We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turps has it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On the Turps

On the Turps
Lot 236 Turpentine rd, Cape Tribulation, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our international chef will tantalise your tastebuds with Mediterranean style quality food using the finest of local ingredients. Dine with the bandicoots for dinner and enjoy breakfast and lunch overlooking the magical Cooper Creek.
australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Turps has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We called here for a late lunch, on our way down to Cow Bay from Cooktown. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The setting is wonderful, in the midst of the rainforest, with Coopers Creek running by below the restaurant. The food was excellent. For entree we shared a plate of chicken and hazelnut terrine served with a lovely bread. For mains, I had the Saganaki Cheese dish, which was cooked perfectly, and served with a great variety of mushrooms, and truffle oil, just delish!!
My husband had the steak, cooked perfectly and served with beurre butter and salad.
It was our 40th wedding anniversary, and what a great meal to celebrate with. The only downside, was that we could not fit a dessert in. Maybe next time we are down that way, we will call in for coffee and dessert.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food like RSL”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The food quality was what you might gets at an RSL or poor quality pub yet the price was like an expensive city restaurant.
Service was slow and cold.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We loved the setting here, looking out into the rainforest. The dinner we had was a little basic, but ok. We think the waiter was new, so we put up with it all. Steak not cooked as asked, and the pasta was obviously done in a microwave and so boiling hot, too hot to eat. Ambience good.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPlace, Louisiana
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Good for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our small tour group stopped here for lunch on the way to Cooper's Creek. It's a beautiful place to wander around, with lush vegetation, birds and butterflies. We had pre-ordered salads and sandwiches. The food was fresh and everyone agreed we'd like to return for dinner if we weren't staying so far away.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meals were Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was a recommendation from our accommodation hosts in the Daintree. The restaurant "On the Turps" is part of the Heritage Resort in Cape Trib. Anyone can book and dine here. They are open for lunch and dinner. I wasn't sure what to expect from a small restaurant in a hidden part of the Daintree. But I have to say the meals speak for themselves. It pays to have great service, our waiter was really friendly and very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Turps also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to On the Turps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Turps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.