We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Meteor Motel

Emerald Meteor Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Emerald Meteor Motel to your Saves list
Emerald Meteor Motel
corner Opal & Egerton Streets, Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Emerald
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“No Problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Emerald Meteor is centrally located with lots of parking and a decent pool and restaurant. I've stayed here a few times and always found the place to be comfortable and relaxed. The rooms are perfectly fine despite the 'dated' tag a few reviewers have given although there are a few fixtures that could be updated at some stage. I see a lot of potential in this place and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald M, Owner at Emerald Meteor Motel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you steve for your comments the team look forward to your next visit. We are in the process of updating some of those fixtures you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
9
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Pretty typical motel but in good order. Have stayed at a few places in emerald now and this seems be one of the cheapest in town. Rooms are clean and comfortable however quite dated. Walking distance to shops, pubs and restaurants which is a plus. Always a good standard.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Thank you the the staff for their hospitality and knowledge of the area. The pool was an welcome relief after a long hot drive. The staff were friendly and accomidating, and even though the resterurant was closed the manager was able to rustle up a sandwich which was great. T throughtly recoomend this hotel for any tired traveller driving out to Emerald.

Room Tip: Be nice and use your manners, always goes a long way in the outback.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I booked this motel online for about $140 for a queen room. On arrival we found the room to be smelly and decor tired. The front door rattled as it'd been kicked in at some point and not repaired. The pool (which is what I booked this motel for) was dirty. We walked through a walkway to the restaurant which was lined with shelves full of dusty paint tins and junk. Very poor presentation, almost comical in it's lack of appeal! This motel fell very short of all others of equal and even lesser price in the region.
I now religiously check Trip Advisor to avoid nasty experiences like this.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Room is severely out dated and just looks plain horrible. The room and bathroom smelled worse than a public toilet at a rodeo. The staff are incompetent. The restaurant is an absolute joke. The pool was FILTHY. Housekeeping banged on the door before 8am. I am outraged and will never stay here again and will warn all others off it too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald M, Manager at Emerald Meteor Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
1. You were an unregistered guest who had been invited to the room by the registered guest for a one night stay.
2. The staff did not realise you were in the room until the housemaid knocked on the door to clean the room. The maid knocked twice as you did not have the 'Do Not Disurb' sign on the door.
3. You did not use the swimming pool or the restaurant.
4. The registered guest had been in the room for several days and had not complained about any odour radiating from the bathroom and continues to stay on a regular basis.
5. Your vindictive comment obviously had been written to justify being in a compromising situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I paid $170 for a night and got a room that looks like a museum piece from the 50s. The room was clean, but the main issue was the air conditioning which was totally useless in cooling the room on a hot day. I had to leave the door to the room open in the evening to cool the room down a bit, so I could get some sleep. I know there is a coal seam gas boom on, but this is just ridiculous. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have been staying here for years and it has been a good experience every time! This property is close to the 2 main shopping centres and some restaurants. The rooms are clean and the customer service is good. Previous reviewers are a bit harsh on this property and I think it deserves a second chance. If you are after something simple, reliable and somewhat cheap compared to Emerald prices then this is a good spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Meteor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Meteor Motel

Address: corner Opal & Egerton Streets, Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Emerald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Emerald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 1/2 Star RACQ rated establishment with 60 fully air-conditioned rooms. Centrally located, 50 metres from PO and bank, 100m to railway station, supermarket and shopping centre. Our Gallery Bar and restaurant, will entice you with an exciting a-la-carte menu, serving breakfast, and dinner every day of the week. Room service is available and packed lunches can be arranged. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool and bar area or enjoy a quiet afternoon in our garden. All our rooms are very comfortable with en-suite bathroom, tea/coffe station & minibar with ample parking available. Please call us directly to save on booking fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emerald Meteor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Meteor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.