We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park

BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooktown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park
Save
You added BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park to your Saves list
31 - 41 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Queensland 4895, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fantastic park with excellent facilities. Unisex amenities were very clean. Beautiful gardens and swimming pool that are well maintained. Friendly helpful staff. The welcome package and information was well received. We had a lovely grassy site with easy access. Loved the history of Cooktown and lots of attractions to visit- recommend the Museum and Grassy Hill Lookout in particular.
We were told to watch out for mosquitoes in Cooktown if the wind drops... we were lucky and did not experience an issues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

called in to book a cabin but all booked out instead had a motel room which was more than satisfactory and room lovely and cool with air con already on. Staff are amazing esp Jenny( every park should have a staff member like her), friendly easy to have a laugh with, happy to offer directions and suggestions for places of interest, welcome pack so informative, pools were bliss..heaps to do and see in Cooktown - Grassy hill a must as is the Top Pub for a cold sip, Bowls club is excellent for a meal and their courtesy bus to and from park great. museum is also a must do. Thanks for a great time Cooktown We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

5 stars is not enough for this park. We have travelled Australia and this one is up there with the best. Awesome check in, staff were very friendly, loved the welcome pack of information about the area. The amenities are unisex, I wasn't sure if I would like that but I loved it - so convenient, more parks should have them. Grassy shaded sites, very good facilities.

Dinner at the bowls club is a must, as is a cold beer at the cooktown hotel. Sunrise at grassy hill was stunning where u can enjoy 360degree views of the area.

Loved this place, will definitely return

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent 4 nughts at this park and from the moment we arrived felt welcomed. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The park is well kept and has fantastic lush gardens. The facilitues were clean and well maintained. The pool and camp kitchen were huge. We would recommend this park to both families and those without kids. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHPManager, Manager at BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park. It is currently a lovely time to be up here with everything very lush around the park and surrounding area. The pool is certainly a welcome sight in the afternoons after a day out sightseeing or "Fishing". Well done to the boys with their catch. We wish you safe travels and look forward to seeing you all again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This was a great little park. The sites are really big and divided well by hedges and trees. Very green park! The reception was great and we were given a really great information pack on arrival. Very friendly. I was initially hesitant about the "unisex" amenities but actually really liked them. They were basically like a large block of small ensuite rooms which I thought was great. They were also very clean and fairly new. Would recommend cooktown and this park to everyone. Had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHPManager, Manager at BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park. We value all feedback. It was pleasing to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you noted that our caravan park is "Very Green". We put alot of work in over this time of the year to our grounds ensuring that all through the dry season we are able to provide well grassed shady sites for all of our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Cooktown Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Oct 2012 - this is a great park and central place to stay. Easy 15 mins into town. Clean and friendly. However they have a burgler known to police. Although this seems to be going on since 12 months..Management appears not to have taken extra security messures except for police patrol. No gates, no cameras and the whole park is without night lights. You cant see where you walk.
Even more serious i find is that the office only tells you to lock your things..lock it or loose it..but they dont tell you the whole story. During our stay 2 couples got robbed. This is why i gave the service a 2. It makes you feel on edge all the time as you know your being watched by this opportunity thief waiting for his chance. So lock EVERYTHING!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karumba
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a pleasant experience checking in is here. Tammy in the office is a friendly, cheery and helpful host who cannot do enough for you. Mark showed us to our site which is a real personal touch.
The park grounds are neat and tidy with an excellent pool and kitchen area. We stayed for three nights and found the park to be well run, clean and very quiet at night. It is in an excellent position very close to town and has nice grassy sites. The only negative we found was the unisex bathrooms as it messed with the wife's chi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park

Address: 31 - 41 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Queensland 4895, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cooktown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cooktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooktown Holiday Park is situated in 8 acres of lush tropical award winning gardens. A variety of accommodation from motel, cabins and villas to large campsites, accommodating tents, caravans and large motorhomes - we are RV friendly. A modern amenities block, a large shaded swimming pool adjacent to our camp kitchen voted one of the best in Australia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.