We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daintree Valley Haven

Save Saved
You added Daintree Valley Haven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daintree Valley Haven
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   766 Stewart Creek Road, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Most of the other reviewers have said it all! We spent two nights here as a base for visiting Cape Tribulation - but actually would have enjoyed another two or three nights on the deck listening to the birds and watching the wildlife in this lovely part of the world. So we would recommend that people book at least three nights - Peter and Daphne are great hosts, hearty breakfasts with local and homemade produce, nice short walks around the property, butterflies, birds, wallabies....who could ask for more!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Spent 3 nights, wish it could have been longer. Comfortable and private cabins. Lovely hosts. Only comment would be that we were not aware it was a little out of the village - not really a negative as the location is worth the short drive .

Room Tip: All the cabins have their own charm and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We recently enjoyed 3 nights at the Daintree Valley Haven ( and haven it is). Daphne and Peter are wonderful hosts willingly to share their extensive knowledge of the area. it is secluded and private, just what we needed for a break away from the city. The breakfasts were delicious, lots of tropical fruit, cereal and toast and homemade preserves. So nice to come back to after a busy day out sightseeing. Loved the ulysses butterflies and the kookaburra. It is a great base while in the Daintree.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review - we love to hear guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Friendly hosts, clean and very comfy accom. breakfasts were enormous but we persevered! We stocked up with food (for other meals) in Mossman on our way to Daintree. Book exchange was a great touch. I, too, like to keep in touch with home via texts but a signal can be had down by the jetty in the village (had to time it right allowing for time differences). The wildlife didn't disappoint even if the weather did. However it was fascinating to see the bone dry "waterhole" become full after 48 hours of rain. 5 types of rain in QLD - spitting, showers, rain, torrential rain and OH MY GOD. We had the latter but it couldn't spoil the beatuty of this beautiful place. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a rainforest experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Thank you so much for such a lovely review - happy guests make us happy too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

Lovely location and friendly hosts.

The absence of mobile reception and TV was a blow to me but my partner enjoyed our stay more for their lack.

Nathan, marrickville.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
We very much appreciate your review, thank you, and hope our lack of mobile reception and TV was not too inconvenient.

All our communications in the Valley are via satellite and our closest mobile reception is in nearby Daintree Village, however most guests seem happy to be 'out of touch' for a while!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights in one of the three lodges (Sunbird), and were delighted with our stay. The lodge was clean, comfortable, and peaceful. Peter clears out rubbish daily, delivers wondrous fresh breakfasts (those marmalades!!), and still manages to make you feel completely private. Sitting on the veranda at breakfast with the sounds of the rainforest was truly magical. All is provided, even an outdoor jacuzzi and barbecue. Peter and Daphne go those extra miles for their guests. I was unwell briefly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We felt we had made friends. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We love to hear that guests have been happy staying with us! Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was the perfect B&B for two adventurers! Daphne and Peter were wonderful hosts who were very friendly and offered advice when asked, but gave you plenty of privacy also. The breakfast was really good and left you prepared for your day. The deck was perfect for reading and relaxing while watching the birds and butterflies. And the last morning we even saw a wild wallaby in the yard! Daintree was a cute little town also and everyone we met was extremely nice.

We will definitely return next time we are in Australia!

Room Tip: There are only three, and I don't think any of them are bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbird, Owner at Daintree Valley Haven, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday here and thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daintree Valley Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Valley Haven

Address: 766 Stewart Creek Road, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Valley Haven 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daintree Valley Haven is a tropical retreat offering three very private self-contained B&B bungalows on a lovely secluded 30 acre property in the Daintree River valley, surrounded by Daintree National Park. It is the perfect hideaway accommodation for couples, birdwatchers, honeymooners and wildlife enthusiasts or for relaxing for a while during a busy holiday. Tropicals gardens, butterflies, rainforest, walking trails and over 130 species of birds. A complimentary daily breakfast basket, delivered to bungalows each afternoon, includes home-grown tropical fruits and home-made jam and yoghurt. Total peace and tranquility yet within easy driving distance of Cape Tribulation, Mossman Gorge, Port Douglas, the Great Barrier Reef and the Atherton Tablelands (Cairns Highlands). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Daintree Valley Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Valley Haven Daintree Region, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daintree Valley Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.