We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location ......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cardwell Beachfront Motel

Save Saved
You added Cardwell Beachfront Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
1 Scott Street, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TRIPADVISOR SPECIAL OFFER
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Cardwell
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location, location ......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A pleasant motel right on the sea front. It is quite unpretentious but comfortable and well set up for self catering. A relaxing sunset view of the bay from the chairs on the long veranda. Steve and Janet are great hosts. After a long day driving on bush roads I did appreciate the nice welcoming phone call from Janet when we were about 80 kilometres away. Reassuring to know that we were expected. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardwellBeachMotel, Owner at Cardwell Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for supporting the town of Cardwell and for chosing to stay at the Cardwell Beachfront Motel. Our town is fortunate to have a great choice of dining options like the RSL, all close by, with some even offering a courtesy coach. As a new business, our bank fees are high. In an effort to keep our room tariffs at an affordable level, we offer guests the choice of paying by cash or debit card to avoid passing on a credit card fee. In time, we hope to be in a position to absorb those fees. So glad that you enjoyed the lovely view from your veranda at sunset!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buderim Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed in Cardwell Beach Motel whilst driving to Cairns on Tuesday 18th June.The location is beyond compare.........RIGHT on the beach with magnificent views . Walk in the morning on the new pathway still under construction which will upon completion extend for 5 kms along the beachfront.........very good reason to go back after August when this is expected. Hosts Steve and Janet although new to the trade have it all right.......they spoil their visitors and make all feel very welcome and "at home". Rooms are immaculate and very pleasantly appointed..........a very lovely place to stop off and my husband and I will definitely stay longer next time. Highly recommended!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All are good as the beach is so close
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardwellBeachMotel, Owner at Cardwell Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
It was lovely to see you and Graham again Christine. The morning you walked to the Coral Sea Memorial along the boardwalk was like many here in Cardwell - very still and calm. Next time, energetic guests like you two can try out the new 'exersite' at the northern end of the walk! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The name of this motel says it all.. it is right on the beach with beautiful views. Steve gave us a very warm welcome and an invitation to join him and his wife Janet later for sunset drinks overlooking the beach. We checked into our room and found it to be basic but clean and comfortable. Vivia, a cafe just down the street was a great place for lunch, followed by a walk on the jetty. On return to our room we heard a commotion on the beach and 2 of the other guests caught a decent Barramundi with a throw net. One of them, Paul joined us for drinks with Steve and Janet and we followed this with delicious fish and chips. A very pleasant evening!
This motel does not currently serve breakfast. Plenty of parking space at the front with a few steps up to our room. Once the roadworks, walkways and retaining seawall have been completed more businesses will reopen and Cardwell will return to normal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardwellBeachMotel, Owner at Cardwell Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Sunset drinks and Friday night fish & chips are a popular ritual at the Cardwell Beachfront Motel! Thanks for joining us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Travelling south from Cairns, we decided to take our time and see a lot of places that we have never had the opportunity before. After stopping off at the different towns along the way, we arrived In Cardwell with a warm welcome by Steve and Janet, who have only been in the motel for just under a year. Staying in the beachfront room, it is spacious, and we were greeted with stunning views of the Coral Sea right at your balcony. The room has been updated and modernised, however is still in keeping with that of a beach hut, small town charm. The kitchen was good, with a microwave and an electric hob. The bedding was fine, and the sound of the sea always is a restful sound. The full moon rising over Hinchinbrook Island at the end the day, then the sun rising in the morning was a lovely way to start the day with breakfast on the balcony. Where this room does have a private balcony, the entrance is on the walkway/balcony to the rest of the rooms on the northern side. Parking is on the street or the parking area at the front of the motel.

The whole of Cardwell is undergoing reconstruction works. The Bruce Highway (the main street), the foreshore, and many of the buildings were severely damaged by Cyclone Yasi in February 2011 . It is a pity that this reconstruction is taking so long, but the end appears in sight, with the foreshore in front of town is expected to open mid July and hopefully Cardwell will see some normality. All in all, a lovely place that deserves more than a stopover and we hope to be able to spend a longer stay there in the future. Thank you Steve and Janet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardwellBeachMotel, Owner at Cardwell Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Sunrises and sunsets are always a pleasure to experience at the Cardwell Beachfront Motel, especially on Full Moon evenings! We look forward to the full beauty of Cardwell being revealed at the completion of reconstruction works soon. Thank you for your comments about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, Tyne & Wear
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight here whilst travelling on our way to Cairns. We were made very welcome by our hosts Steve and Janet (Arnold). Our room had a grand view of the beach and was comfortable for our night's rest. The room was a little on the small side, for storage of clothes and cases, but enough for what we wanted for our short stay. There were twin beds, table and 2 chairs with all the required catering facilities, ie microwave, kettle, pans, crockery, tea and coffee making facilities. The en suite had a good sized shower cubicle, obviously a toilet and wash basin with the requisite toiletries and towels.

There is a swimming pool which is good to take a dip in after a long day travelling. It is advised not to swim in the sea due to the jellyfish (known locally as "Stingers") and very occasionally, the odd crocodile that can be found not far off shore. Steve urged us to make use of this facility, which we did and is situated at the side of the motel, but quite private.

It was good to meet our hosts whose local historical and geographical knowledge was both interesting and helpful to us whilst we prepared to travel on to Cairns and the places to visit along the way. Their maps and informative leaflets came in very handy. (Thank you Steve and Janet for your travel suggestions and we did make it to Cairns in good time to be ready for our flight the following day.)

We are hoping to visit Australia next year and would definitely stay at the Cardwell Beach Motel if we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardwellBeachMotel, Owner at Cardwell Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your stay at the Cardwell Beachfront Motel! Many of our guests are suprised by the great views of the beach from the verandah and since February, these views have been further enhanced by the ongoing Cardwell foreshore re-development - we look forward to sharing this with you next time you are in Australia.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic spot, fantastic people! Very comfortable and immaculately clean with a great pool on the beach front - the place to stay in Cardwell. We had a great quick getaway with two little children; thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardwellBeachMotel, Owner at Cardwell Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Your children were delightful, and it was great to see them enjoy the swimming pool. We look forward to seeing you all again one day soon.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurrimine Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a great time this Easter weekend staying at the Cardwell Beach Motel.The owners, Steve and Janet were fabulous host, they could nt do enough for us,making sure all our needs were met and that we were happy. The rooms were clean and tidy,the gardens beautiful, great walking paths on the waterfront and the pool was just glorious overlooking the ocean. We highly recommend you experience this great location, wonderful hospitality and great service for yourselves! Thanks once again Steve and Janet . Connie D

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardwellBeachMotel, Owner at Cardwell Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We so enjoyed having your extended family stay at the Cardwell Beachfront Motel. By booking adjoining rooms, you were able to stay in touch with each other. Also great to see your family take advantage of the outdoor table & chairs next to the guest BBQ - there were some great smells coming out of that BBQ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cardwell Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardwell Beachfront Motel

Address: 1 Scott Street, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Cardwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cardwell Beachfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardwell Beachfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.