We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou Peppers and Magnetic Island - Our Daughters Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Save Saved
You added Peppers Blue On Blue Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   123 Sooning Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thankyou Peppers and Magnetic Island - Our Daughters Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We cannot rate Peppers highly enough for the fabulous experience of not only our stay in the resort but for the perfect day we had for our daughters wedding on 13th April, on the marina deck at Peppers Blue on Blue, Nelly Bay. Jacquie, thank you so much for all your hard work, the bar staff for keeping the cocktails flowing, the wonderful Brenda who looked after our 23 strong wedding party at the reception, and the chefs who put on such a fabulous feast for us! The weather, the setting, the ease of being straight off the ferry and in the resort made the event for us, and Nelly Bay was the perfect base to explore the rest of this beautiful island from after the wedding. We had the full range of ages in our group, my one year old grandson, the twenty something's who enjoyed the Full Moon festival/party (!!), and grandparents with us and there was plenty for all to enjoy on Magnetic Island. From the bus drivers to the Op shop staff, the waiters at Picnic Bay hotel, the school children on their way to the tiny island school, everyone was very friendly and went above and beyond to make our holiday and the wedding very memorable. Our daughter sailed in with her bridesmaids on The Providence, which we also highly recommend. We all went out again on the boat for the sunset tour, and want to personally thank Lindsay for going out and purchasing our grandson a lifejacket so he could go with us; the crew were fabulous, both on the wedding day and the sunset tour. The resort is still fairly quiet, as is the island, you really can find many deserted beaches in the 20 bays, and the IGA is better stocked and cheaper than our local one back in a Brisbane bayside suburb! For anyone considering a wedding on the island Linda Ross is also highly recommended as a celebrant; like everyone else that was part of that day she exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Of those of us that stayed at Peppers, everyone had rooms facing the marina, we booked with The Best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello OZPrawn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.

Great to read of your experience of Peppers Blue on Blue. Weddings can be a testing time for all of those involved, so we love reading that everthing ran like clock work.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    71
    26
    23
    16
See reviews for
57
115
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Magnetic is an under statement. Hard to break away is for certain.
The landscape views from the accommodation are surreal.
Anne Marie from the restaurant bar makes the best iced coffee & milk shakes.
Our child was over occupied with the huge pool which allowed us plenty of free time to relax poolside or stay indoors.
Stayed during the week so was not too busy.
Highly recommend this hotel to singles, couples, families or groups.

Room Tip: Ask for mariner view room. You will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello Canberra CLass,

Thank you for your review and agree Anne Marie is the best barrista on the island.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked a hotel room & were lucky to be given room 2312. Top floor above reception looking towards the ferry terminal. The room was a good size with a 2 seater lounge& an armchair. There was also a toaster, dinner plates, cutlery & glasses. Our stay had breakfast included which was ample for us. The bed was a little firm & if you don't like high pillows I'd suggest you squeeze one in your case. The walk from the ferry terminal is only a few meters, check in was quick & informative. The buses that take you around the island are also near the ferry & are always there when the ferry arrives. We bought an all day bus ticket for $7.20 each & we just hopped on & off when we liked. All but one of the bus drivers were friendly, we also caught a taxi from the hotel to Horseshoe Bay for $22 one night. There is an IGA about 100 meters from the hotel which was handy. During the week there are not too many eating out options, best to check what is open when out & about. There are 2 pools in the complex, we swam in both but chose the smaller one closer to our room which was usually used by mainly adults. We had lunch from the restaurant & we both enjoyed our meals. The island is nice, we stayed 5 nights, 1 of the days we went into Townsville. We bought a 10 ticket ferry pass for $ 102.00 which can be used for 2 adults. Overall our stay was nice, check your bill when you leave as we were almost charged for a bottle of wine which we didn't drink. The hotel & island was very clean, laid back & at times took us back to memories of our childhood weekend coast trips. For a short break to chill out it is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Maree,

Thank you for the review.

Great to read you explored the island, and a great trip for other travelers as the convenience of the buses is the best way to see the island.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Blue on Blue soon.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and were pleased with our stay. It was very busy over Easter so breakfasts were pretty crowded and kids everywhere they could have done a a few more staff in the restaurant those days. All the staff at the hotel were very froendly and accomodating. We stayed in a superior room overlooking the marina which was nice. If I had to complain about anything the beds and pillows were not too comfortable and I would have expected them to be better for the price we paid (was two hard singles put together). The restaurant is pretty expensive and there isn't too much choice around so you kind of need a car to get around. We dove the yongala one day so was really convenient to be right at the ferry terminal. Maybe could have had a few more deck chairs and umbrellas by the pool but since it was Easter probably busier than usual. Overall we had a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Kylie,

Thank you for the review, we have taken your comments on board and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz & Brit in Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Unfortunately another Mantra Group property that has let us down, the 4th establishment we've stayed in.

The room we booked wasn't available upon check-in for which we were told by the Front Office Manager, Lesley, that she had spoken to the General Manager and there was nothing they could do about our room other than offer a 50% refund (and there were 2 of us speaking with her so it wasn't a case of misinterpreting the message). Upon checkout the GM confirmed he couldn't offer the refund at that time and needed to investigate which could take 4 days. Either the Front Office Manager lied to us or the GM had changed his mind.

Other service issues included: there were ants in the bathroom, pillows without cases, the wrong room service menu in our room and limited wifi access throughout the property (at least they sorted us with a free modem so we could access in our room but that wasn't immediately offered as we were told to "see how you go".). Not to mention a group of young lads left unnoticed to continually use offensive language, smoke and drink beer in the pool in a resort that is pitched as a family friendly and self-rated 5 on wotif.com.

Suffice to say, we won't be booking in any of the Mantra Groups properties again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Trip happy,

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns on TA, in turn giving us the opportunit to retort.

In most cases we dont discount a guests experience, we always try to learn from it to better ourselves and the property.

However in repsonse: your booking was reviewed and the room type you booked 'online' was the room type you received. Our FOM did advise you that a discount would be offered should it be found that we had not delivered as promised and yes she did advise that a discount of up to 50% could be offered.

Every complaint is investigated this is a standard P&P and yes this takes up to 4 days (allowing for staff days off) as we do not want to under compensate when we get it wrong, or over compensate when the truth is somewhat skewed. Your complaint was investigated and you were contacted within the 4 days!

We are disappinted that we did not live up to your expectations, however in this case the team were not entirely at fault, we do hope that you do return in the future.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed my holiday. Peppers blue on blue is just lovely, friendly staff, fantastic pool area, great location with a beautiful outlook. Room was lovely, very comfortable bed, very clean and well appointed - first time I've ever had a nespresso coffee machine provided in my room !! Could not fault a thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello Eve,

Thank you for the review and sharing your experiences with other travellers.

I agree, how good are the coffee machines, you will find these in all of the Peppers properties.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The best thing I can say about this property is that its extremely close to the ferry. This is great as its not so far to go to get off this awful island. I was in the resort with my husband, 3 yr old son and 6 month old son for a wedding. I had high hopes of a reef getaway in a relaxed environment. I was highly disappointed. Apparently everyone on the island hates visitors. The Peppers resort itself was adequate but we had a number of problems with maintenance, broken port-a-cots, rooms not ready and just a really unwelcoming environment. I would not recommend this destination or lodging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue_on_blue_GM, General Manager at Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello TravelBug,

Thank you for the review although 6 months after your stay. The team and I pride ourselves on customer service and we did not deliver on this occasion, for this you have my apologies.

We hope to welcome you back in the future to show you a true Peppers Experience and Magnetic Island experience.

Cheers
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers Blue On Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Blue On Blue Resort

Also Known As:
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel
Peppers Blue On Blue Hotel Magnetic Island
Peppers Blue On Hotel
Peppers Blue On Resort
Address: 123 Sooning Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Blue On Blue Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Blue on Blue Resort offers luxury accommodation overlooking the Magnetic Island marina and ferry terminal. Set in tropical landscaped surrounds with beautiful marina and mountain views the resort redefines the essence of island holidays on Queenslands magical Magnetic Island.Peppers Blue on Blue includes contemporary yet timelessly designed guest rooms including resort style suites and one, two and three bedroom apartments. Fully embracing its waterfront location, the resort's sleekly decorated suites boast sun drenched balconies with some featuring private plunge pools. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, air conditioning, balcony, bathrobes, coffee/tea making facilities, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player, surround sound system, daily housekeeping service, laundry facilities, bath, hairdryer, direct dial telephone/voice mail, iron and ironing board, alarm clock/radio, mini bar, room service and movies on demand. All apartments excluding standard Hotel and Studio Rooms include a kitchen or kitchenette.Throughout the year Magnetic Island boasts fantastic weather making it the ideal place to get outdoors and take part in the abundant leisure activities available. For those who just want to relax, the endota spa combines the islands serene surrounds with the perfect blend of luxury to offer an extensive menu of treatments while the vast outdoor resort pool is the perfect destination to chill out and sip on a cocktail.Making its home at the resort is the Boardwalk Restaurant & Bar, a gourmets paradise which offers the freshest tropical menu and fine wine selection. The restaurant features a massive outdoor deck, ideal for embracing the classic Queensland climate. All windows and doors of this sleek and contemporary restaurant can be opened for a seamless transition between traditional and alfresco dining options.Magnetic Island offers a unique blend of national parks, untouched tropical beaches and bays all within easy reach of the resort. Bushwalking tracks provide an ideal opportunity to see the Australian wilderness and wildlife in its natural habitat while Magnetic Island as part of the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef offers numerous aquatic activities and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Peppers Blue On Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Blue On Blue Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.