We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the world's great views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grassy Hill

Grassy Hill
Hope Street, Cooktown, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$218*
and up
Cooktown 4WD Adventure Tour from Cairns or Port...
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Cooktown
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Lookouts, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“One of the world's great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The 360 degree view from the top of Grassy Hill is stunning - the same view of the Barrier Reef, the Endeavour River, and surrounding hills that Captain Cook had in 1770 plus now Cooktown. There are interpretive signs at the top and also walking tracks as well as a lighthouse - well worth the short drive to the top.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    24
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great walk and end up in Botanical Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We did a walk up Grassy Hill for a wonderful view of Cooktown and surrounds. On the way are excellent information 'signposts' with lots of interesting bits about Captain Cook and the history of the area. The walk is steep but we took our time. After Grassy Hill there is a walk through the forest area to some beaches and the walk is a bit up and down but through some very nice areas. And, you end up at the lovely Cooktown Botanical Gardens. The gardens are small, all native plants and very nicely laid out. The whole walk took us almost three hours finishing up walking back through the town to our hotel. A great way to see Cooktown.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Dare I say this is one of the most beautiful locations that exists? 360 degree views of rivers flowing into the turquoise ocean, white sandy beaches, rain forested mountains with sea breezes blowing. It's here we fell in love with Cooktown and know we must come back again one day. Makes us understand why Captain Cook was fond of this area (even though his ship broke down here). A MUST SEE if you come this direction!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Qld
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a really lovely walk up to the lighthouse with rest stops along the way, each with a panoramic view of Cooktown and the river. I suggest going up early morning to avoid the heat. Once at the top, the view is amazing. It is possible to go up by vehicle or on a tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Views with amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hill has had a fair bit of attention from the council/community to provide a good experience with information, views and nice environment for taking it all in.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grassy Hill also viewed

Cooktown, Queensland
Cooktown, Queensland
 

Been to Grassy Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grassy Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.