We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay. Hosts Stewart and Sally are the best we've seen. Went that extra mile ensuring we had a pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midlander Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Midlander Motor Inn to your Saves list
Midlander Motor Inn
Cnr Hospital Road & School Lane, Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Emerald
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay. Hosts Stewart and Sally are the best we've seen. Went that extra mile ensuring we had a pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a great little motel. We were pleasantly surprised to find this little gem of a motel. For a change the rooms were exactely as described on their website, clean, spacious and the bed was,fantastic. Stewart and Sally were great hosts and made our stay that much mire special and nothing was too much trouble. The dinner was so delicious. We have based and booked all our stays on our 10 days of travel so far by Trip Advisor, some are accurate, some nite. This is one of the best. Thanks Stewart and Sally for your hospitality. We will definately be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUL000, Owner at Midlander Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Great to read in your review that the Midlander Motor Inn web pages actually describe the motel in a true light in our clients eyes. Thanks for such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
6
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have been travelling for 10 days and stayed at numerou motels/ hotels along the way, some great, some awful. The Midlander Motor Inn was among the great, and its the hosts Stewart and Sally that made our stay fantastic. The room was clean, bed very comfortable and all that wad promised on the website, the dinner was absolutely delicious. We would recommend the Midlander Motor Inn to anyone travelling Emerald way.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here for a night while traveling from North Queensland back to New South Wales. The was very comfortable, good air conditioner, wifi was great, very comfortable bed and sufficient bathroom facilities. The location is very central with only a short walk to the restaurants and pubs. The management team at this motel were very friendly and helpful. I was also impressed with the size of the rooms, very spacious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUL000, Owner at Midlander Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks David D for your review. At the Midlander we are always happy to receive favourable comments regarding our facilities and our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Partner and I stayed here for a weekend. Loved everything about it- beautiful clean rooms, amazing helpful service, great prices and excellent location (right near town centre). Breakfast was very tasty!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUL000, Owner at Midlander Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Midlander Motor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I can put up with a lot of things when I stay at motels- basic beds, basic tv, traffic noise. But I have never, ever stayed in a motel where I could not get any cold water, whatsoever!
Obviously the owners of this motel have been too cheap to pay for insulation of their water pipes, because I let all taps run for 5 minutes, numerous times, and they all gave me lukewarm water at best. I did stay when it was a 35 degree day in Emerald but that is not uncommon in regional Queensland.
I have stayed in Mt Isa when it was 40 degrees and had no problem getting cold water from the bathroom sink or shower.
So to say it was an uncomfortable stay, is an understatement. Its a good thing I carry my supply of fresh water when I travel.
The other horrible thing about this expensive, $158 per night room, was the fact that they couldn't be bothered to provide any soft furnishings at all. So walking into this stark, all white walled room was like a prison cell! There were no prints on the wall, nor any soft lighting. a very unpleasant room to be in. It was clean though, but I would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, unless you don't want cold water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUL000, Owner at Midlander Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your time at our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on for one night while travelling from WA. The owners were more than accommodating with my dogs and went out of their way to put me in a room to have them on a back verandah. Friendly staff, quiet off street position, spacious carparks and decent size rooms. Should be 1st choice when driving into town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUL000, Owner at Midlander Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay at the Midlander Motor Inn while on your trip through Emerald. We do understand the issues of travelling with your pets and are pleased to hear both you and your dogs we happy with our facilities and the service provided by our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Haven't stayed in Emerald since the mining boom and was very nervous when searching for accommodation recently for a one night stay. Was extremely pleased with our choice, finding large rooms, meticulously clean and well appointed bathrooms and bedding. We stayed in a queen deluxe room towards the back with good access and parking and no street noise considering proximity to the main highway. Walked to restaurant for dinner and to main street in the morning for breakfast at Theo's. Will be Definately re-booking this motel to stay again in a weeks time. So glad we have found suitable, affordable accommodation in Emerald where you don't feel like you are being taken advantage of regarding price and service. Highly recommend the Midlander

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUL000, Owner at Midlander Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
At the Midlander Motor Inn our aim is to provide friendly, quality accommodation. We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay at our motel and experienced the cafes and restaurants that Emerald has to offer. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midlander Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midlander Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Hospital Road & School Lane, Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Emerald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Emerald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Midlander Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midlander Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.