We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip, but no crocidles seen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises

Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises
2856 Mossman Daintree Road, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
0740987717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Attractions in Daintree
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have been conducting tours on the Daintree River since 1987 and run a family operated, one hour river tour from a private jetty. Our boats are small and personalised for a quality experience and our tours focus on wildlife such as snakes and birds, with an emphasis on crocodile spotting. The tour includes commentary about the area and the mangrove ecosystem. We also provide good quality binoculars and complimentary hot and cold beverages.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great trip, but no crocidles seen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

used this company to see the Daintree River, knowledge and efficient, (although power was out so no EFTPOS so had to find cash to pay $50 tour)

short walk to boat, captain was local and very knowledgeable, went all the way to the car ferry, where all but us 2 got off

still then captain contiued looking for crocs on return trip, but to no avail

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    38
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“More than just crocs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We weren't planning on doing a crocodile boat cruise, but we drove by Bruce Belcher's and saw there was a boat leaving in 15 minutes and decided to give it a go. It was a fun experience! While we waited for our boat, the staff offered us a free frozen drink or coffee with our ticket price that we enjoyed while reading articles about the famous local crocodiles outside. The afternoon was hot and humid, but the breeze on the river was refreshing and pleasant. Our guide was knowledgeable and told us not just about the crocs but also about the local plants and river area. We had low expectations after talking to tourists who took other river tours without any croc sightings, but we were lucky enough to spot one baby and one female. Crocs or no, this tour is worth a stop.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Crocs gone wild”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

When deciding which crocodile tour to do we felt much better about viewing the crocodiles in their natural habitat even though the sightings weren't guaranteed. On the day/time we went we were lucky enough to see two females and three babies. Our guide was very knowledgeable and shared much more than the facts about crocodiles going into detail about the ecosystem of the river. For only $25 and a free slushy you can't really go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Croc...spotted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I used trip advisor to select which croc adventure to go on, and expecting it to be fully booked rang through and spoke to Bruce who aptly recommended the afternoon cruise as the best option to try and see crocs.

Our guide was Freddie. He was bloody funny. He's clearly been doing the job for years and knows everything about the mangroves and was a font of information. He made the trip. We saw two crocs- one female salty and another little one.

But the trip wasn't just about crocs. We also learnt about the wildlife and the birds which was very interesting.

Very enjoyable...and then when we were given a free coffee or slushie at the end, I was we'll happy!!!

At $25 per person, this was money very well spent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great wildlife river cruise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a great time on the river and saw a lot of wildlife. We saw three fifteen feet long saltwater crocks, baby crocks, mud skippers, several species of king fishers, spoonbills, green tree snake and more. The guide was very nice and the equipment was in good shape

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruce Belcher's Daintree River Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.