We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it... even if you are a total beginner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Tribulation Horse Rides

Cape Tribulation Horse Rides
3831 Cape Tribulation Road, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
61 7 4098 0030
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horse Tracks, Casinos & Gaming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience a real horse ride in the heart of Cape Tribulation. Emmerse yourself in the breath taking scenery of mountains, beaches, creeks and rainforests. If you're lucky you might even spot a croc or cassowary! Here at Cape Trib horse rides we allow everyone (even beginners!) to trot and slow gallop their horse at times throughout the 2 hour ride.please come and take the ride.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Go for it... even if you are a total beginner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Thank you Jo and Laura... you are delightful and professional, yet such fun.
Could not believe I ended up going at a canter even though had only ever had a couple of hours on a horse 40 years ago.
The girls are encouraging, great instructors and give personalised attention to every rider.
It was a superb afternoon... leisurely without anyone keeping to a strict time table and the ride was on even though there were only three of us.
Thank you ladies... had a marvellous afternoon

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    15
    1
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to the rainforest. The girls, Jo and Laura (? I think) were laid back and totally put us at our ease given that we were total novices. There were only 4 of us, so we got enough time to chat and to learn the basics. The girls kept an eye on each rider's posture and comfort so that we and the horses were comfortable. Amazingly we built up to a canter within half an hour! The ride took us through beautiful countryside, rainforest and the beach abs was very relaxing. These girls love the horses and are totally conscientious about making this experience special for everyone. Loads of opps for photos, which I will treasure.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Horse trekking in Cape Tribulation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I were looking for something a bit different to do whilst in Cape Tribulation and decided this was the ideal activity. Neither of us had ridden a horse before, but both of us felt assured the horses were adequately trained and so little input was needed by us, except a few slight variations in course to avoid being taken through low lying trees!

Whilst on the trek you get to ride, trot and canter the horse through the forest, some open grassland and on the beach.

For $89 per person for approximately two hours horse riding, it was one of the cheaper but more enjoyable experiences of our tour of the East coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great horses and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The staff were friendly and very knowledgeable about their horses. They ask you to fill out a questionnaire and ask about previous riding experience to match you to the right horse to fit your level. The beginner level horses we had were extremely well trained and knew the trail by heart and the rider doesn't really need to do much to get the horse on the right track. The ride through the rainforest was amazing! Looking up to the canopies with butterflies flying around your head while you're on a horse is an incredible experience. They teach you how to trot and canter with your horse and we got to do three short canters along the beach and on the grounds which was great fun and not offered at all places. Riding along the shore was also an amazing experience and there were lots of photo opportunities with the scenic background. The horses even know exactly where to stand to pose for the photos! Highly recommended!
However, the website did promise a stop for swimming and we did not get to do that and was not mentioned. We still took a dip in the swimming hole behind Mason's cafe afterwards on our own though which was really nice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Falls a bit short of what's promised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff were great we felt very welcome from the moment we were picked up.

The ride is very suited to beginners/intermediate riders, more so than advanced, as the horses are well trained to follow their leader and not let other horses pass.

The website mentions that during the ride there would be a stop for a swim, this didn't happen and there was no explanation provided as to why not.

The time was also a bit shorter than promised by about half an hour, this was including a delay before setting off due extra horses needing to be saddled as there was a mix up with how many people were supposed to be booked on the ride.

The scenery is fantastic, the horses are safe & well trained and once again the staff are very helpful and welcoming, but sadly other aspects made the ride a bit disappointing


Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Tribulation Horse Rides also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Diwan, Cape Tribulation
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Cape Tribulation Horse Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Tribulation Horse Rides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.