We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daintree Tea House Restaurant

Daintree Tea House Restaurant
3225 Daintree Rd, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
+61 7 4098 6161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Daintree
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Hidden in the hill side greenery with outdoor dining surrounded by garden and the rainforest. Away from the hustle and bustle.
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This was included in our optional day trip to Daintree. The setting is extremely attractive and our party were the only eaters that dinnertime. I chose the barramundi option with chips and salad and alongside our plate exotic fruits were decoratively laid out. Whilst we were eating our food the owner produced over a dozen exotic fruits and informed us of their origin and cultivation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    25
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Sitting outside looking into the rainforest, eating lovely fresh barramundi and salad and drinking Daintree tea having a friendly chat with the owner. Felt like paradise.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Feast for the eyes and your stomach too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We came to the tea house as part of a tour, we had the choice of kangaroo or barrumundi with fresh salad tea and coffee. The food were plated up beautifully, the owner gave us a talk on history and origins of fruits serve on the plate, he and was very friendly and show us many old books with pictures of what "fruits use to be like" as suppose to the GM fruits now.
After the typhoon in March it was very quite, another table of four and our party of 9 were the only one there that rainy afternoon. We were told that the flooded river water came very close to the front of the tea house, lucky it never made it. Surround by tropical greens, it was a beautiful lunch experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good quality eatery - booking required”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Food was nice and fresh. Lots of barrumundi options amongst other things. Not overpriced considering location and other options. Restaurant was clean and owners were very friendly and entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very overpriced but quality ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We came here for a late lunch, based on the reviews on the trip advisor. We were quite disappointed - with value and service, and still being hungry $50 later!!
I had the seafood curry (entree) and my husband had the lunch special (fish, salad and chips). Both meals were just under $20 each and the entire bill (no drinks but a scone at te end) came to just under $50.
We barely saw the waiter throughout - for everything I needed to go up to the counter and wait until he appeared.
The quality of the curry was excellent, and the lunch special ok - not great. But the real issue for me was the size of the dishes. Admittedly I ordered the entree size - I had read the reviews of the curry and mistook this for it. It was served in a half pawpaw (hollowed out). As mentioned, it was delicious, but there were about 3 spoons (really) of curry, 1 medium prawn and a scallop. Again admittedly it was an entree size - but as we were clearly there for lunch possibly a gentle hint when we ordered about its size might have been an idea!? I presume it is seen by them as a delicacy - in which case when you have visitors who are unlikely to have ordered the dish before, maybe wise to point it out?
The lunch special was described as a 'very satisfying, substantial meal' in the menu. It had a tiny fish fillet, (around the size of an iPhone), about 5 or 6 thin chips (which were very nice!!) and a tiny side salad. Very Unsatisfying and pretty ordinary other than the chips. $20 is not a fortune for a lunch dish - but it's not cheap and to at least have a reasonable serving of chips or salad would have made a smallish meal rather than tiny snack.
as mentioned, the waiter was hard to catch although it wasnt busy, and the meals - if I could call them that - took well over half an hour to arrive, as did the scone we ordered later - which we ordered in an attempt to have something quick to fill us up a bit before getting back to sightseeing.
We are not huge eaters - and eat out several times a week, even at home and every day on holiday.
Maybe we came on a bad day? But I certainly wouldn't recommend it for lunch unless you plan on spending over $100 at what is really a cottage serving meals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Tea House Restaurant also viewed

Daintree, Daintree Region
 
Daintree, Daintree Region
 

Been to Daintree Tea House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daintree Tea House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.