We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wildlife and successful Croc spotting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises

Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises
2856 Mossman Daintree Road, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
0740987717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 attractions in Daintree
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We have been conducting tours on the Daintree River since 1987 and run a family operated, one hour river tour from a private jetty. Our boats are small and personalised for a quality experience and our tours focus on wildlife such as snakes and birds, with an emphasis on crocodile spotting. The tour includes commentary about the area and the mangrove ecosystem. We also provide good quality binoculars and complimentary hot and cold beverages.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great wildlife and successful Croc spotting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We literally stumbled upon this tour on our way out of the Daintree Rainforest on our way back to Port Douglas. We had up until that point, an unsuccessful sighting of a Crocodile. There were only 4 of us on this hour trip, the final one of the day, and we managed to see loads of wildlife and spotted 2 baby Crocodiles and 1 female Crocodile. I was so pleased! We had the use of Binoculars and a free beer with snacks. I would highly recommend this tour !!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    32
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good crocodile and bird watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Take the one tour during low tide when the crocodiles are warming on the mangrove banks of the river. It is almost guaranteed that you will see baby, male and female crocks. Bruce drove us around with lots of information also of the birds we encountered. Bruce took all the time to position the boat for good views and was very prolific in spotting crocs from a great distance, but then he knows the river after some 20 years of guided tours. Unfortunately, we did not have time to do the bird watching tour, which starts at about 06:00 in the morning. That is certainly on the agenda the next time we are there. One suggestion I like to make the cafe more inviting by offering food and real cappuccino rather than brown water with a bit of coffee flavour without frothy milk. This would entice people to stay longer after the tour and perhaps provide more patronage to the shop as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bird Watching with Bruce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Bruce is enthusiastic, friendly and was a pleasure to be with. He did not just cruise down the river and rely on us to find any bird species, he endeavoured to find as many as he could on the two and a half hour cruise, good quality binoculars are supplied and tea and coffee at the end of the trip. Would go again in another season.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Ken the Daintree Knowledge Centre"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ken was our informative guide and he is also a top bloke. He positioned the boat to make certain that everyone could see the crocodiles and on our trip we were able to see 3 mature crocodiles - "Scoota", "Lizzy" and "Dusty" and many 1 or 2 year old yearlings. The information about the mangroves was fascinating and the bird life was great - loved the Kingfisher. Binocular were provided but we were close enough to the wildlife that we didn't need to use them. We were a group of 5 adults and a 3 month old baby (who slept through the experience) but the rest of us had a great trip. Well done to Ken and Bruce for the experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overcast day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We did this trip recently and saw a few small crocodiles on the riverbank. It was a very windy and overcast day so I guess the crocs weren't sunbathing on the riverbank. A bit disappointing not to see a bigger croc but that's the luck of the draw.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises to your Saves list