We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, Safe, Quiet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park

BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooktown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park
Save
You added BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park to your Saves list
31 - 41 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Queensland 4895, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Anglesea, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pretty, Safe, Quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We travelled in July ,which is high season. The park was full all the time, which is a good indication of satisfaction. It is a long road to Cooktown and this park is a great place to wind down. Great pool area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed on a powered site for two nights but wish it could have been longer. It was a lovely park with roomy powered sites . The modern ensuite style amenities were great and I did like the concept of having a couple of toilet only bathrooms at the end of each block. Most parks don't have this and if you are only wanting the loo and some-one is in the shower it can be very inconvenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful and guided us to our site as well. Some one had told me that I would be bitten by sand flies, but this never happened. Maybe it depends on the time of the year that you are there that this happens. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Cooktown is really the last outpost and to find a park such as this was quite pleasing. The cabin was a good size, clean and well appointed. The staff were great. There were relieving managers and they are to be complimented on the servcie they provided. Jenny was the lady, but I dont recall her husbands name.
The park is just a short walk from town, is shady and has good facilities.
My wife left her hat there when we left and we received a phone call from Jenny telling us that the hat was there. We asked them to hold it for us until we got home (about 3 weeks later) and when we phoned to say to send it, it was packed and sent without delay. Great service. Thanks
Cooktown has some interesting attractions. We did Willie's tour (a must), visited the museum, Grassy Hill, Had a feed and drink at the Top Pub as well as the Soverieign resort and coffee and breakfast at Capers cafe.
A great experience and made that much better by the Big 4 Caravan park

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHPManager, Manager at BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park. Your positive feedback is certainly passed on to all staff members. The team is here to make your stay as memorable as possible and when someone goes the extra mile to help out, it is always a bonus.
Cooktown, which is steeped in History, has much to offer the travellers to the Region.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Cooktown in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have stayed in Cooktown at least 12 times and every time have camped at the Big4 in Cooktown. Over the years the prices have increased and I've watched the prices go up with a cringe.

The reasons I keep coming back are simple: the amenities are clean and tidy and some of the best I've come across on camp sites. The camp kitchen is large, lots of chairs and tables, fridge, 3 hot plate cooking areas and gas stove. The pool is large and nice. The showers (unisex) and clean, warm running water and in good condition. A very safe campground and I've never had any issues with noise.

I do however recommend against camping around camp site 45 should it have rained as it can get very muddy on that side of the camp ground. Last time I stayed I couldn't put the tent up as the grounds were so muddy and choose to sleep in the car instead. Would have been nice to be able to swap sites however I was told the others sites were booked.

I would suggest to add more light to the pathways as it can get very dark when you try and find your way to your tend from the camp kitchen. Take a torch until then.

Overall, a more expensive camping experience however you do get very good amenities for it. Hope the prices don't go up more.

Room Tip: After the rain, stay away from sites near 45, as they are rather muddy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fantastic park with excellent facilities. Unisex amenities were very clean. Beautiful gardens and swimming pool that are well maintained. Friendly helpful staff. The welcome package and information was well received. We had a lovely grassy site with easy access. Loved the history of Cooktown and lots of attractions to visit- recommend the Museum and Grassy Hill Lookout in particular.
We were told to watch out for mosquitoes in Cooktown if the wind drops... we were lucky and did not experience an issues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

called in to book a cabin but all booked out instead had a motel room which was more than satisfactory and room lovely and cool with air con already on. Staff are amazing esp Jenny( every park should have a staff member like her), friendly easy to have a laugh with, happy to offer directions and suggestions for places of interest, welcome pack so informative, pools were bliss..heaps to do and see in Cooktown - Grassy hill a must as is the Top Pub for a cold sip, Bowls club is excellent for a meal and their courtesy bus to and from park great. museum is also a must do. Thanks for a great time Cooktown We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

5 stars is not enough for this park. We have travelled Australia and this one is up there with the best. Awesome check in, staff were very friendly, loved the welcome pack of information about the area. The amenities are unisex, I wasn't sure if I would like that but I loved it - so convenient, more parks should have them. Grassy shaded sites, very good facilities.

Dinner at the bowls club is a must, as is a cold beer at the cooktown hotel. Sunrise at grassy hill was stunning where u can enjoy 360degree views of the area.

Loved this place, will definitely return

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park

Address: 31 - 41 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Queensland 4895, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cooktown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cooktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooktown Holiday Park is situated in 8 acres of lush tropical award winning gardens. A variety of accommodation from motel, cabins and villas to large campsites, accommodating tents, caravans and large motorhomes - we are RV friendly. A modern amenities block, a large shaded swimming pool adjacent to our camp kitchen voted one of the best in Australia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.