We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal in lovely surroundings - friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar

Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar
123 Sooning Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
+61 7 4758 2419
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar has a great variety for all occasions.From Lunch on the deck over looking the marina,too fine dining at dinner.Executive Chef Rodney Smith has combined fresh ingredients and local produce in his menus that will tantalize your taste buds. Now with tapas style dishes to have a variety of more dishes to amaze your taste buds.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in lovely surroundings - friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The scallops were superb, my husband enjoyed his calves liver - both our favourite entrees. His steak was melt in the mouth as was my duck breast. Good wine selction. Wonderful meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney S, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi DeborahLBrisbane,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I hope that you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Room service and restaurant were both pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had room service on the evening we arrived. Really enjoyed the pork belly but was slightly overcooked. Salad had parmesan that was sweating so much our cheese fiend daughter wouldn't eat it. Fig salad was really nice but the haloumi dish was a bit overcooked.

In the restaurant, service was lovely but slow. Garlic prawn gnocchi was beautiful, kids loved the Bolognese and the salmon was cooked perfectly.

Easily the best place to eat on the Island of you dine in the restaurant, wine list was also much better (diverse) than other establishments.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney S, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi KDMelbourne,

Thank you for your feedback and review of our restaurant.

I'm glad that you got a great experience in the restaurant. I will be folllowing up on your room service meal though. I'd be guessing but think by your description, that you must of been at the other end of the resort, and the wait staff have put your salad on top of the hot food.

Really sorry for this!!!

I hope we made it up to you when you came to the restaurant!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb tropical menu and a lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The food here is just divine! We had the pork belly as an entree, the tuna and steak for main and a delicious tropical panna cotta desert. We couldn't say a bad thing about it. Highly recommended for a quiet, romantic meal with amazing views. June/July tends to be quite cool so opt for a table inside by the windows. The staff were super friendly and a delight to talk to. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney S, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Princessfromoz,

Thank you for your review.

It makes the whole team here at the boardwalk so proud, when we read reviews like yours.

Please join us again for another special occasion soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Crispy Roast Pork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

For dinner, I had the crispy roast pork belly - beautiful presentation & mouth-wateringly good, excellently cooked & deliciously crispy. The side dish of roasted chad potatoes was also delicious - don't know what sort of potatoes, but they were well-suited to roasting. My wife had the calamari and rated that very good but not excellent. Service was prompt and friendly. Being at Peppers, of course it was expensive, but the quality made it worthwhile. We were too well-fed to venture a desert.
Four friends also tried the $25 fixed-price limited-choice lunch menu (that you have to ask for) and rated it very highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney S, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Yragnhoj,

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you join us again at the boardwalk restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The menu, whilst not large, is comprehensive enough. All our meals were delicious although a bit pricey ($16 for an Affogato which comprised of a very small scoop of icecream, liqueur and espresso). The servings were mostly ample and plated attractively. The wait staff were attentive and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney S, Executive Chef at Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hi bookworm0759,

I'd like to thank you for your review of our restaurant and hope that you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Magnetic Island, Queensland
Magnetic Island, Queensland
 
Arcadia, Magnetic Island
Magnetic Island, Queensland
 

Been to Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.