We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an absolute delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Hideaway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rainforest Hideaway to your Saves list
Rainforest Hideaway
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lot 19 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
ulladulla
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“an absolute delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is paradise at it's best. Take yourself away from computers and mobiles and kiss the crowds goodbye. Hideaway is about fresh air and simply living in harmony with the rainforest. Rob's gardens are unique and his sculptures incredible. A little track meanders to the creek with many secret spots to watch the birds do their thing. If you love nature appreciate woodcraft or art this is definately the place for you. We easily filled three days. There are endless beaches to explore. One is at the end of the street along with the Dubuji boardwalk which has picnic tables. There is a grocery shop not far up the road for supplies. There is also a restaurant within walking distance with a local twist to the menu.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
63
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Yes, this place is unique and we quite enjoyed our stay at the Hideaway. But this was one of those experiences where you think to yourself, that a series of little improvements could make the place so much better.

We stayed in the outside cabin, and quite enjoyed it. The outdoor bathroom was fun, and there's nothing but rainforest so no chance of being caught exposed. The cabin is a long way from new, so there's a number of things that could be done to improve it:
1) the mattress is soft and uncomfortable, and due for replacement.
2) the room needs fly-screens and screen doors. one window has them, so why not the rest? with the number of insects about, and the windows being the only ventilation, you have no choice but to wear insect repellent to bed.
3) airflow - it needs some. describing that natural airflow is all a guest needs is fine, but what about when the night is still and breezeless? the room becomes stuffy quickly. It should be possible to install a small, low voltage fan that won't drain the solar powered batteries.
4) there needs to be some way of blocking out the light (full moon). the curtains are inadequate, and you need to keep them open to achieve airflow. between the light and the wildlife noises outside (which never stop), quality sleep is hard to achieve.
5) a power point by the bed would be great for charging your phone overnight. there's only one power point in the room, making it hard if two people need to charge up.

The first three of those things would need to be done before I could say the room was comfortable enough to recommend.

The other annoyance is the lack of cooking facilities - or the permission to use the ones there. The eating options in Cape Trib are limited, and made worse when the one good restaurant say they don't feel like opening up that night. For those of us with food intolerances - not usually well understood by the backpackers staffing most places - it can be really useful to be able to cook your own food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenslandTreefrog, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Rainforest Hideaway is a nature experience, this is a low impact eco-lodge where you immerse yourself in the oldest rainforest in the world. Complaints about night time frog calls, moonlight, and lack of powerpoints for charging mobile phones that do not even have reception here are signs of guests not having done their research and chosen the wrong place. Same goes for complaints about lack of cooking facilities which were never promised, and the reason for not all windows having screens is that we enjoy an amazing absence of insects here, so this job is not a priority, and sleeping with insect repellent on is absolutely not necessary. All businesses here suffer from the stupid government decision to not allow grid power here, so we only use pedestal fans in the heat of summer as fans are a big drain on the batteries and we can not run fans year round. As other reviewers have pointed out, this place is not for everyone, but those who enjoy the laid back rustic and artistic ambiance of the place with the surrounding wildlife keep on coming back for more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

We genuinely LOVED this place. It's the greatest bed and breakfast that we have ever experienced. This is as close to the rainforest you can get in the area. They have a resident cassowary that came by and enjoyed breakfast with us every morning. It started raining in the middle of the night and the sound of the rain on the roof and the sounds of the rainforest animals was an experience I cannot describe in words. If you're looking for accommodations like you get at the Marriott hotel, this is not the place. If you want a authentic experience in the tropical rainforest, stay here! Showering and sitting on a toilet in the open air facing the rainforest was something that we will never forget for the rest of our lives. We decided to come to cape tribulation for the jungle zip lines. "jungle surfing" which was so awesome and well worth it. They pick you up from the Hideaway and we were the closest to the zip line site. Everyone tha was staying at other places got out of the bus to take pictures of our place. I would love to go back one day and when we do, I'll be staying here.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

WOW! This place is unique and amazing- I am sure that nothing else like it exists anywhere. It is a little "rustic" but if you can handle that part then you are in for a terriffic treat! Sort of hard to describe this place- I don't even want to try. If you are a fan of artistic endeavors, you love the natural world and you can handle sleeping in a room with windows without screens- then GO!!! And ENJOY! I will add that by some mystery- even though this place is deep in a rainforest and we were there in rainy season- we only saw 2 mosquitos the whole 4 days we stayed.

Room Tip: i think that there are only two rooms- if you are a family then you will stay in the" main hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in March 2012 and used the B&B as a base for exploring the Daintree. What a great place! Coming from a very urban environment, it took a little while to get used to the local wildlife, but Julie, our host since Rob was away, was fantastic at setting us at ease. The cabins are very comfortable, and with full access to the main house, there's plenty of space and room to relax. Everything about the place is funky and quirky and fun. The outdoor bathroom is great...a very nice bathroom, but without walls. The owner/manager/designer/decorator's sense of humor and quirkiness are apparent through the whole property, and so much fun!

Julie was awesome. Lots of great advice and recommendations, and so much fun to talk with. She made our stay absolutely perfect.

We visited during the rainy season so we were either damp or wet the entire time there, but it's a rainforest, so no complaints. Made the whole thing a fanstastic experience.

Room Tip: Room 1092 is separate from the main house and has the outdoor bathroom, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed as guests of Rob for one night during our three day tour of the Daintree. He was lovely to talk to and to hear all about the fantastic artwork that he's made which is placed throughout his garden.

This place is not your normal boring B&B or hotel style accommodation. It's rustic and handmade, and with all the sculptures around the place, it's a very creative and hand crafted kind of place. The garden is large and so you can explore the network of paths that Rob has built to see all of his sculptures.

The accommodation itself is perfectly comfortable and clean. The breakfast was fresh and delicious with locally grown tea and coffee. We were the only visitors there at the time so we had a very relaxed evening chatting with Rob about the time he's been living there and all the art he has created, stories about the area... and the run ins he's had with the local cassowaries.

Loved the outdoor bathroom - very cool to shower in the rainforest.

But like anywhere in the Daintree, make sure you have plenty of mosquito repellant on hand!

Room Tip: There are two suites available. Try to stay in the hut that is separate from the main building - tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We booked cabin 1092 principally because of the outside bathroom; we loved using a similar outside bathroom when we were in the Maldives. I happened to wake up at about 5 a.m. and when I went outside the dawn chorus was absolutely amazing.

When we arrived in the morning to drop off our suitcases we were greeted by a young Irish girl who had been helping Rob out for a few weeks. She told us that she had not yet seen a Cassowary but when we returned later on in the day Rob told us she had seen a Cassowary whilst we were away. We felt disappointed at having missed seeing it but the next morning, as we were having breakfast in Rob's dining area, the Cassowary reappeared with two chicks. After breakfast the girl took us on a walk through the forest past Rob's sculptures. We had almost walked past it before we realized that the Cassowary and its chicks were sitting quietly next to the path watching us. It gave us a bit of a shock as they can be quite dangerous.

Thank you Rob for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainforest Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Hideaway

Address: Lot 19 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation deep inside the world's oldest rainforest. Solar powered eco-accommodation without some of the luxuries and facilities of the big resorts, but comfortable and located within walking distance of beach, restaurants, shop and National Park boardwalks. On the two hectare property there is a sculpture trail showcasing sculptures created by the owner and several visiting artists, fishponds and a beautiful freshwater creek. This place is owner-built and owner-managed, and your host is always happy to provide you with tips on where to go and what to do and book any activities you'd like to do. Prolific wildlife is another feature of this property, especially the cassowaries that frequently visit the place. You can make your holiday action-packed with the local tours such as snorkeling, jungle surfing, horse riding, sea kayaking etc. or total relaxation by hanging out on the property on the seats on the sculpture trail, or in the hammocks around the house. Keep in touch with the outside world through free Wifi. If you are an artist you might even like to add your own creation to the sculpture trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rainforest Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Hideaway Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.