We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical camping paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Trib Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Tribulation
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Trib Camping
Save
You added Cape Trib Camping to your Saves list
Lot 11 Cape Tribulation Road, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tropical camping paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

A return visit to Cape Trib camping was just as awesome as our first visit in Nov 2012. Being able to carry a drink and a chair to the beach only meters from your campsite and sit in shade and watch the tides do their thing is fantastic. Facilities are pretty good for a remote camp ground, the cafe/bar & pizzas are excellent. I fully recommend this camp ground.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    37
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
49
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Cape Trib Camping was a lovely facility. All of the staff were very friendly and the wood smoked pizzas were delicious! The facilities were clean and spacious and the campsites are directly adjacent to the beach. We would absolutely stay again if we are to re-visit the area. After sun down the campsites are quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our kayak rentals as well.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This campsite offers spacious forested facilities close to a beautiful secluded beach. Many amenities are offered including a fridge, basins,washing machine, showers,WC and gas cookers.
We stayed in one of the permanent tents there, which are basic and looking in need of a revamp.
Overall it's a wonderful place to camp.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the permanent tents. The tents are Spartan and I would only really recommend if you are already a camper (which we are). It gets really hot in the tents as the sun comes up in the mornings. Fans are provided however.

The campsites looked good and the campers were not packed in at all, with plenty of room between sites.

The communal bathrooms are clean and the showers have good water pressure and hot water.

There are large communal kitchens, including a fridge which was really appreciated.

As many have mentioned, the bar pizzas are excellent. The resort is set on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My partner and I camped on a powered site (site #12) for three nights during the Oct school holidays, and were very impressed with the location and facilities. The campsite was busy with families, and in hindsight we would have preferred an unpowered site which are positioned away from the hustle and bustle and are a bit shadier - however, we noticed that you weren't able to book these in advance (first come first serve). The owners were friendly, but it was the casual staff that made the place with a special shout out to the french chef who cooked up some amazing wood-fired pizzas & nachos for us! The beach out front is great is for kids, but the water is shallow and soupy warm, so we would recommend finding alternative swimming spots for a cool down - there are some deep freshwater swimming holes located behind the general store just 500m down the road. We travelled to the campsite via the Bloomfield Track which is 4WD only. We were surprised at how good the road was, but no doubt a different story after some rain! This is a great campsite for people wanting to get away from it all, including backpackers, families and couples alike. And thanks again for playing the AFL Grand Final in the bar - couldn't think of a better place to watch it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were going to stay in a safari hut here, but upon arriving, the man in reception I found to be very unfriendly, he was quite conceited, and spoke in a tone of voice that appeared that he though he was king of the world and I was a peasant if you get my drift. I requested to look at the huts before I paid, and he obliged but told me we had to walk as no cars were allowed in until we paid, saying they had to chase people! Implying that the I, as the customer is going to 'steal' as such!. The tent/s were very basic and very expensive ($120 a night for a family) with very uncomfortable looking beds right next to the communal toilet block.

By the end, the man's attitude (how I wish I knew his name) had me so worked up that I refused to stay here regardless of the poor accommodation and high price. Very disappointing. A drive up the dirt road found us so much happier. On the other hand, previous dealings with Jess on the phone were pleasant, but unfortunately didn't deliver a positive experience in the end.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A lovely spot for families with great beach access and good amenities. Friendly staff and good for for kiddies!
The kitchen was kept tidy and the coffee and pizzas were really great for weary travellers.
Not too many bugs and the site even when full is not overwhelming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Trib Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Trib Camping

Address: Lot 11 Cape Tribulation Road, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Tribulation Camping ground is in the heart of Cape Tribulation on beautiful Myall Beach and provides absolute beachfront rainforest camping. We cater for tents, motorhomes, camper-trailers and caravans. We also have double and twin safari tents available.We have a fully equipped camp kitchen with free BBQ’s, gas cook-tops, urn with boiling water – always ready for that cuppa, hot showers, laundry, beach showers, public telephone, kiosk/reception, cold drinks, ice and ice-creams. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Trib Camping Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Trib Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.