We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spacious flat in a nice apartment complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Blue On Blue Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   123 Sooning Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good spacious flat in a nice apartment complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for two nights at peppers blue during our east coast tour. The Island itself is fantastic and we had a brilliant time (jet skiing, horse riding, koala sanctuary). The Peppers Blue complex is very nice, huge swimming pools (although could be a little cleaner and the bar/restaurant area is very nice also. Staff very helpful and friendly (Charley who checked us in especially!)

We stayed in a large spacious apartment- which was very nicely furnished. We had a slight ant problem, ants in around the bathroom, kitchen floor and kitchen work surface- which is the only reason (plus the slightly run down state of the huge lagoon pool) that we have not given this place 5 stars.

Overall, very nice place to stay and good value for money. Would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Slav,

Thank you taking the time to write a review.

Great to read you enjoyed the Island and Peppers Blue on Blue, there are so many things on offer it hard to get to all of them. Sorry to read you had unwanted visitors (Ants), we have an extensive management program at the Resort but it seems no matter what we do they find a way.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue soon.

Just an FYI we now have free Internet and Block Buster movies included in all our packages, call us direct on 07 4758 2400.

Cheers
The Peppers Blue on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    109
    40
    29
    20
See reviews for
77
155
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a three night stay here in the off season. The location is very good within seconds walk from the ferry terminal but no noise. The accommodation was of a very high standard and the breakfast was excellent - we were a bit spoilt as breakfast was cooked to order rather a buffet for two of our days. Even a false 2.30am fire alarm one night didn't impact on the enjoyment of this break.
The pool is huge and magnificent.

If you travel without a car the bus service around the island is frequent enough.

The hotel is close to a large IGA and their are BBQ's in the complex beside the pool - great spot for a nice in-expensive dinner. Generally we found most places don't open that late for dinner on the island.

I have an 8 year old son who wasn't with me on this break and I wouldn't say this island has very much to offer for children of his age in the off season

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Paul,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TA. Great to read you enjoyed all the facilities of Peppers Blue on Blue.

Cheers
The Peppers Blue on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adaminaby, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Despite being the "off" season, we had a wonderful time, kicked off with an upgrade to magnificent unit with marina views & own plunge pool to boot. Units very comfortable, clean & quiet. The staff made us very welcome & we felt like we had found the perfect place to come to & unwind.We were quite sad to leave. Thanks to you all up at Blue on Blue !!

Room Tip: Speak to reception staff direct prior to booking - they are most helpful. Some units overlook the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Edith,

Thank you taking the time to write a review.

The team love reading the positive stories and I especially like reading how engaged our staff are with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue soon.

Great tip Edith, call the property direct to tailor the room to your needs (07 4758 2400).

Cheers
The Peppers Blue on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Despite being only a 20 minute ferry ride from Townsville, when sitting on your balcony in Blue on Blue and looking out at the ocean, you would be forgiven for thinking you were a million miles away on a deserted tropical island. The hotel has a feeling of relaxation and serenity. The apartments are clean and spacious. We stayed in 824 on this occasion which had a pool view and we could see the marina beyond. It was clean and beautifully air-conditioned (which is important as it can get very hot and humid, especially in summer). The apartments have full kitchens and laundry so they cater to whatever your budget may be. You can cook yourself or use one of the available webber barbeques by the pool or eat in the fantastic restaurant. We had the degustation dinner on our first night which I HIGHLY recommend. It was fantastic with matching wines. Just be warned, turn up hungry because the portions are very generous and the food is so delicious you definitely wont want to send any back! We had dinner the next night which was also delicious. We have never had a bad meal in this restaurant and have eaten here many times. If its in your budget to eat out, eat at the Boardwalk restaurant at peppers, you wont find anywhere better.
The resort pool is huge. Fantastic for family with lots of shallow ends and steps for kids to play but big enough that if you are a couple there is always somewhere to go where there are no children. There is a second pool close to the reception area which is smaller and is frequented mostly by adults.
We are really looking forward to coming back at Easter with our children to enjoy this little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Coug77,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TA. Great to read you enjoyed all the facilities of Peppers Blue on Blue.

Cheers
The Peppers Bleu on Blue Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed at Blue on Blue and had an amazing stay. The meal at the restaurant located at the resort was one of the best ever meals and not at all what we had expected to find in North Queensland on an island.
Very friendly helpful staff made the stay so memorable.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, Front Office Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Graysie51,

Thank you for your wonderful comments.

Great to read you enjoyed the restaurant I know our amazing chefs will love reading your comments, thank you! Just an FYI our new autumn menu arrives tomorrow, we are all super excited.

It is amazing what little gems you will find on a tropical island. Thank you for sharing our secret.
We are happy to know you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cheers
The Front Office Team at Peppers Blue on Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

After a longish drive down the coast and the short ferry crossing finding the hotel could not be easier. A stones throw from the ferry. I was offered an upgrade and no extra cost and that was a superb way to start what was to be a three month trip through Australia. Super staff on reception and in the restaurant. Good food well presented if a little pricey. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. Lovely apartment room with a view across the harbour. Great facilities in the room and super clean throughout. Good parking underground as well. Huge pool. Great location for buses around the island which leave from the ferry terminal area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Fotofinder,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We love surprising our guests with a complimentary up grade, thank you for your kind comments greatly appreciated.

We believe as does many of our guests (you) that we have the best restaurant on the Island, if not in Townsville. So thank you for your kind words the team will enjoy reading them (the breakfast buffet is always a huge favourite with all our guests).

We are delighted you had a wonderful time and were able to enjoy all we have to offer both here at our resort and the island as well.

Call us on 07 4758 2400 to book your next holiday.

Cheers
The Peppers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The 2 bedroom apartment had everything we needed and was absolutely immaculate!
The staff were very helpful and the food at the restaurant is to die for!
The pool is huge and caters for everyone.
I would stay again any day!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello Jenna,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and taking the time to share with others on Trip Advisor.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cheers
Abraham & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Address: 123 Sooning Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Set in tropical landscaped surrounds with beautiful marina and mountain views the resort redefines the essence of island holidays on Queenslands magical Magnetic Island. Peppers Blue on Blue includes contemporary yet timelessly designed guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, coffee/tea making facilities, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, hairdryer, direct dial telephone/voice mail, iron and ironing board, alarm clock/radio, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette. Throughout the year Magnetic Island boasts fantastic weather making it the ideal place to get outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, the endota spa combines the islands serene surrounds with the perfect blend of luxury to offer an extensive menu of treatments while the vast outdoor resort pool is the perfect destination to chill out and sip on a cocktail. Making its home at the resort is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. The restaurant features a massive outdoor deck, ideal for embracing the classic Queensland climate. All windows and doors of this sleek and contemporary restaurant can be opened for a seamless transition between traditional and alfresco dining options. Magnetic Island offers a unique blend of national parks, untouched tropical beaches and bays all within easy reach of the resort. Bushwalking tracks provide an ideal opportunity to see the Australian wilderness and wildlife in its natural habitat while Magnetic Island as part of the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef offers numerous aquatic activities and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.