We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sails On Horseshoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sails On Horseshoe to your Saves list
Sails On Horseshoe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13-15 Pacific Drive | Horseshoe Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
AUD126 (AUD)
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent location, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

wonderful location right on the beach. Rooms are a good standard. Pool and extras provided by the hosts. The customer service at Sails is of the very highest level. Nothing was too difficult. Only a very short walk to the restaurants in Horseshoe Bay. Breez coming off the water makes evening drinks on the balcony very pleasant

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The apartment we were in was two floors, with the living space very large. The downstairs bedrooms were also fine. The swimming pool was excellent, and we could barely get our kids out! The English owners were very nice and helpful. The location is fantastic, right on the waterfront on Horseshoe Bay. The bay is gorgeous, and there is a nice range of cafes and pubs to dine in. The area is very laid back, with a great vibe to it.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed here with some girlfriends to celebrate a significant birthday, staff were great and accommodation was clean and well presented. two story with balcony and only a few steps from the beautiful beach and only a short stroll to cafe's, restaurants and bars.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family of six enjoyed a few nights at Sails in a comfortable apartment. Your hosts are keen for you to enjoy yourself and are very helpful. The pool and BBQ facilities are excellent and the location is hard to beat, right on the water at Horseshoe Bay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Excellent location and exceptionally managed property offering services and friendliness above and beyond anywhere I have stayed . There was a power outage on the island one night for about 3 hours and the managers came looking for us worried we wouldn't be able to find our way back! There was a bag with candles in it on our door handle when we returned .There was complimentary use of a vehicle and scooters for the holiday occupants of this accommodation venue. It is superbly located on the waterfront at horseshoe within easy walking distance to eateries and the bus service that regularly travels around the island .

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We had a fantastic 7 night stay at Sails.

We stayed in unit 4 and the views from the main bedroom and large oceanfront balcony were spectacular!

The apartment was air conditioned in the living area and bedrooms which was such a nice reprieve from the March QLD heat.

The apartment has 2 king bedrooms & 2 bathrooms, washing machine & dryer and the kitchen has all of the crockery, serving platters and utensils you could possibly need including a dishwasher.

Shampoo, conditioner, body wash, liquid soap, body moisturizer and shaving cream are supplied in he bathrooms and dishwashing liquid and dishwasher tablets in the kitchen. Absolutely everything has been thought of. Just bring your bathers and your food.

The apartments are on the Main Street of horseshoe right across from the beach but at the quiet end of the street. There's a convenience store, pub and several retaraunts less than 100m up the road as well as the bus stop and on the beach jet ski and other water sports hire.

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!

They also have a pool and lots of pool toys to entertain the young and old kids. The bbq area beside the pool is very clean and tidy and has a fridge also.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place to family and friends and am already planning our 4th return next year.

The complex managers, Phil & Cathy, were very professional, thorough and helpful. Their passion for their work shows and nothing is ever too much trouble.

Lastly, you can borrow beach towels, chairs and games at reception and there is wifi free for 30 mins x 2 daily per device.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This is an apartment style option on the quiet end of Pacific Drive (the bus turns the opposite direction as it comes into town) and across the street from the Horseshoe Bay foreshore. There are a few restaurants nearby that are worth eating at and a small convenience store. The views are beautiful. We were in apartment 3 on the ground floor at the front of the building. It was clean and pleasant. The AC was plentiful and refreshing after a few hours in the heat. Our place had two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a full kitchen, eating area, lounge room, and outdoor patio. Wifi is available for 1/2 hour two times per day (separated by 8 hours; per device I think.) Cathy and Phil were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend Sails to families and couples traveling to Maggie. Thanks Cathy and Phil - we had a great time and felt very welcome in your place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sails On Horseshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails On Horseshoe

Address: 13-15 Pacific Drive | Horseshoe Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sails On Horseshoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sails On Horseshoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sails On Horseshoe Magnetic Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails On Horseshoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.