We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive feeds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mason's Cafe

Mason's Cafe
3781 Cape Tribulation Road, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
+61 7 4098 0016
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Mason's Cafe offers fresh food,featuring local produce where possible. Open for lunch and dinner (may be closed in the low season)we sell burgers, steak sandwiches, fish and chips and a range of reasonably priced meals and drinks. Cakes and desserts are made onsite.We specialize in Crocodile, Emu and Kangaroo Burgers, and also offer offer a tasting plate that includes all three.We serve Tichum Creek Coffee and Daintree Tea, both sourced locally.Mason's Cafe is not 'full service' we ask that you order at the counter and you are called when meals are ready.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Massive feeds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stopped off here on our day trip thought the Daintree from Port Douglas. There was a group of us & none of us left hungry! The meals are big & very tasty! We all had burgers - Buffalo, chicken, fish. One person got the seafood basket & it could of fed a family alone! It was very busy while we were there, must be a popular place to stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We certainly are trying to provide good food in generous portions. I am really pleased that you found the burgers tasty, and that you found the time to give us a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    19
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mornington Peninsula
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Iconic Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is where aussies get there own back. I felt some pleasure in tucking into my exquisite croc burger. You can choose from croc, emu, buffalo, kangaroo, Cajun chicken or plain old beef, but there is nothing plain about the quality & flavour of the burgers. Place is simple, neat & clean with a simple menu. No trip to the cape is complete without a Mason's Burger for lunch.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. I am always expecially pleased when people who have enjoyed the place take the time to give feedback. I have made a huge effort to not only provide unique burgers, but to make them taste good too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Food was bland..chicken sandwich...pass...it's not yummy....tried salt..pepper..was dry.....just needed mayo...or something...was not cooked bad....just needed some kick....I tried and I did not dislike the place...sure the burgers taste great

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for responding. I am pleased you thought it was cute....after we finish somepainting and get the hanging plants up next year it should be even cuter!
I am a little perplexed about the chicken, we cook it ourselves with bay leaves, salt and pepper, and it is usually moist. Sometimes people who are used to the pre-cooked frozen chicken, which is very salty and used by many cafes find 'real' chicken too different. Mayonaisse is made onsite and available, so I am curious as to why you would not have asked for some, or ordered it on the sandwich?
As you noted we offer salt and peeper on all tables, so people can add more seasoning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

* Tried the croc, roo, emu burger platter
* Food average
* Gave a lot of breadfruit chips, a plus =)
* Nice outdoor setting
* Workers were very friendly

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review. I did try to contact you to find out why the food was 'average'. Perhaps dealing direct with a manager is confronting to the average Tripadvisor user. I would have been interested to know what could have been done to make it better than average.... You do need to keep in mind that you are tasting new foods with the plate you had, and these are not always what people expect. We also try not to overpower the meats with excessive spices; you are afterall buying a tasting plate to taste something new, not see how many spices can be used to disguise the food. Tasting plates are very popular, and good value considering the amount of food you get.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quirky, Worthwhile, But Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Who doesn't want to eat exotic meats which you are not likely to have the opportunity to eat too often. Kangaroo, Emu, Wild Boar, Camel, Crocodile etc. Although they are all in burger patties it is still great to be able to try these 'cultural' meats.
Yes it is a little on the expensive side, but you are in the rainforest after all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks for your review. Believe me we are trying very hard to provide something different to the normal lunch fare for visitors, and it is great that you recognised this. As to expensive, I eat our in Cairns once a week, and pay similar prices in similar cafes for non-exotic food. Given that we provide our own electricity, water and sewage treatment at great cost, I think our prices are not bad. For the record all exotic burgers are $13.95, tasting paltes are $24.95, and mega tasting plates (all six meats) are $44.95.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason's Cafe also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Mason's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mason's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.