We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant 1770

Restaurant 1770
Shp 3/ 7 Webber | The Esplanade, Cooktown, Queensland 4895 , Australia
(07) 4069 5440
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Cooktown
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Mudgeeraba, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We checked out the menu earlier in the day and reserved a table for dinner, that overlooked the Endeavour River. We all decided to try the local Coral Trout with Hollandaise sauce and were not disappointed.
The portion was generous, the sauce was just right and all ingredients were fresh. The wine selection is not huge but was adequate and desserts were good.
The wait staff were young and somewhat inexperienced but nevertheless friendly and attentive.
Keith Howick, the chef/owner keeps a close watch from the kitchen and chatted with us after our meal as we were among the last to leave. Keith has been in the business a long time and laments the commonplace practice to serving ready-made sauces and such like. Apparently, even poached eggs can come pre-prepared these days.
Good honest food cooked properly is his catch cry.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Healesville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very tropical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We love this place not only for the food but for the dining experience. Looking out at the blue sea and tropical ambience, its hard to beat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good view and atmosphere. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We travelled to Cooktown for a quick overnight visit. We had dinner at the 1770 Restaurant which is on the Endeavour River close to where Captain Cook had some timeout for repairs in 1770. We had the special which was Barramundi with a salsa sauce. It was delicious. The staff were very friendly. We sat outside on the foreshore and watched the rain pass by. It was a lovely evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Top Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

On the Endeavour River, a beautiful spot. A lovely decor, both in and out on the verandah. I thought the menu disappointing as I would have liked to have seen fresh local produce and not the international twist. No childrens menu, so they had the entree. Chips were overdone. Very expensive for the average traveller and that is a shame. Its a one off treat.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

1770 Restaurant is situated on the wharf overlooking the Endeavour River in Cooktown. While you are sitting enjoying your meal you are able to watch the boats coming in and the sun setting over the water. The food is excellent with a great variety to suit all needs. The staff are friendly and obliging. I opted for the steak which was cooked exactly as requested with scallops on the shell for an entrée - also delicious. While in Cooktown I also purchased coral trout and chips from their takeaway which is next to the restaurant - the coral trout was devine. All in all a couple of great eating experiences. I have also attached a better photo than the one shown, showing what a lovely, modern restaurant this is.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 1770 also viewed

 
Cooktown, Queensland
 

Been to Restaurant 1770? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant 1770, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.