We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meals were Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On the Turps

On the Turps
Lot 236 Turpentine rd, Cape Tribulation, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our international chef will tantalise your tastebuds with Mediterranean style quality food using the finest of local ingredients. Dine with the bandicoots for dinner and enjoy breakfast and lunch overlooking the magical Cooper Creek.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meals were Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was a recommendation from our accommodation hosts in the Daintree. The restaurant "On the Turps" is part of the Heritage Resort in Cape Trib. Anyone can book and dine here. They are open for lunch and dinner. I wasn't sure what to expect from a small restaurant in a hidden part of the Daintree. But I have to say the meals speak for themselves. It pays to have great service, our waiter was really friendly and very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Morning Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped in here to pick up some more tour group members. We had some morning tea, nice fresh made scones etc. Nice little place, very quite and away from the main road. I did not eat a main meal so can't really comment there on the food front. But the guests did not say anything negative.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice high end restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Chef was nice enough to fit us into to the end of his evening. (trust me you'll appreciate this in a remote area where dinner at the few restaurants is between 6 to 8 and if you haven't ordered by 7:30 you might not be welcome).

Dinner was excellent, and despite the high prices, an enormous amount of food for the money. The steaks were cooked exactly to our specifications, and the curry chicken was delicious.

The waiter was nice, and very efficient.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service & Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

During our stay at Cape Tribulation, we ate here several times.
Food was lovely, service was excellent - i still dream about the rum and raisin ice-cream
Thanks for some great memories

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track and well worth the treck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed elsewhere in the Daintree and were recommended to go there, and were not disappointed. I contacted Vicki in advance and she was very helpful with what we wanted to do to celebrate a special night with friends.

They could not have been more attentive, the food was very good, I didn't have the barra but a couple of us did and they said it was great. Make sure you try the desserts, they are a great finish to the night.

Great views in their outdoor restaurant, high quality from the moment we got there to the moment we left. Highly recommended and worth going off the beaten track to get there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Turps also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to On the Turps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Turps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.