We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Trib Exotic Fruit Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Tribulation
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Trib Exotic Fruit Farm
Save
You added Cape Trib Exotic Fruit Farm to your Saves list
Lot 5 Nicole Drive, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The place was wonderful and the setting around the cottage (they only have two!) was fairytale-like. You can park your car under a shelter right next to the cottage. Breakfast is included, you can tell the hosts a day in advance what you would like (they offer 5 different things such as scrambled eggs, pancake etc) and at what time and they will bring you the breakfast on the veranda of your cottage, looking into the rainforest. The cottag was clean and had lovely interior. The bathroom was closed by a door but was open apart from that (no separate room, really). There are no real windows, just nets and flappable glass but of course you could hear the sound of the rainforest - that was a thing I had to get used to! Alison and Digby were also very helpful with suggestions such as where to go for dinner or where to go for a walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
82
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My son and I visited the farm for an afternoon presentation and tasting experience. I have to say, it was an afternoon well spent. The presentation was very well done; professional, informative and fun and we were able to taste 10 different exotic fruits. The presentation was followed by a tour around the farm itself where we were able to see all the different fruits growing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were a party of three adults sharing. The room was fine - comfortable and spacious. I've given them an average rating though because we didn't like everyone having to order the same breakfast - as this was more convenient for the chef (Digby). I'm vegetarian so this meant the meat-eaters in our party also had to eat vegetarian each morning of our two-night stay. Not a great start to your paying customers' morning. We also weren't keen on the aggressive Rottweiler patrolling the premises. Otherwise it was OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capetribber, Owner at Cape Trib Exotic Fruit Farm, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Lucy E

thankyou for giving us the opportunity to explain how we do breakfast and operate as a farm.

Because our kitchen is small - we are a family home - not a large hotel, we are not able to operate as a restaurant with an open choice menu, due to the lack of space in the kitchen. We try to be as flexible as possible, and we can usually adapt menus to suit special needs, if you let us know when you check in. The breakfast menu has 7 different options to choose from, and all can be modified to suit.

We are a farm not a resort - and it is better that potential guests understand that, and people who have hotel expectations stay somewhere more appropriate to their needs. When you come to stay with us, you are staying with a family. Our family includes a very friendly and lovable dog called Clare, who also happens to be the guard dog, and who only interacts with the guests if they invite her company. Otherwise she lives at the house.

Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved our 3 night stay at the fruit farm. The cabins really are in the rainforest, you can hear the screeching and rustling at night. Digby and Alison are great hosts, helpful but not intrusive. The star of the show, of course, are the breakfasts. The large tray of very exotic fruits , followed by a cooked breakfast, served on the deck. They will serve breakfast early too if you're heading off on some adventure. Cabins are woody and spacious and very eco-conscious. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Both cabins are nearly identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed on our honeymoon for 3 nights. It was fantastic, right in the middle of the rainforest. Saw and heard lots of wildlife! Breakfast was amazing, we were just expecting the exotic fruit, but, after this course Digby brings a warm breakfast that you choose the night before! Digby and Alison are very helpful and sorted out bookings we had made. The beach is only a short walk if you take the short cut through the fruit farm. Brilliant to wake up to the sound of the birds and other animals!
Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We chose this B&B based on word of mouth reviews and were not disappointed. The accommodation was outstanding and beautifully built. It was like staying in a private tree house.
Alison and Digby were excellent hosts, and Digby's breakfasts were amazing. Fresh fruit, muesli, homemade yogurt, and THEN 10 minutes later the main breakfast dish arrives chosen from a menu the night before. The buckwheat pancakes and Salmon were divine, as was the omelette.

Definitely sign up for the fruit tasting, it is a great way to help you identify some of your breakfast fruit, and is amazing! We came home with 3 jars of the SourSop jam, and wished we had got more.

Highly recommended and a great way to start your holiday at Cape Trib / The Daintree.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet bush escape then forget about this place: the jungle is noisier the our Beach front apartment. Seriously, this is a unique experience which is one of a kind - Digby & Alison run a very special tropical jungle experience which compared to the alternatives in the area is 10/10. If you would rather have the noise of the raucous jungle stay here otherwise have the noise of the raucous drunken hooligans stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Trib Exotic Fruit Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Trib Exotic Fruit Farm

Address: Lot 5 Nicole Drive, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Trib Exotic Fruit Farm is a rare tropical fruit orchard, located at Cape Tribulation which offers a special bed and breakfast experience to people who are looking for something different. The farm has two private, pole-framed high set timber cottages, on the edge of World Heritage Rainforest. Breakfast is a sumptuous repast, based around farm produce. The property runs on solar power. We offer a personalized experience, as hosts who know the area and have lived here for 18 years. The property is one kilometre from the beach at Cape Tribulation and the Great Barrier Reef is 45 minutes offshore. The property includes privately owned World Heritage Rainforest with its own walking trails. The cottage verandah overlooks a rainforest creek and is a great place to relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Trib Exotic Fruit Farm Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Trib Exotic Fruit Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.