We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and clean basic accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Route 66 Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Route 66 Motor Inn to your Saves list
Route 66 Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Route 66 Motor Inn
2 Opal Street (crn Cliffe St.), Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Emerald
Sydney
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food and clean basic accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I typically stay in 5 star places so was a bit worried before checking in. Was hopeful though about the name :) It was great though. I'm always scared about motel pillows. Have bad dreams thinking about all the scanky action that take place in beds in non-descript motels in remote areas such as this! No 5 star accreditation to step up to and dark blankets will hide a multitude of sins...

The bed was great and the room quite dark - not the typical hundred lights from various electrical equipment to keep your brain awake. The bathroom well lit, very clean with big working space and mirror.

Dinner was lovely. Simple food with fresh veges that were steamed al dente. Desert was OK nothing to write home about. Brekky basic and 3 star.

Overall good value for money for this town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Whilst travelling on business I stayed at this place, the staff are amazing, rooms are fantastic, food is great, even the buffet breakfast was fantastic. I would recommend this place to everyone, and will b my hotel of choice when I return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Staying at Route 66 is definitely a home away from home feeling. This place has it all, has gracious staff, generous hospitality and fantastic food served in the restaurant and not to mention a nice modern room with an excellent bed. Gym junkie and also on my stay have access to gym free of charge. Was surprised how close it was within walking distance to the shopping centre and the CBD definitely this place is not to be missed when staying in Emerald.... Will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for your own private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed two nights in room 127 which fronted the highway and while there was no view, I was working during the day so I didn't care about that. The hotel room was very clean and modern and the bed was comfy, the bathroom was tidy and clean and the microwave and big fridge most welcomed. They didn't do restaurant breakfast on the weekends so I had to have continental breakfast delivered the night before (2 slices of bread on a plate) which I toasted myself the next morning plus a great fresh fruit salad and juice. The one night I did eat in the restaurant they had top notch food, and even a dedicated vegetarian dish which suited me. My companions had lamb and steaks and salmon and were all complimentary. The star of the night was the sticky date pudding that had a special custard on the side which was like a cross between custard and creme brulee. Delicious!

Overall I was very happy with this motel which is within walking distance to town. The only downside (and it's a little one) was the freight train which came past at 3am and woke me up both nights. It ran right near the motel, but it runs through the centre of town so I doubt any motel is going to be away from it.

Thoroughly recommend this motel for an Emerald stay. I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I arrived at night, left at dawn. The property had made provision for me, and arriving and leaving at odd hours was no problem. The room was lovely – wish I could have spent more time there. May not be the cheapest, but you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at the Route 66 whilst travelling through Emerald for work. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and the rooms were well maintained. The hotel is located on the outskirts of town with a shopping centre within walking distance, but you do feel a little isolated. Notwithstanding, if you are in need of a comfortable nights sleep and you are not in need of going out, I would highly recommend this as a destination. The room price is a bit on the expensive side, but then so is all accommodation in Emerald due to the mining in the area.

I wouldn't stay here for longer than one night at a time due to the location but will definitely come back when passing through town.

Room Tip: All rooms are located far enough from the highway as to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A fresh clean and quality accommodation welcomed after a long day on the road. Good meal in the restaurant too. Impressed with the kitchen facilities even though we didn't utilise them. Locality close to town centre but seemed to be a reasonably quiet area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Route 66 Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 66 Motor Inn

Address: 2 Opal Street (crn Cliffe St.), Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Emerald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Emerald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Route 66 Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 66 Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.