We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good rooms in convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Save Saved
You added Peppers Blue On Blue Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   123 Sooning Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Magnetic Island
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Very good rooms in convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The reception when you arrive (about 10 steps from the ferry) was very proficient. The room was not yet available (we were about an hour early). Later we were surprised it wasnt yet available as there were certainly not many people staying there. Delightful room (even though it overlooked the car park for the ferry), there was still a good view to be had too. Quite noisy though if you kept the doors open to let in the breeze.
Comfortable bed, excellent shower and breakfast (included in the tariff) is a good standard. The floors however in the bathroom were badly stained and the carpet in our room had some issues that required actual repair. Excellent pool. Close to a very good gelati bar and supermarket. Easy to get the bus to all the other island places. Peppers are usually good quality accommodations and it was sad to see apartments already in a receivership sale.

Room Tip: Away from the car-park if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Pk,

Thank you for the review and highlighting the bathroom, we will get it rectified.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    80
    33
    25
    17
See reviews for
61
127
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Peppers for a long weekend with my brother, sister-in-paw and 3 daughters in a 3 bedroom/2 bathroom suite. The hotel is located with beautiful views of the lagoon and ocean, and is conveniently close by the Nellie Bay ferry port, IGA supermarket and the Topless car rental office.

The rooms are modern and tasteful decorated. Their restaurant The Boardwalk was outstanding in terms of service, quality of meal and extensive but affordable wine list. Daily buffet breakfasts in the same location were also excellent. We all found the hotel staff to be both friendly and efficient. We used the BBQ facilities conveniently located by the huge hotel swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi DULON,

Nice to read your review, and great to read you loved our F&B offerings.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Only metres from the ferry terminal, Peppers Blue on Blue is situated right on the marina in close proximity to parking and shops. Our room was large and more than adequate and lived up to its 4.5 star rating. The restaurant and bar offered a varied menu/wine selection and all the meals and drinks were delicious although a bit pricey. Breakfast was included in the tariff. We were on the second floor which was serviced by a lift. Our friends were staying in the opposite wing and had to lug their suitcases up to the third floor as there was no lift so this may be of concern to some. The pools were very clean and inviting and the surrounding gardens well maintained. We plan to return at the first available opportunity.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the marina are worth the extra cost for the great view if you plan to spend mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Bookworm,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, great to read you enyoyed your stay.

Tip: The staff are more than happy to help you with the bags, please dont hesitate to ask.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked to stay at Peppers on Magnetic Island for 2 nights and were not disappointed. We had a throughly great visit and although our room overlooked the Ferry Terminal we were not disturbed by the noise. The room was a high standard and very spacious. The pool was to die for and was just a real luxury in being so large. The food at Peppers did not disappoint. We had stayed at a Peppers resort before and found the food to be of high quality, but expensive for us Brits especially due to the exchange rate. The food was plentiful and again of good quality, with great wine to match. We had breakfast included and can honestly say that the choice and quality of food was one of the best we have experienced in Australia. We can thoroughly recommend this great hotel and a great asset to be so close to the ferry so not far to travel when arriving and departing this fabulous island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Hooxy,

Thank you for your glowing report of Peppers Blue on Blue, we truly do love our food, this is what sets us apart from our competition.

Remember to call the property direct for the best room options.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We cannot rate Peppers highly enough for the fabulous experience of not only our stay in the resort but for the perfect day we had for our daughters wedding on 13th April, on the marina deck at Peppers Blue on Blue, Nelly Bay. Jacquie, thank you so much for all your hard work, the bar staff for keeping the cocktails flowing, the wonderful Brenda who looked after our 23 strong wedding party at the reception, and the chefs who put on such a fabulous feast for us! The weather, the setting, the ease of being straight off the ferry and in the resort made the event for us, and Nelly Bay was the perfect base to explore the rest of this beautiful island from after the wedding. We had the full range of ages in our group, my one year old grandson, the twenty something's who enjoyed the Full Moon festival/party (!!), and grandparents with us and there was plenty for all to enjoy on Magnetic Island. From the bus drivers to the Op shop staff, the waiters at Picnic Bay hotel, the school children on their way to the tiny island school, everyone was very friendly and went above and beyond to make our holiday and the wedding very memorable. Our daughter sailed in with her bridesmaids on The Providence, which we also highly recommend. We all went out again on the boat for the sunset tour, and want to personally thank Lindsay for going out and purchasing our grandson a lifejacket so he could go with us; the crew were fabulous, both on the wedding day and the sunset tour. The resort is still fairly quiet, as is the island, you really can find many deserted beaches in the 20 bays, and the IGA is better stocked and cheaper than our local one back in a Brisbane bayside suburb! For anyone considering a wedding on the island Linda Ross is also highly recommended as a celebrant; like everyone else that was part of that day she exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Of those of us that stayed at Peppers, everyone had rooms facing the marina, we booked with The Best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello OZPrawn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.

Great to read of your experience of Peppers Blue on Blue. Weddings can be a testing time for all of those involved, so we love reading that everthing ran like clock work.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Magnetic is an under statement. Hard to break away is for certain.
The landscape views from the accommodation are surreal.
Anne Marie from the restaurant bar makes the best iced coffee & milk shakes.
Our child was over occupied with the huge pool which allowed us plenty of free time to relax poolside or stay indoors.
Stayed during the week so was not too busy.
Highly recommend this hotel to singles, couples, families or groups.

Room Tip: Ask for mariner view room. You will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello Canberra CLass,

Thank you for your review and agree Anne Marie is the best barrista on the island.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked a hotel room & were lucky to be given room 2312. Top floor above reception looking towards the ferry terminal. The room was a good size with a 2 seater lounge& an armchair. There was also a toaster, dinner plates, cutlery & glasses. Our stay had breakfast included which was ample for us. The bed was a little firm & if you don't like high pillows I'd suggest you squeeze one in your case. The walk from the ferry terminal is only a few meters, check in was quick & informative. The buses that take you around the island are also near the ferry & are always there when the ferry arrives. We bought an all day bus ticket for $7.20 each & we just hopped on & off when we liked. All but one of the bus drivers were friendly, we also caught a taxi from the hotel to Horseshoe Bay for $22 one night. There is an IGA about 100 meters from the hotel which was handy. During the week there are not too many eating out options, best to check what is open when out & about. There are 2 pools in the complex, we swam in both but chose the smaller one closer to our room which was usually used by mainly adults. We had lunch from the restaurant & we both enjoyed our meals. The island is nice, we stayed 5 nights, 1 of the days we went into Townsville. We bought a 10 ticket ferry pass for $ 102.00 which can be used for 2 adults. Overall our stay was nice, check your bill when you leave as we were almost charged for a bottle of wine which we didn't drink. The hotel & island was very clean, laid back & at times took us back to memories of our childhood weekend coast trips. For a short break to chill out it is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Maree,

Thank you for the review.

Great to read you explored the island, and a great trip for other travelers as the convenience of the buses is the best way to see the island.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue soon.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Address: 123 Sooning Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Set in tropical landscaped surrounds with beautiful marina and mountain views the resort redefines the essence of island holidays on Queenslands magical Magnetic Island.Peppers Blue on Blue includes contemporary yet timelessly designed guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, coffee/tea making facilities, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, hairdryer, direct dial telephone/voice mail, iron and ironing board, alarm clock/radio, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette.Throughout the year Magnetic Island boasts fantastic weather making it the ideal place to get outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, the endota spa combines the islands serene surrounds with the perfect blend of luxury to offer an extensive menu of treatments while the vast outdoor resort pool is the perfect destination to chill out and sip on a cocktail.Making its home at the resort is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. The restaurant features a massive outdoor deck, ideal for embracing the classic Queensland climate. All windows and doors of this sleek and contemporary restaurant can be opened for a seamless transition between traditional and alfresco dining options.Magnetic Island offers a unique blend of national parks, untouched tropical beaches and bays all within easy reach of the resort. Bushwalking tracks provide an ideal opportunity to see the Australian wilderness and wildlife in its natural habitat while Magnetic Island as part of the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef offers numerous aquatic activities and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.