We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED LOVED LOVED THE PLACE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   146 Sooning Street, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Mantra One Bright Point)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Magnetic Island
NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“LOVED LOVED LOVED THE PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After reading the review below I think we must have stayed at a different place. We had a view over the ferry terminal and it was nice seeing the ferries coming and going. I booked through Best of Magnetic, but I chatted with the cleaning staff, reception and the maintenance/garden man, all very friendly and lovely. Maintenance man was always pruning and cleaning not only around the pool area, but all around the resort. He even gave me some flowers that he had cut, which I put in water in my room. I loved the fact there were 4 pools all with awesome views. The one with the spa overlooking ferry terminal was my favorite. We had plenty of toiletries and cleaning products, but there is an IGA that stocks everything you need, including BBQ chickens, hot chips, pies, an array of salads and made up rolls, just a short walk away. Get in early for food and bread, especially rolls. We always managed to find a deck chair around the pool, but I did hear that the place was packed for NYE and that may explain the review below. We knew before we went there was no restaurant on site, no biggie, heaps of places to go and eat, can also get pizza delivered. We hired dvd's from the IGA for nightly entertainment. We had our own bbq on our balcony, so we cooked on them every night. The pool areas also had BBQ facilities. We had a fridge that made ice and cold water, which we used a lot. The only negative would be that the air con could have been colder, but no big deal, it was sufficient. I would highly recommended staying here. Would also highly recommend the Magnetic Island 3 Hour Eco/Oreintation Tour by Tropicana, in a stretch Jeep. Mal the tour guide is a fantastic ambassador for the island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    66
    38
    18
    8
See reviews for
56
102
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Grand Mercure claim to be a 'luxury' brand, and we have stayed at quite a few various establishments of the Accor brand. The vast majority measure up, but the Magnetic Island property fails.
The property itself suffers from very average design. Whilst there are 4 pool areas, none seem to have attendant toilets and change areas (difficult if you have kids) and indeed one pool is located directly out front of a three bedroom unit that obviously hasnt been able to sell due to its poor situation. Dont expect much in the way of pool lounges or any other guest facilities for that matter - this is a 'resort' that offers the bare minimum of necessities: scant toiletries and unit cleaning products, very little guest information and NO RESTAURANT. Not what I expected from a 'Grand Mercure". Thankfully the nearby Peppers has a restaurant and there are several others nearby, as is a well-stocked supermarket.
A short walk will bring home the groceries to cook in the bare-essentials kitchen. Our oven display didnt work, but that was in keeping with the range hood, several lights, the 3 channels on the cable tv, the satellite set top box that didnt work at all, and the disconcerting numbers of small missing tiles in the bathrooms.
The guest reception is small and the staff are seemingly endlessly on the phone booking and arranging tours, car hires etc. Dont expect to be served quickly.The importance of this activity is even stressed on the welcome sheet, where you are told that booking activities through reception is important to keep the price of your hotel room down!
Is this what you really expect from a 'good brand' like Grand Mercure?
On the plus side, the location of the complex is stunning. Right on the edge of bright point, with fabulous views of Cleveland bay - IF you get a unit that doesnt overlook the complex with its 24 hour blaring lights...
It rained a little when we arrived and the top floor access paths are completely open to the elements.
From talking to our fellow guests around the pool, we werent the only ones to be disappointed in the property.
In summary: poorly designed, poorly built, poorly managed, great location.

Room Tip: ask for a unit on the far side of the resort overlooking Cleveland Bay. Otherwise choose somewhere e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricD D, General Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Meg,
Thank you for your feedback.
Obviously we are disappointed that your stay was not in keeping with your expectations, however we do pride ourselves on being a 4.5 star AAA rated resort, and we work very hard to maintain that rating.
Grand Mercure Apartments are fully self contained enabling our guests to enjoy a romantic night in or should they wish explore the culinary delights that abound on Magnetic Island.
Each of our 4 pools offer comfortable cushioned weave lounges and chairs for our guests to relax on whilst taking in the spectacular views.
I fully agree with you that our reception staff are busy, this is a tribute to the wonderful service that they offer our guests as they book tours, give advise as to where to eat, and generally ensure that you our guest are afforded the attention they rightly deserve.
We will provide you with the location, facilities, and organise your activities, the only thing we can't provide is your ability to enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We recently spent the weekend with Grand Mecure on Magnetic Island and could not be happier with the experience. From the first call to make the reservation I was wrapped, the consultant, Lou, went out of her way and even organised our ferry transfers and booked us in for dinner. The room was much larger than expected, well presented, well appointed and made the most of the great view. The service from the staff over the weekend was exceptional and they even let us lounge around the spectacular pool after we had checked out and before our return very was to depart. Absolutely outstanding and highly reccommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my first visit to Magnetic island. I stayed at the grand mercure apartments at Nelly Bay (Bright Point). I had a water view apartment with beautiful views of the harbour and the ocean. The apartment was lovely, very clean and well equipped and the staff (Lou) was very welcoming and helpful.
I would highly recommend both the Grand Mercure apartments and a visit to Magnetic Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilaben bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed in a beautiful one bedroom deluxe apartment for the weekend to celebrate my 40th birthday & a quiet weekend away with my wife ( Kids Free). The complex is in a great position & only a short strioll from the very terminal. Staff were great on check in gave a a great apartment on the 5th floor with great views out to the water. Apartment was virtually on the waters edge. On the completion of check-in the lovely receptionist had our next 2 nights dinners booked at local restaurants and both meals were fantastic. The apartments was very clean well appointed & the sound of the water lapping on the rocks in the morning was beautiful. A great pool was just below out apartment & our apartment had lift access directly out the door. Overall enjoyed our stay and next time we will make it a family trip as the complex also has up to 3 bedroom apartments. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: If travelling as a couple ask about the 1 bedroom deluxe rooms were they have a 2 bedroom apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Address: 146 Sooning Street, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Mantra One Bright Point)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the character of Magnetic Island reflected in its distinctive architecture, Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a secluded sanctuary, with oceanfront accommodation comprising of four buildings nestled around tropical landscaped gardens. Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a selection of deluxe one, two and three bedroom beach house style apartments designed to take advantage of uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and enhance the natural space and lighting with sliding door panels, louvered walls and breezeways and private balconyies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Mercure Apartments Hotel Magnetic Island
Mantra One Bright Point Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.