We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place and hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magnetic Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast
11 Dolphin Court, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fabulous place and hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I can see why this place won a Trip Advisor award. The place is in a great location with easy access to the various splendours of Magnetic Island. The house itself is lovely, with a beautiful garden setting, lovely area to eat breakfast, and clean and tidy rooms. The breakfast is to die for, and the cakes and other goodies that are always available are divine. But above all Phil and Robyn are the perfect hosts. If you want and need space they give you plenty, but if you want to spend time with them and have fun (as we did on occasions) they are lovely people to be with. They are accommodating, helpful and a great joy to be around. Magnetic Island is a special place and this accommodation is special. I would go back any day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robynjoy, Owner at Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
You are very kind; thank you. We are glad you enjoyed our B&B and the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

What can I say.....but what a great stay we had here this past week. Beautiful b&b, the grounds, the accommodation and of course the hosts. Such a relaxing place to use as a base to explore the island. After a day out hiking, swimming, lunching etc, it was always a pleasure to go back to Phil and Robyn's place to relax. The rooms were comfy and roomy, bathroom pristine and huge, gardens and grounds beautiful and picturesque, the pool a lovely asset, the breakfasts unbelievable, all day availability of tea, coffee and cakes.....I could go on and on.
I think the piece de resistance though was the warmth and welcoming nature of our hosts, Phil and Robyn. Very special people who made us feel very much at home in their home. That was indeed the icing on the cake.
Thank you again Phil and Robyn for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robynjoy, Owner at Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
It is lovely to have pleasant people to stay and we are glad you had a very enjoyable break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My (now) fiancee and I went to stay with Robyn and Phil on my Dad's recommendation and they weren't wrong.

I'd been planning a surprise proposal over the weekend, and Robyn and Phil bent over backwards to make sure the moment went off to a tee. From secret shopping the ingredients to preparing a surprise picnic on the beach, they were keen as anything to make the moment special. The moment was more than special, it was absolutely perfect. Try finding that kind of service at the travel inn...

The house is absolutely immaculate, the rooms spacious and the surrounds serene and relaxing.

Robyn's breakfast is a sight to behold... a generous spread of fresh fruit, followed by a choice of hot breakfast or muesli. I didn't bother with the muesli but dove straight into the fresh breakfast; beautifully presented, generous portions and cooked to absolute perfection.

There are bikes available for use which is really handy; horseshoe bay is only a 5 minute cycle away (which helps burn off some of the indulgent breakfast...) so you're within easy access of the beach.

Robyn came and collected us from the ferry port and dropped us back off there at the end of our stay which was really helpful, and avoids the cost of bus or taxi transfers.

With everything that's included in the price, you could still pay $200.00 a night and feel like you'd received excellent value for money.

All in all, I really can't give this place a good enough review. Robyn & Phil helped me execute the PERFECT romantic weekend away and provided the perfect base camp from which to explore the island, all topped off with a generous helping of luxury and comfort.

Oh, and the complimentary cakes (available all day) were amazing. If www.ratemycarrotcake.com existed, I'm certain Robyn's would be winning awards!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robynjoy, Owner at Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
ha ha ha what a delightful review thankyou! We wish you both a wonderful life together. Cheers, Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days in mid-February and had a stellar time. From the very beginning, Robyn extended her hospitality by picking us up at the ferry and taking us to the store to grab some beverages. Arriving at the B&B we were thrilled with the serene setting and spacious, comfortable room. All rooms can be entered from either inside the home or from a private entrance off the patio. The grounds are lush and feature a wide variety of local flora and also has a new pool for cooling down after a day adventuring around the island. Breakfasts include the customary hot fare and also has one of the best fruit plates I have ever had. During breakfast, the lorikeets show up to dine on bread slices. At one point, the head count was over forty.

Over the two days, Robyn took us around to see some of the sights. The koalas in behind the B&B was a truly memorable experience. Being five feet away from a baby koala, snapping photos, while the little guy just stared at us was breathtaking. We also went to see the rock wallabies and Robyn made sure we had lots of grasses to coax them down off their ledges.

A special thanks to Phil for the lift home late in the evening after we closed down the pub. I would also be remiss in not mentioning Kitty the Border Collie; a real sweetheart of a dog who has stare downs with toads during the evening.

Magnetic Island was a real highlight of our vacation and this was the perfect place to stay. Highly recommended to one and all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robynjoy, Owner at Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely words. We enjoy spending time with all our guests and love hearing all the travel stories. Glad you loved our B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a gorgeous B and B, the rooms are very comfortable as are the common areas. A big Veranda with nice possibilities to relax and even a Pool!

The hosts Robyn and Phil are lovely, a great team - Robyn is warm and welcoming and Phil the funniest Person on earth. The breakfast had been Great...we always had fresh fruits, wonderful pancakes, 'homemade' eggs, etc!! Robyn did everything for us, picked us from the Ferry, showed us the whole Island, and even the places where we could see Koalas and Wallabys...just perfekt!

We have stayed at alot of inns and b&b's in the world but this is one place we will always remember. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank you Robin and Phil for a relaxing and happy stay. Your generous hospitality far exceeds the average B&B. Very clean and comfortable and beautiful breakfasts. It was great to have you to introduce us to the many delights of the Island.
Martin and Elisabeth, Jill and Ann

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hosts went out of their way to make us feel welcome during our one night stay. The rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable, the food delicious and the hospitality warm. The house itself is very nice and the location is good for walks and for the various beaches. The hosts were also more than happy to collect us from the ferry and to drop us off at the start point for several of the walks. Would definitely recommend to anyone spending time on Magnetic Island.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robynjoy, Owner at Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words- we are pleased we made a difference. Best regards, Phil & Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11 Dolphin Court, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phil & Robyn welcome guests to their home for a Traditional Bed & Breakfast stay. You can feed the lorikeets and admire the kookaburras, Koalas, wallabies and birds while you dine outside. We are set on 1 acre of gardens and the property is surrounded by National Park. Relax by the pool. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Magnetic Island Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list