We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Restaurant

The Village Restaurant
1 Stewart Street, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
07 4098 6146
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Daintree
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: There are not too many places these days that can claim to be truly, "at the end of the road". Though this peaceful little village is one of them. Nestled on the banks of the mighty Daintree River and bordering the oldest living rainforest, Daintree Village makes up for its lack of size with heart, wonder and a spirit of adventure... And only short drive north of Port Douglas, the Daintree Village Hotel is the perfect place to start your northern journey...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

surprisingly good food and nice al fresco setting with friendly service and reasonable price too - not what we expected in such a tiny village

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“School dinner type food and unfriendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The food was always covered by a horrible gravy and they didn't seem to be happy anyone went to eat there. A waste of money and time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great way to wind down at the end of the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently stayed in Daintree Village, and chose to eat at the Village Restaurant each evening. We loved the friendly service provided to us each evening by Mitch, and the chats with the other visitors to the area. The food choices had variety, so we were able to choose something different each evening. This is not a high style restaurant, but more of a down home diner. The roast night on Sunday was a treat. I also highly suggest the pan seared fresh fish. Thanks for making our stay in Daintree so much fun.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic restaurant, great hours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Food basic but tasty. Not a great amount of choice. I am not the best reviewer as I have some food intolerances, so my choices were limited. People very friendly, helpful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Slow and iffy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great position in the village but "detached" service from weary looking staff. Very slow service, coffee was dire. Had to ask where our meals were after 45 minutes wait (odd because the place was not that busy). Food was OK when it finally arrived, but they had lost us by then.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Restaurant also viewed

 
Daintree, Daintree Region
 

Been to The Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.