We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Blue On Blue Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   123 Sooning Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Buninyong, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We recently stayed at Peppers in earlyOctober and had a fantastic stay. We booked a Marine view room which overlooked a stunning Marina with an array of sailing boats. the staff where friendly and helpful, especially the room attendants who were extra attentive.Our room was on the first floor with a well appointed kitchenette ,spacious bathroom and balcony view. We had a small splash pool and a huge wrap around pool to choice from and spent relaxing hours lying around, reading and swimming when we weren't off exploring this fascinating Island. I felt like we were on a tropical Island overseas! Daily breakfast was included which was extensive and varied with staff that smiled and interacted well with us. Overall Peppers was a great place to stay, with Fifty steps to the Townsville ferry and bus stops and one hundred steps to a well stocked supermarket! Would definitely recommend to stay for a week or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello Jennie,
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience of Peppers Blue on Blue. Great to read and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future, contact one of our friendly team direct to make a booking and get the best choice of rooms.
Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    94
    39
    29
    17
See reviews for
71
141
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 nights at Peppers Blue on Blue. Upon arrival the front office staff were extremely friendly and helpful. She guided us to our room which was impeccable, spacious and overlooking the magnificent Lagoon Pool and the Nelly Bay Marina. Over the next 3 days every staff we met, be it housekeeping, reception or at the restaurant were always so cheerful, friendly and engaging. Both breakfast and dinner at Boardwalk were absolutely superb. The huge pool was an attraction in itself, relaxing by it was the best pass time on the island. We left the property a few times to check out the rest of the island but all we really wanted was to get back and enjoy this amazing property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Monkey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA, greatly appreciated.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue soon for your next holiday.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were a party of 4, including one 6YO child, on Maggie to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. I was keen to ensure mum felt pampered every step of the way. From organising champagne and choc dipped strawberries on arrival in the apartment to a special (and delicious...did I mention the food here is a real treat) birthday dinner, staff couldn't do enough to help make it memorable for her. Right down to the "happy birthday" foil scatters on the table linen and not one but two singing waiters!

Tracey in particular deserves a special mention. So accommodating and so helpful. I'm sorry I didn't get to thank her personally. So, thanks Tracey! Mum was delighted.

The 3 bed apartment was fabulous, even though it was the middle of school holidays the pool and grounds were peaceful and quite civilised. No issues with noise or anything else. Very restful sleeps and extremely comfortable beds, lots of clean linen and the complimentary pool towels were a godsend. I'm definitely coming back same time next year for the whole school holidays, if I can! What a magnificent place to recharge for all ages. Thanks Peppers.

Room Tip: Rooms around the back near the big pool are great (we stayed in the 800s).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Bev,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Peppers Blue on Blue and sharing with other travellers.

Tracey will be tickled pink to read of your comments, it’s great that their hard work and commitment to our guests is well appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed here many times. Breakfast is great and fresh with otions for every choice. We always get the bigger room with the kids and a kitchen with a water view. I like it better with water out the back as other wise you get the noise of the ferry arriving. There is an IGA across the street to grab any goodies you might have forgotten.. Only issue is the stroller access is only every few floors so it is quite painful with kids as few rooms have lift access where you dont have to drag luggage down or up a flight of stairs. That aside it is a great place to stay

Room Tip: water view rooms facing away from the ferry are just as pretty but without the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Domstar,

Thank you for taking the time to review Peppers Blue on Blue.

Some great tips in there for travellers, and please don’t hesitate to ask should you need assistance with luggage, we are more than happy to assist (it’s a quick workout)!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our family, my husband and 4 older children between the ages of 18 - 23 year spent 8 nights in a beautiful 3 bedroom apartment. One of the rooms didn't have an air conditioner, but there was a fan supplied.
We wanted a relaxing holiday and we certainly got that.....thank you.
Beautiful well designed pool, peaceful location, scenery was amazing and breakfast was a treat.
Restaurant staff were extremely friendly and very professional.
Beds were comfortable, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, decor was beautiful.
We arrived on the 11am ferry - we had lunch and received a phone call advising our apartment was ready.
The premises are very clean and well maintained.
The only down fall was my son left a hat, nike runners and a new pair of sunglasses out on the patio table overnight on our last night....not there in the morning.
Never the less we achieved what we set out to do....RELAX, We will certainly be back.
Thank you

Room Tip: Families with older or younger children - 3 bedroom ground level is recommended, You can't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Kato,

Thank you for taking the time to review Peppers Blue on Blue.

Nice to read you loved our resort as much as we do, sorry to read of the disappearing hat and runners.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I just came back from a 3 day conference at Peppers. The island is beautiful and resort staff are very friendly (especially restaurant staff). On Arrival we noticed that we had a king bed in the room instead of a twin. Someone was sent within 20min and fixed it.
I didn't have any a la carte food during our stay but the breakfast buffet and lunch that was organised for us was always delicious.
The view from most of the rooms is amazing. Unfortunately we didn't have much time to use the resorts facilities as the pool,BBQs, Spa etc but I would certainly come back for a holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Lovelife,

Thank you for taking the time to review Peppers Blue on Blue.
We invest allot of time and energy into our conference guests and I love reading that we are getting it right.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nice resort, good location on the marina, not too noisy as some other reviews had indicated, rooms are nice and basic, house keeping was not as good as I would have hoped - the room was clean but towels and sheets werent changed and we were there for a week (something I like when staying in a resort..) the restaurant was nice, standard Australian fare, cocktails and cheese board on the deck was a highlight of the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Temma,

Thank you for the review and yes when booking a ECO stay linen is only changed on request. Please don’t hesitate to ask as the team as we are more than happy to assist.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Address: 123 Sooning Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Set in tropical landscaped surrounds with beautiful marina and mountain views the resort redefines the essence of island holidays on Queenslands magical Magnetic Island.Peppers Blue on Blue includes contemporary yet timelessly designed guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, coffee/tea making facilities, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, hairdryer, direct dial telephone/voice mail, iron and ironing board, alarm clock/radio, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette.Throughout the year Magnetic Island boasts fantastic weather making it the ideal place to get outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, the endota spa combines the islands serene surrounds with the perfect blend of luxury to offer an extensive menu of treatments while the vast outdoor resort pool is the perfect destination to chill out and sip on a cocktail.Making its home at the resort is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. The restaurant features a massive outdoor deck, ideal for embracing the classic Queensland climate. All windows and doors of this sleek and contemporary restaurant can be opened for a seamless transition between traditional and alfresco dining options.Magnetic Island offers a unique blend of national parks, untouched tropical beaches and bays all within easy reach of the resort. Bushwalking tracks provide an ideal opportunity to see the Australian wilderness and wildlife in its natural habitat while Magnetic Island as part of the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef offers numerous aquatic activities and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.