We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but average motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn

Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn to your Saves list
Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn
1 Bridge Street | Cnr Bridge & Plant St, Charters Towers, Queensland QLD 4820, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Charters Towers
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Friendly but average motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Friendly people at this motel just outside the town centre. The room is fine but slightly outdated. The lights in the bathroom were fallen down so probably some attention needed. But it is clean and you can get a cold beer at the reception so was happy.
The restaurant though is not recommended. I had one of the specials for 35 bucks but it is a relatively small dish and although the steak is pretty decent the whole was very salty and tasted the same. Maybe bad luck but I don't think you should charge people extra for vegetables! That is really not done these days!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
14
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

At last an update to the menu! Good selection of steaks etc. unfortunately the good piece of eye fillet that I received was over cooked by the use of iron / sizzle plate. Rooms comfortable though a bit basic. Friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Room was ok, clean but impossible to fill the electric jug from the wash basin. Had to use the shower? No toster facility.

Went to the restaurant and found the service was bad, was asked 3 times over an hour if I wanted a drink, and I kept saying it was ordered but it never arrived until the meal was finished and we wanted to leave. Ordered one dozen oysters and only 6 turned up. Main meal was overcooked and unpleasant. Advised I would put the meal on my room and then told them I would meet at the front desk to pay before I went to bed, but they didnt turn up so I had to leave it until the next morning. A totally bad experience in comparison to other motels we stayed at on our trip.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Badly in need of maintenance. No sleep all night walls paper thin. Breakfast cold. When we complained we were physically threatened. Will never go back or recommend. Worst hotel ever. Do not stay there

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed there overnight with my family. I had booked this hotel three days before my arrival. At the time of booking on the telephone the receptionist took my credit card details but did not book my room(??????). Fortunately there was a vacant room. Few of the rooms are recently renovated - we were lucky to get one of those. Nice new bathrooms, AC, fridge. New clean linen. Reasonably sized room. Free parking. I could not find this hotel on Booking.com.

Room Tip: Ask them on the phone if they can give you the renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here after arriving into Charters Towers after 9pm. The reception was open until Midnight. The room was basic, but was sufficent for a sleep and a shower. Price wasn't outrageous. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Cattleman's Rest is an older hotel, with brick interior walls and somewhat dated furnishings. An attempt has been made to improve the decor by using a blue and white theme on the taps, cupboards, switchplate covers, bathroom fixtures, etc. (See pictures) The room was clean and spacious. My only suggestion would be to replace the bedspeads. They are "tired". A white (or pale blue) cover would look fresh and brighten up the room which is a little dark because of the brick walls. I was very impressed with the young lady at the desk. She was very friendly and efficient and cheerfully answered questions and provided directions to local sights.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn

Address: 1 Bridge Street | Cnr Bridge & Plant St, Charters Towers, Queensland QLD 4820, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Charters Towers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Charters Towers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.