We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Must Do" when on Magnetic Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnetic Island Forts Walk

Magnetic Island Forts Walk
Horseshoe Bay Rd and Radical Bay Rd (-19.132599, 146.869088), Magnetic Island, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Visit Magnetic Island Forts Walk like an insider
$27*
and up
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A "Must Do" when on Magnetic Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A great walk, pretty easy going, aprox 1.5hr return. Stunning views, interesting history along the way and almost guarenteed to see a Koala in the wild - whats not to love!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    32
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“History - and you'll probably see a koala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Easy walk up to the fort with some sites to see along the way but the circuit around the gun emplacements can be challenging for older people - lots of steps but worth the effort if you're interested in military history. We saw two koalas during our walk. The local bus drops off and picks up.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Walk - saw some koalas too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Yes if you're in Magnetic Island, you should do this walk. Set aside 2hrs if you want to enjoy the views, spot koalas and see all the old military installations (ruins) up there. You could do it in 90mins but we saw a few koalas so we wanted to stop and stare and take photos!
It's pretty hot and dry up there so I would suggest you start your walk early and get back no later than midday if possible. The UV factor up there is high so the sun can be pretty hot. Wear a hat for sure!

Make sure you do some other walks too - you can walk to Arcadia from the Forts Walk bus stop. That walk is about 3-4km I think through the bush. We did that one too and enjoyed it the most!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a very nice one too two hour walk with historic places left from world war 2. I you are as lucky than us you might be even seeing some koala in wild life.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Koalas and panoramic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Historical fort walk with good information about the local World War 2 involvement. Spotted three koalas. Fabulous views of the bays.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnetic Island Forts Walk also viewed

Magnetic Island, Queensland
Magnetic Island, Queensland
 
Magnetic Island, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Magnetic Island Forts Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnetic Island Forts Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.