We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to go back to...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dalrymple Tourist Van Park

Dalrymple Tourist Van Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dalrymple Tourist Van Park to your Saves list
Dalrymple Tourist Van Park
24 Dalrymple Rd, Charters Towers, Queensland 4820, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Tea Gardens
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“One to go back to...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Location 'next to Golf course' was our decision to stay here and it was a good one..lovely shady, good sized sites. Amenities were kept spotless with a lovely touch of fresh flowers along with a 'looked after' pot plant. Staff were friendly and informative and kept busy maintaining the grounds and camp-kitchen (which was always spotless) Excellent barbecues are organized on a regular basis, there is a charge, but goes to that remarkable service - the Royal Flying Doctor Service.
A Park that we will return to...

Room Tip: Ask for a site near the camp-kitchen or back fence
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
8
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

After a long day of travelling and after reading the brochure which suggested this was 'the friendliest' park we were disappointed in the offhand welcome and after being told there was a seniors discount it was not given. On questioning this the next day I was given a half hearted 'oh sorry but I can't refund it now'
The cabin was very box like and not really big enough for 3 adults although
Full price of $120 was charged. It was clean but the floor looked like it had been mopped with a dirty mop.
A bit disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is one of the best caravan parks we've stayed in. Due to problems with our vehicle we stayed for almost a month and were continually impressed with the high standard of cleanliness and attention to detail at this park. The staff are friendly and helpful and respond cheerfully and efficiently to all requests. The amenities are maintained to an impressive standard, with fresh flowers on the hand basins, and are checked by staff regularly during the day. The grounds are also impeccable. There is a large and well-equipped camp kitchen. The park owners and staff work hard to make all travellers feel welcome with regular happy hours, scrumptious morning teas and scheduled barbecues to raise funds for the Royal Flying Doctor Service. We highly recommend this park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We paid $90 for a cabin that had mould all over walls,hole through tolet door,lino chipped and lifting. Bed bugs which we have red bites and rashes still two days later.When I booked the cabin I was told it was the last cabin and one of the older ones.This does not excuse the third world condition.I had my 13Yo Daughter with me and we had played a netball carnival all Day so was very tired and just wanted to put head down,otherwise we would have walked strait out and asked for money back and gone elsewhere.Have plenty of Photos but cannot upload will only upload link to my Computor.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed for two nights in a cabin. The cabin was fitted for four people: two adults, two kids. Room, bathroom and beds were very clean. A plus is the jumping pillow for kids. We payed 135 AUS$ per night, which was o.k. value for money. The caravan park was well organized and clean. We stayed in the wintertime (July) and it gets surprisingly cold in the evening, so be prepared to use the provided electric heater. Overall, this campground is fine for an overnight stay, but we wouldn’t recommend it for longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halls Gap
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

I booked this motel after finding on the internet. The cabins were basic, but had almost everything i needed. As someone who reqires a nice strong shower in the morning and is also a large person, I was happy with the shower as it was big and had nice strong presure. Hot water tank could have been a little bigger though, was adequate for me, but not sure how it would go with 2 or more people in a row.

The owners were very pleasant and knowledgable of the area and even other staff, eg cleaners would have a nice chat in passing. The park had a nice pool area, though the queenslanders laughed at the silly victorian in the pool in May.

THey had Happy hour on every afternoon with a musician and also had BBQ and other nights, unfortunately i didn't make it to any of them, but that's my loss.

My only real criticism of the cabins is that there is no armchair or couch. Otherwise i would thoroughly recommend this park to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stayed at Dalrymple Tourist Van Park where we found it just right for everything we needed. The cabin was 1st class everything was on hand - very clean and quite comfortable. The pool was clean, and fresh and only a short distance away - quite safe & child proof. The owners & staff were very helpfull & followed through with any requests. We definately recommend this Park to anyone & if I ever come back I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalrymple Tourist Van Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalrymple Tourist Van Park

Address: 24 Dalrymple Rd, Charters Towers, Queensland 4820, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Charters Towers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Charters Towers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resident owners, Don & Gayle invite you to enjoy good old fashioned country hospitality. We offer spotlessly clean amenities, ensuite self contained cabins, grass and slab powered and camp sites, saltwater pool, sauna, camp kitchen, BBQs, dump point, kiosk, wireless internet, jumping pillow, ensuite sites and we are the closest park to town. Golf Course is next door and equipment and carts are available for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dalrymple Tourist Van Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalrymple Tourist Van Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.