We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cardwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcomber Motel
Save
You added Beachcomber Motel to your Saves list
43a Marine Parade, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cardwell
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for one night travelling south. We were made very welcome even without a reservation. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was adequate and comfortable. Great view out to the sea. Got a great pizza from the dining room. A few workmen about renovating from 8am who loved hammering on metal pipes. In short a good place to stopover. No problems here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tolga, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and i have just spent 4 days in a villa, we could have spent a lot longer, if we had the time.What a fantastic set up these villas are, with the ocean and Hinchinbrook island views, and the stunning sunsets.It is a place we will go back to time and time again.
thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

A truly great spot, our beautiful powered site was lovely. The boys loved roaming the park nice camp kitchen and tv area. Really enjoyed the happy hour and yummy pizza. Looking forward to coming back the view over to hichinbrook was glorious

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Don't stay one night, stay more, this place is excellent. We stayed in the newly refurbished motel rooms overlooking the beach, beautiful. The room was immaculate and the food in the restaurant was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked two nights here and could have easily stayed longer. We had a first floor room and loved the view. The room was clean, comfortable and quite roomy. A great spot to watch the sunrise over Hinchinbrook Island. The restaurant is good and they have a happy hour each evening. Great pizzas also from the restaurant. Ask the reception staff to have a look at the photos of the damage from Cyclone Yasi. My only negative was the lack of water pressure in the shower.

Room Tip: Go for a first floor room if possible.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
398 helpful votes 398 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We dicided to stay here for just one night on our North Queensland trip, but would've been quite happy to stay longer.

This place is across the road from the road anf the motel is part of a larger complex, caravan park etc.

The room was spotless, everything was like brand new, this place was totally devastated during last years cyclone and it's a credit to the local community what has been accompliced in such a short time.

The bed was comfortable, nice small terrace in front of the room and overall a place we would recommend.

On another note though, the staff member which booked me in for the night appeared to be inconvenienced by my arrival, it tended to interupt her conversation which another staff member about the obviously important subject of the weather, ergo I stood around for about 5 minutes till she deemed I waited long enough and attended to my needs, which was just in time, as I was on my way out to look elsewhere.
Take note of this owners, these people are the 1st contact with your guests.

Apart from this , the place is very good.

Cardwell still shows many scars from last years disaster and support from travellers is needed to keep the place going.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed three nights in a brand new three bedroom villa with fantastoic uninterrupted views across the Hinchinbrook Channel to Hinchinbrook Island. There were only two of us but the villa was fantastic value.
The Beachcomber is between the highway, which goes straigth thropugh town, and the water which is a huge plus as other accommodation would be noisy and crossing the busy highway can be a chore.
The complex itself consists of a cavaran park, motel and self contained villas and cabins. The motel units face the water and I'd say would be a pretty good option as well.
Our villa had two double bedrooms and another bedroom three beds - a single and double bunks.
There was a large, well equipped kitchen, dining room and lounge room, all open plan. The bathroom was large and well set out.
Everything was spotlessly clean.
Outside was a huge covered deck with large doining setting and those sensational views. The water, if you wanted to try to catch a fish, was about 30 metres away.
The management and staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
There was also a great looking bar and restaurant which we didn't use but lots of other guests did.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and consider it a real find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Address: 43a Marine Parade, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cardwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.