We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpacker trap” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bungalow Bay Koala Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bungalow Bay Koala Village to your Saves list
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
40 Horseshoe Bay Road, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Geoff's Place)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Backpacker trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The price is the draw card but if one looks around critically there are other options 5 times as good for just a few extra dollars. We stayed in a 'cabin' - I call it a tepe with bed on the floor and an AC that made enough noise to keep those in the campsites awake as well. If it were $40 a night t would be just ok but at $76 it's rubbish and you're way better off to spend 20 bucks more on a booking site to get good value for money. This place is rubbish

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    87
    30
    15
    7
See reviews for
15
75
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

After staying at base on the other side of the island, bungalow bay was a breath of few hair with nice sized, clean rooms and a welcoming reception! Pool area was very nice and it's a good location. If anyone is wondering where to stay at magnetic this is definitely the place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a private double bunker, it was basic, clean and comfortable. Only quibble was that the aircon didnt work and it was so hot with it being summer. It had a double bed, fridge, bin, mirror and a few sockets.
You could buy wifi and internet access very cheaply from reception.
All the staff were extremely helpful, knowledgable and friendly. They even booked us on to The Breakfast with Koalas when they were just closing reception for the day.
The breakfast with Koalas was one of the highlights of my trip to Oz. We didn't actually eat with the Koalas though but we did eat with various other animals and reptiles and then went to see the Koalas after, we paid to have a photo taken with one and its a photo I will treasure for a lifetime.
: )

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Magnetic island is amazing!! Can't fault it at all. Deffo need a scooter or car to see the island at it's full beauty

However the hostel wasn't as great. The rooms well cute little cabins but very tiny. The double bed felt like it was a mattress on floor but all this is fine. We booked package and was told the breakfast was extra $15. Got charged $25 each and then told didn't pay for upgrade to double room. Argued for ages that was only $15 especially because advertises on their brochure. Also got asked for discount cards which apparently they couldn't take so not sure the point.

The package we booked included entry into koala sanctuary but the breakfast was also this and I feel we could of been told this when booking breakfast.

I honestly don't think I met one member of staff that was helpful or polite. And they all wanted to argue with you instead of saying sorry for the mistakes they made (excuse because they training someone!)

The pizza from bar was $12 but was very small and disgusting. Deffo over priced.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

nice hostel and a relaxed atmosphere, nice stop when you just come from the bit more busy live in cairns. The rooms are quite big and have an ensuite bathroom. Next to that you can visit the koala sanctuary.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrucken, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I spent Christmas Eve at Magnetic Island and Christmas day, so there was basically everything closed. Nevertheless, the beauty of the island was still to be discovered e.g. on the walking tracks and checking out the lookouts. The hostel was a good starting point, located only a few 100 meters away from beautiful horeshoe bay with a swimmer enclosure and in walking distance to the awesome walking track to the fortress where I spotted 3 wild koala. So that had made my day already. The hostel itself is okay, the bed was the worst on my whole trip though, almost coulnd't sleep an hour with all these bedsprings in my rips. The lady at the reception didn't seem to have understood anything reg. customer service (bad day?).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I loved this place, it was awesome! I spent a few nights with my boyfriend there where you are surrounded by wildlife like possums, bats and wallabies. The double bungalows are very basic but cute and handy and they just fit into the atmosphere. This place is a Mekka for backpackers so it will never be boring there. The staff manages it to always entertain everybody with games and prices that can be won. Besides, they provide awesome packages like the koala express which we had. It is really worthy to go there and to cuddle a koala and drink some beer at the bar or hang out in the pool area. The staff was always friendly and helpful. I can really recommend this place as it is very unique and the prices and service match.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bungalow Bay Koala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Bay Koala Village

Address: 40 Horseshoe Bay Road, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia (Formerly Geoff's Place)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning landscape of this island on the Great Barrier Reef makes this destination truly distinctive & attractive to the eco conscious traveller. Bungalow Bay focuses on delivering a Australian Experience complete with boutique wildlife sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Bungalow Bay Koala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungalow Bay Koala Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.