We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to our caravan park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Kathleen Memorial Park and Museum

Mary Kathleen Memorial Park and Museum
Flinders Highway, Cloncurry, Queensland 4824, Australia
(07) 4742 1361
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Cloncurry
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
warrnambool
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Close to our caravan park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was close to the caravan park and a lovely place to wander round in the cool of the morning. We chose to walk around the grounds but not to pay to visit the museum inside the visitor centre as it was a bit outside our budget.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cairns, qld
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Only saw the park- good place to let kids run loose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

It's a nice place to stop. Cleanish toilets with a modern kids play park. Only thing that spoiled it a bit as some bogan a decided to let their pitbull cross loose in the park and it kept stalking our son.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An oasis for adults and kids!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

In well landscaped parkland abounding in wildlife is this new museum with beautifully presented exhibits encompassing many aspects of the history of this fascinating area, from the romance of the mines to the once progressive township of Mary Kathleen and the folk who enriched their lives by staying here awhile! Complete with a gift shop and mini cafe it's a wonderful spot to escape a sweltering afternoon in this outback gem of a town. The park also has relics of farming and mining machinery over which children love to clamber and set their imaginations on fire. They can then drift across to the extensive and colourful modern playground equipment with it's nearby covered picnic tables. If you're as lucky as we were you may be serenaded by the local gent who comes to practice outback songs accompanied by his western guitar!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The park area was great, well landscaped with some great exhibits. Unfortunately the gem collection was unavailable

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mary Kathleen Memorial Park and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Kathleen Memorial Park and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mary Kathleen Memorial Park and Museum to your Saves list