We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded luxury hideaway brimming with abundant wildlife and the sounds of nature.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canopy Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Canopy Chalets to your Saves list
Canopy Chalets
42 Yates St | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Secluded luxury hideaway brimming with abundant wildlife and the sounds of nature.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

We wanted a tranquil location away from the hustle and bustle but a close enough walk to get supplies and a coffee. Had to have a nice pool with comfortable lodgings with all the mod cons. The Canopy proved to be the perfect location. This was in Nov 2008. We revisited Nov 2009 and intend to stay at the Canopy again in Nov 2010. The best hosts my wife and I have ever had the pleasure to have met. They have become our friends.
The A frames provide great air flow, we didn't need the air conditioner. All the cooking facilities were modern and the TV was a fairly large plasma with foxtel. The Canopy is geared for couples and if you have trouble climbing stairs I probably wouldn't recommend as the bedroom is upstairs.You gotta try the hot stone massage at endota spa at Peppers (pure induldgence).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

My partner and I stayed at Canopy in early sept and had a wonderful time, the rooms were modern, airy, private and spacious with everything you could possibly want even down to ironing board. It was away from the main town situated in leafy area at base of the mountains and lovely to look out the window in the morning and hear the multitudes of birds singing. The pool area is lovely and the one windy day we had there was spent lying around the pool instead of the beach which was just as relaxing. Highly recommend this place if you want a quiet, relaxing place to stay. Easy walking distance to the main town and there was a supermarket/bottle shop/chemists etc a 5 min walk round the corner which was very handy for picking up supplies.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Stayed at Canopy Chalets for one week after researching on the internet.13 beautiful new clean units all one bedroom with full facilities incl dishwasher,washing machine, dryer and widescreen TV. Very quiet with lush tropical gardens , lovely pool and BBQ area.Abundant wildlife with curlews,birds,possums and spotted a bush wallaby. Very friendly helpful hosts made stay most enjoyable.Tariff extremely reasonable. Bus stop close so can travel to most parts of the Island to numerous picturesque bays ,ideal for swimming and snorkelling. Wireless internet was available for a reasonable fee. Weather was perfect and we just loved our stay and will certainly visit again. Would recommend for couples.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canopy Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canopy Chalets

Address: 42 Yates St | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautifully landscaped site, is a huddle of just 13 A-framed chalets. Holding centre stage is the stunning lagoon pool. The rest of Canopy is devoted to a large grass barbecue area and native trees and shrubs – just the way nature intended.Reflecting the best in relaxed contemporary tropical design, each of the chalets consist of a living/dining area, designer kitchen, bathroom with separate toilet, separate laundry and a loft-style bedroom upstairs. High ceilings add to the wonderful feeling of space and freedom. Ideally suited to two guests, additional guests can be accommodated with the sofa bed. The front veranda enjoys views of the lagoon pool and large landscaped area, while also being screened by native plants for more privacy. Different external colour schemes, that take their inspiration from the National Park backdrop, add an extra flourish of individuality. A green enclave off Yates Street, at the popular Nelly Bay, Canopy offers complete privacy close to everything. Magnetic Harbour, Marina village and the ferry terminal are all less than a kilometre away. The allure of the palm-fringed beach is just a 400 metre stroll down the road. Shops, restaurant, cafes and supermarkets are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Canopy Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canopy Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.