We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Toni and Col!You are great hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadia Beach Guest House

Save Saved
You added Arcadia Beach Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arcadia Beach Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   27 Marine Pde, Magnetic Island, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
townesville
1 review
“Thanks Toni and Col!You are great hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hi, I'd like to share my experience of Arcadia Beach guest house. It's a wonderfully quirky,
beautifully restored old Magnetic Island property with great chillout areas. If you like a place with history and character,situated on a gorgeous bay within walking distance to food, shops and buses, with great rental cars etc available, this is your place. The prices are good and there is a great range of accom to suit all needs. The suites and rooms are retro and gorgeous, but the safari tents in the garden are really special. The stand out feature however are the managers. Toni and Col are so friendly and welcoming to people from all over the world that they make this place really special.They go out of their way to offer good island info, help with travel arrangements and give you a really warm relaxing holiday experience. Thanx!!

Room Tip: You will feel comfy no matter which room you chose.There are also great facilities eg two kitchens a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
40
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Thanks to Toni and Col for making my stay on Maggie very welcoming and comfortable. I will certainly be back. Arcadia is in a great location with walks located nearby and the beautiful Alma Beach around the corner.

Room Tip: I stayed in Safari tent which was clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Easter 2013. Fro. Our collection at the ferry to our drop.off to the ferry our hosts were so welcoming and friendly. Staying in Arcadia to do Open Water Dive course up the road was too easy. Found a lot of Magnetic Island business to not. Be very accommodating, our hosts were the opposite. We had the Nelly Bay and Joyce bay rooms. All worked well.over the air conditoner remotes. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had such a good time here. I was going to come for one night, which then turned into three, which then turned into six. And nearly seven but I had to pull myself together! But I felt very comfortable in the dorm here. It attracted some really nice fellow guests and the kitchen was well-equipped and the vibe very laid back and sociable. Arcadia is, in my view, the best part of the island to stay on for access to everything. And if you're there on a Wednesday make sure you go toad racing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked the dorm room, ended up having it all by myself. But service is good and the staff is very friendly. Good beds and beutiful location. Very cheap compared to what you get. Would gladly recommend it to others !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I recently spent one night at the Acadia Beach Guest House. It took us a while to get into the vibe of this unique place, but we really enjoyed it. Initially we thought our room was rather strange, a queen sized bed raised up off the floor and nothing else in the room. Not one chair or table. The bathroom does not have a door. I left a box of cookies out on the shelf next to the kitchenette...... big mistake, the cookies were overrun by teeny little ants. But look, it's the tropics, there will be bugs.

Our continental breakfast was left for us in the refrigerator in the common area, and that's when we began to appreciate the Acadia Guest House. There is a wonderful huge common area. It has a big TV, a pool table, toys and games and ride-on vehicles for kids. Couches and chairs and a big, fully equipped kitchen. You are obviously not intended to spend all your time in your room, but to get out and use the facilities.

The Guest House is in a great location, lots of nice beaches nearby. I did notice that some of the pricey hotels on Magnetic Island have rooms overlooking parking lots and ferry landings, so be careful about that.

The management was very friendly and helpful. I had to re-schedule my ferry reservation and they took care of that for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My elderly Mother and I stayed in the fisherman's cottage over the Christmas period. The decor is well done with fishing net suspended from the ceiling, drift wood for curtain rods and towel racks but unfortunately we were really turned off when we went to get cutlery from the drawer and found the drawer riddled in cockroach poo and the odd cockroach leg. Further to our dismay was the shower recess as mould had been allowed to grow in the grouting. The beds were clean and comfortable but during the 1st night we had an unwelcome visitor which we assumed was a possum. The windows have fly screens with little doors which allow the opening and closing of windows. These windows in keeping with the rustic look are wooden flaps but unfortunately again these could not be locked and one window in particular had the bottom corner missing and this is where the possum came through. We avoided the situation the next night by taking the screen off and turning it up the other way with the little doors to the top. I informed the Manager the next day and he was very pleasant and thanked me for my feedback. We won't be staying here again unless we hear that the cleaning and security have improved. Julie A.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arcadia Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Beach Guest House

Address: 27 Marine Pde, Magnetic Island, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Magnetic Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Beach Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Beach Front Quality Accommodation for all types of travellers. Stay in our 4-bed Dorm rooms, Deluxe Safari Tents, Ensuite rooms, a two-bedroomed Beach House sleeps six, and we even have the Fisherman's Hut, the choice is yours. Facilities include two communal kitchens, two lounge areas with flat screen TVs, pool table, swimming pool, BBQs and two pizza ovens. Free pick up to and from the ferry in a 1970 Rolls Royce Silvershadow! Cars and Snorkle gear for hire. So..... what are you waiting for? You stay with us and the memories stay with you. See you soon in paradise on Lovely Magnetic Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Arcadia Beach Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcadia Beach Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.