We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Helpful.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Charters Towers Visitor Information Centre

Charters Towers Visitor Information Centre
74 Mosman Street, Charters Towers, Queensland 4820, Australia
+61 7 4761 5533
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Charters Towers Visitor Information Centre provides a 7 day information and bookings service to visitors and locals alike. Explore the Orientation Room, speak with one of our wonderful volunteers and purchase some goodies from the Gift Shop. Open 7 days a week 9am - 5pm excluding Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Years Day and Good Friday
Melbourne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not Helpful.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Already having most of the information that we required for our stay in town, our main reason for stopping in here was due to their advertisement stating that they would assist in tour bookings. Whilst the staff were quick to ask if we needed any help, the assistance we were offered when we asked about a particular tour was that we would have to call and book the tour for ourselves. Despite that, the printed information available on Charters Towers and the surrounding district was excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to start”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We met a lovely older couple who volunteer at the Information Centre. They were charming and unlike many large cities, they did not mind taking time to talk to us and to give us many options of how to go about seeing Charters Towers. We found things to see and do that we're not in the books or pamphlets that we had. The self drive cd is a must and you can hi it or buy it. Would recommend it to everyone going there as a must do

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“STAFF EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We where met by a lady called Colleen (hope we have correct name)and and she was the bubbliest person we have come across in our travels, she was ever so helpful and assisted us with pride as she talked about her town.
Big well done.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“CD History Tour a Winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Volunteer staff very informative and loved the CD which you could borrow for a fee to tour the town by car. A few more sights to be added but overall a great way to understand the town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charters Towers Visitor Information Centre also viewed

Charters Towers, Queensland
Charters Towers, Queensland
 
Charters Towers, Queensland
Charters Towers, Queensland
 

Been to Charters Towers Visitor Information Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charters Towers Visitor Information Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.