We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, fun, simple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mason's Cafe

Mason's Cafe
3781 Cape Tribulation Road, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
+61 7 4098 0016
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Mason's Cafe offers fresh food,featuring local produce where possible. Open for lunch and dinner (may be closed in the low season)we sell burgers, steak sandwiches, fish and chips and a range of reasonably priced meals and drinks. Cakes and desserts are made onsite.We specialize in Crocodile, Emu and Kangaroo Burgers, and also offer offer a tasting plate that includes all three.We serve Tichum Creek Coffee and Daintree Tea, both sourced locally.Mason's Cafe is not 'full service' we ask that you order at the counter and you are called when meals are ready.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Simple, fun, simple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

As others have mentioned, this place is nothing really to look at on the inside but the outdoor area to eat was well enough, has a somewhat "camping" type diner vibe. In any case, we were SO glad we stopped here for a meal. We tried a slider burger sampler which was just super fun!! Emu, Croc, Roo, Camel, Wild Boar and Buffalo and choko on the side. Everything was cooked well and they label the plate for you so you can keep track of what you're tasting. The camel was probably the driest, least interesting but we ate everything and had a great time doing so! It's no 5 star restaurant, it was a 5 star enjoyable experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for honest review. I am really pleased you enjoyed the Tasting Plate, it is a lot of work to get all the components here and delivered to customers that way, but I still enjoy watching people try everything! For some reason camel is my favourite, but of course the whole point of a tasting plate is to find out what you do and don't like.
Like you say we need to finish the deck eating area off ( I am currently growing the plants for the deck, and the paint is here and ready to go), and while we would really love flash new cafe tables and chairs in the current economic climate I fear that may have to wait a while.
Like you say, we are definately not a five star restaurant, but we do try to offer a good value large meals with local product where possible.
It is so awesome to see honest reviewers on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    19
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We dropped in here for lunch and had a couple of burgers. They are huge! We totally missed all the signs out the front which advertise game burgers ie kangaroo, emu, croc etc. Masons creek is out the back and is a lovely spot with a swimming hole.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed the burgers and the swimming hole!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“mmmm, a bit tired.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Masons had a nice big verandah, with table cloths on the tables - but all were dirty - and we had to take our cloth off, and turn it over. EEEEwwww!The shop was also a bit sad, with not much stock....it was all abit tired really. Perhaps time for a facelift?

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I am very sorry that your table had a dirty cloth....clearly that is not ideal. But ALL the cloths dirty....really? And would you not just ask for a new one? As I have stated before I eat out weekly, and having to ask for a table to wiped etc is not that unusual.
Thanks for making hurtful remarks re the level of stock, perhaps you did not notice that it is a small town, with two shops, and that maybe the reason is that carrying excess stock anytime, especially in the leadup to the wet is inviting it to spoil. Maybe instead of casting lofty aspersions on the level of stock you could have bought something from the shop and helped to contribute to it's viability in difficult economic times.
Assuming you visited on the 13th I am aware that the lawns were long and this made the place look less attractive than it usually does, however this I have remedied today, having recovered from an illness. There are a few minor maintenance issues however no worse than any of the other businesses you visited; I live here remember.
There was no mention of the food so it is unclear if you ate here or not. I fail to see how this review is in the least way helpful, and it seems you did not learn much of the area at all while here which is a pity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stumbled across Mason's Cafe on our day trip to Cape Trib. What a great little place!

For such a small cafe, the menu is extensive, good variety & the exotic foods are fantastic. You can try Camel, Kangaroo, Croc or Buffalo burgers just to name a few.

The burgers are large & enjoyable. If you visit Cape Trib, this is your place to eat!

Well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We really are trying hard to provide not only quality food, but something memorable and different. I am really pleased you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best Burgers Around. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stopped in to Masons Cafe for lunch not knowing exactly what I was in for. The menu was fantastic. Extensive and value for money. I had a Burger with the lot and was blown away by the size of it. Massive burger and it was juicy and tasty as. As well as beef burgers, you can have Buffalo, emu, croc, chicken and a few other types. Great food really nice staff and good prices. If your in cape trib you have to try this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the burger; for some time I have been hand making all of them, and I am pleased to see this pay off. Once again, I am also pleased to see someone who enjoyed the cafe take the time to review. When this happens it makes Tripadvisor seem all that much more relevant. The last month or so is the only time I have seen our reviews seem consistent with feedback recieved directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason's Cafe also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Mason's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mason's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.