We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Restaurant

The Village Restaurant
1 Stewart Street, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
07 4098 6146
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Daintree
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: There are not too many places these days that can claim to be truly, "at the end of the road". Though this peaceful little village is one of them. Nestled on the banks of the mighty Daintree River and bordering the oldest living rainforest, Daintree Village makes up for its lack of size with heart, wonder and a spirit of adventure... And only short drive north of Port Douglas, the Daintree Village Hotel is the perfect place to start your northern journey...
Port Douglas, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Working Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We needed to find some mobile reception in Daintree to finish some web work. We went into the Daintree Village where we new there was mobile reception and went into the Village Restaurant. As we settled in to do some work we decided to dine and selected a BLAT and Mugaccino which arrived promptly and went down well. This is a handy eatery with big tables for your laptop (see photo), central location, mobile reception and good food and drinks. The waiter even offered a table next to a power outlet for our equipment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely food and reasonable wine prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had some lovely food here - great dinner with good quality and reasonably priced wine. Excellent breakfast after our bird watching boat trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for lunch, and it was delicious - wonderful barramundi fish! The meals were well priced, and even had some local fruits like passionfruit, pineapple, and starfruit, which was a nice touch. The staff were elderly, so it took a while to order and they weren't all that friendly, but it didnt worry me too much for this one occasion. I'd recommend this venue for a meal which was tasty and enjoyable overall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our family of four enjoyed a lovely dinner on the open-air deck in a lovely tropical rainstorm. Food was delicious and the staff very accommodating.
We only wish we had found this place sooner as it was one of our favorite dinners in tropical North Queensland.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Great View from Verandah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had breakfast here with friends following a Daintree River Cruise. We sat on the verandah under umbrellas. It was slightly elevated with basic metal chairs and tables This is more a cafe than restaurant. It was an "order at the counter and take a table number with you" set-up. We all ordered bacon and egg sandwiches and rolls with variations. They were delicious and reasonably priced. The service was friendly and fast. This is a down-to-earth option if you want basic food, fast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Restaurant also viewed

 
Daintree, Daintree Region
Daintree, Daintree Region
 

Been to The Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.