We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daintree Entomological museum

Daintree Entomological museum
Turpentine road, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
+07 40 989 045
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: jungle bugs and butterflies
Bendigo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed this place. It was very interesting with lots of different species of both butterflies and bugs. It was a great story of how the museum all started and where all the bugs came from. Unfortunately there was not much information about the bugs. It is worth visiting.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Only for bug/butterfly lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I'm not a massive fan of bugs(my partner is), so i went begrudgingly.
I was a bit hesitant considering the small size from the outside, but I learnt a few new things and really enjoyed the butterflies. They are from all over the world and very colourful.
We also saw some week old stick insects and learnt about the pandanus peppermint insects.
The lady is very welcoming and helpful also.

You have to remember, this is a private collection so the original owner spent a lot of time to collect and build this.
Its great if you like bugs and butterflies!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fantastic collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Absolutely mind-boggling collection of insects and butterflies - yes pinned and catalogued! There were also some live stick insects and leaf insects and peppermint stick insects which we had never seen before. Woman working there was friendly and quite knowledgeable. Person who set up museum no longer works there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great for bug enthusiasts but not if you like your bugs alive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was recommended to us as a great place to see bugs and butterflies. Having wondered at the butterflies we had seen I was excited to think we could go to a 'bug house' and see them all up close etc. but I was thinking of them being alive......I did not realise that this museum has lots of dead, pinned and catalogued bugs etc. great if you like that, and I probably got the wrong end of the stick - but it wasn't for us. We were shown some live stick insects and bird eating spiders - but then on to the museum which I personally did not enjoy. Doesn't mean that it's wrong for everyone though!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing collection of beetles and some other insects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

While there don't forget to ask if the butterfly habitat is open. We got there early and found out later that we missed it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Entomological museum also viewed

 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Daintree Entomological museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daintree Entomological museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.