the cabins. We look forward to welcoming you back to Yabbaloumba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Yabbaloumba is the perfect spot for couples seeking a romantic retreat. The hosts were friendly, the cottage well-appointed and immaculate and the scenery was beautiful. I really liked the little touches, like the candles on the balcony and providing torches and umbrellas in case guests feel compelled to take a night or wet-weather foray. My partner and I enjoyed our walk down to the creek and the freedom to wander anywhere on the property. This is one of my favourite spots in the Sunshine Coast hinterland and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb C, Owner at Yabbaloumba Retreat, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for your review OzyGal, we are pleased you took the opportunity to wander around and enjoy the beauty of the landscape. Many years ago when we first moved to Yabbaloumba, our elderly neighbour told us that Yabbaloumba was where Angels came to rest their wings a while! Thanks also for posting your photos, we enjoy looking at them. See you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yabbaloumba Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yabbaloumba Retreat

Address: 118 Booloumba Creek Rd | Cambroon, Kenilworth, Queensland 4552, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yabbaloumba Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yabbaloumba Retreat Kenilworth, Australia - Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yabbaloumba Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.