We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book through onsite manager” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   146 Sooning Street, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Mantra One Bright Point)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Book through onsite manager”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked in May, 3 days stay in Bright point one through a website that advertised various apartments in this complex. 3 days before arrival, we were advised that apartment 2306 was not available due to construction work and was offered apt; 4305. After viewing 4305 we rejected the offer as it is half the width of the other apartments and both bathrooms are upstairs. I rang Rita Dickinson the On site General Manager of the complex and she came up with an alternative apartment 4305 that was beautiful, large and with a private balcony twice the size of the apartment offered. This complex has a rooftop pool and bbq area with amazing views. Ask for what views you want, as in facing back over Townsville or just Harbour and ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment in blocks 3 & 4 as they are away from reception area's and construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    66
    38
    18
    8
See reviews for
56
102
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is not a resort but a managed apartment complex. Our 2 bedroom apartment was on the top floor looking back from Nelly Bay to Townsville. The layout means the front bedroom has a great view but the back bedroom (2 singles) has none. The outdoor dining area also has a great view.

One truly odd thing was that it appeared as if the tile floors hadn't been washed for ages. Our feet were black after about an hour and we continued to have this problem over the 4 days. There was no reason for this.

The kitchen was inadequately appointed - no can opener, no sharp knife, no tea towel. If you want to cook make sure you have the utensils. Stove was a stupid ceramic one that doesn't allow real control - very irritating. The TV/DVD/CD setup was fine. Shower and toilet were functional. Storage was fine. The bed was comfy. Very strange was the lack of ceiling fans because the sea breeze doesn't always come and aircon is not what you want.

The complex has 3 pools but the one in this wing suffers from being in the shade and so is very cold. The location of this pool was also very odd as it is outside a vacant apartment and you stare straight into this dis-used apartment - they should put up curtains.The other pool we used was ok. What is enchanting is watching the local rock wallabies grazing near the odd pool at sunset.

The biggest drawback is location. Although you are a 5 min walk to the local supermarket (open 7 days) and the ferry to Townsville, there is nothing else at Nelly Bay - one restaurant, one cafe, no beaches nearby and no scenic walks. There is a taxi rank and bus stop nearby so you can get up and down the Island easily; and there is a moke hire place nearby. The feeling we came away with is that Nelly Bay is a transit point and not really a holiday place. If we were going back we would stay in Horseshoe Bay at the top of the Island because the location is much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is our second time to Accor Grand Mercure Apartments and we were just as happy as our first visit. The apartments have everything you could possibly want plus the most majestic view across the sea to Townsville.
We arrived in June with the pools a little on the cool side. However, the complex has the most amazing heated pool - just wonderful!
Our trick is to always ask for an ocean view apartment. That way you are always with great views and the most beautiful location.
The management view fantastic as well.
Love it!

Room Tip: Always ask for a ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently. Was pretty disappointed. Management were very helpful and obliging. The place has very bright security lighting which I guess is a positive, but the rooms do not have adequate curtains. If you don't mind sleeping in daylight like conditions then go here. Management when asked about the lighting , said they had had many complaints but the owners won't do anything about it. We were moved , which was a little better, but the room had moldy cushions, smelt of mould, and was generally very tired. Not worth the money you pay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elanora, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Overall we truly enjoyed our stay at Magnetic Island. The location and apartment were fantastic. The only shortcoming was the noise from other inconsiderate guests there for a wedding. (Walking up and down the complex anytime between 12 and 4 am shouting and making as much noise as possible). It's a shame the night manager didn't bother to answer his phone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, and were lucky to be able to check in on arrival, around 12:30 pm on a weekday. We'd booked a 1-BR apartment with a water view, and it was fabulous - !!! I still can't get over the pure pleasure of lying in bed looking out at the water, and seeing and hearing the waves. We kept the windows open all night, to go to sleep and wake up to this relaxing sight and sound.

The dining room and balcony also look out over the water, and are very private - you can't see in from other units or the pool. One of the showers (there were two bathrooms in this unit) looks out over the water too, as does the bathtub (although you can pull the blinds if you like).

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, suggesting activities and booking things for us. One excellent suggestion was the Stage Door Dinner Theatre, which we went to and really enjoyed (and probably would not have tried otherwise). They had also pre-booked our ferry tickets for us and sent us the voucher, which made it much faster than having to wait to buy the tickets at the terminal.

We knew that there was no restaurant or food service onsite, so had bought some groceries in Townsville; there is also a grocery store a 5-minute walk away. The nearby Peppers resort has a great (if somewhat pricey) restaurant, and there are other places to eat within walking distance, or by bus, taxi or car.

However, I'd have thought there'd be some milk provided for coffee & tea (small packets of each of which are provided) but there was not. You need to also be aware that the unit will not be serviced unless you are there for more than a week - but there is a washer & dryer, with a "starter supply" of powder provided, as well as a few packets of dishwashing liquid.

I did think it odd that we had to pay $5 each for pool towels.

There is a full-size fridge & freezer, a toaster, microwave, stove and also a barbecue out on the balcony, which we used to grill steaks and chops.

We found dirty, mouldy dishes in the dishwasher and ran the dishwasher twice on them, but it still didn't get all the mould off. We reported this - they said they would send someone over to retrieve these dishes, but no one ever came for them. We also had to ask twice to get a second hand-towel and face cloth.

There is a manual for all the appliances in the unit - it seems geared toward a new owner of the unit rather than a short-term guest, but it was still useful. There's a TV in the loungeroom with DVD player, a stereo, and also a TV in the bedroom. You can sign up for their wireless internet service, which is the same price or even a bit cheaper than at many major hotels ($20 per day I think; we didn't use it.). All kitchen crockery, cutlery and utensils are provided, including wineglasses and BBQ utensils. This makes it very easy to do the economical thing and cook your own meals!

The rooms were large, lovely and luxurious and we would definitely come back if "pampering" ourselves a bit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view. Ours got no sun, but it was warm enough we didn't care - if you want sun o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Okay the room was as described on the website. My "water view" apt. was on the lowest level which was okay as I still had a view to the mouth of the harbor and beyond.

I stayed for ten days and had only one complaint that occurred on the first day. A neighbors air conditioner unit was making an excessive racket and it was located above my bedroom window. I notified the office in the afternoon but when I came back in the early evening it was still a going. I knocked on the door but no one was home. I rang the after hours number and requested that the issue be dealt with only to be told that it would be very late before someone could look into it- I said that wasn't good enough and opened the door and held my mobile phone up to let the person know how noisy it really was, only to have her say she could not hear it, then she hung up on me mid-sentence. I rang back and got another person, explained the situation, no one upstairs, knocked on door, no signs of life when looking up from balcony and got the same line- very late before someone could look into it. I requested to be moved or the issue be dealt with. About 5 minutes later the a/c was shut off- thank you.

My unit had another problem that I don't think can be fixed easily- when toilets are flushed upstairs the pipes make a high pitched sound as the water refills the cistern, annoying and the builder/plumber should be ashamed.

Room Tip: My unit was luckily located several units away from the pool- those units do have privacy issues so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island

Address: 146 Sooning Street, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Mantra One Bright Point)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the character of Magnetic Island reflected in its distinctive architecture, Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a secluded sanctuary, with oceanfront accommodation comprising of four buildings nestled around tropical landscaped gardens. Grand Mercure Magnetic Island offers a selection of deluxe one, two and three bedroom beach house style apartments designed to take advantage of uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and enhance the natural space and lighting with sliding door panels, louvered walls and breezeways and private balconyies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Mercure Apartments Hotel Magnetic Island
Mantra One Bright Point Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.