We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Value, a few issues though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inspiration Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cardwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inspiration Resort
Save
You added Inspiration Resort to your Saves list
10-14 Poinciana Bvd. | Port Hinchinbrook, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cardwell
Queensland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Value, a few issues though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

The apartment was clean & neat, the rate we paid was terrific, but... Website mentions a BBQ by the pool, on arrival this had vanished & you have to hire a BBQ for $15.00 per night, a bit cheeky. Pool was not fit to swim in due to maintaince issues, dirty linen was dumped just behind a screen next to the office door & sat there all weekend. Stinky Bins, fishing gear lying around the entrance, shabby gardens. All it takes is presentation, put a little pride into it & this would be a great property, but at the moment feels like Uncles Daves fishing shack.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

If you want to relax in luxury in a peaceful beautiful place at a reasonable price this is where you want to stay. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Robyn helped us by making a list of contacts for everything we wanted to do from snorkeling on tiny offshore islands to sunset cruises. Fishing and golfing are available also; a wonderful place.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — you must take care of apt yourself, no daily room service. Like a timeshare
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

We had the three bedroom apartment as our adult children came too and it was a wonderful place to stay. Everything excellent. Only funny thing is why is the toilet inside the shower? Highly recommend to all.

  • Liked — Spacious Apartment with Views
  • Disliked — Manageress could have been a bit more friendly
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

Inspiration Resort is a small, high-quality resort situated adjacent to the Port Hinchinbrook Marina, just a few minutes from the waterfront town of Cardwell. The whole complex is similar to the gated communities found in Florida (without the security gates).

As well as the resort's own pool, guests are welcome to use the large community pool, gardens and tennis courts adjacent to the marina complex ... along with the marina's waterfront restaurant and bar (complete with happy hour each afternoon).

Four of us spent three nights in a luxurious two bedroom penthouse apartment with everything one could ask for (including the "WOW" factor).

Ultra modern full kitchen, plasma TV, the latest in see-through bathrooms, private BBQ on our outdoor patio, undercoving parking, upstairs spa deck (overlooking the marina), along with picture-postcard sunrises and waterfront views.

Robyn the manager was most helpful (nothing was a problem) and was a wealth of information on day trips and places to see (along with her personal recommendation to visit the marina bar at happy hour).

The resort is situated almost halfway between Townsville and Cairns and is the perfect place to stopover when driving between the two. But ... do yourself a favour and treat it as a destination (not just a stopover). We spent 3 nights there but could easily have spent 7 to 10 days without becoming bored.

It's the perfect place to chill out, sit back, enjoy the view (with a glass or two of bubbly), read a book, ride a bike (you can hire one from the front office), take a fishing trip or boat ride, and don't forget the afternoon or evening walk to the bar and restaurant.

A table overlooking the water, a couple of pre-dinner drinks, a fabulous meal (accompanied by fine wine), a leisurely five minute stroll back to the resort and a nightcap on our own balcony ... it doesn't get any better than that.

And just in case you get bored with all that dining out ... we bought some great steaks from the butcher in Cardwell, a bottle of red from the pub and had a fabulous BBQ on our patio as the sun went down ... Magic !!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay ... "We Shall Return"

PS. If you need supplies, the little supermarket on the sea side of the highway (just before you leave Cardwell heading toward Cairns) has a good range at reasonable prices.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inspiration Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inspiration Resort

Address: 10-14 Poinciana Bvd. | Port Hinchinbrook, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cardwell
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Hinchinbrook accom offers a great range of self contained accommodation by the sea - Holiday villas, beachfront, resort homes with views of Hinchinbrook island, close to pool, tennis court, restaurant and all resort facilities. Relax in the tranquility and soak up the beauty of this tropical resort retreat. Port Hinchinbrook...Cardwell ...the gateway to Hinchinbrook. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inspiration Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.