We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Trib Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Tribulation
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Trib Camping
Save
You added Cape Trib Camping to your Saves list
Lot 11 Cape Tribulation Road, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Idyllic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We camped here for 4 nights recently. Great location, spacious campground. Facilities are really good and the staff are super helpful. Loved the wood fired pizzas at night too. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    37
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
50
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The amazing drive through the forest from the Daintree River ferry is equalled when you arrived at the Cape Trib camping ground. Set in the middle of the rainforest, next to the most beautiful beach, the welcome is warm, the staff are friendly, the patrons relaxed, and grounds are well laid out.

The amenities are basic but clean and well located. Some powered sites are a little on the smaller side, but overall this place is an oasis. The bar and wood fired pizza provide ice cold beer and super delicious pizza!!

The beach is clean and spectacular - the tide goes out a long way, revealing sand bars and rock pools. There are forest animals - bush turkeys, bush hens, ants, spiders, birds, and although we didn't see them, sea turtles are regularly seen on the edge of the reef about 300m off the beach.

Whilst in the area take advantage of one of the many crocodile cruises (we did the Cooper's Creek one) to see these disturbingly beautiful creatures in their natural environment (we saw 5!).

The whole area is incredibly majestic and everyone needs to have the chance to see it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights in a safari tent here and enjoyed it. Staff are friendly and helpful and the amenities and camp kitchen are clean and quite new looking. Our tent was ok, roomy, but probably need a bit of an upgrade for the old foam mattress and oldish looking sheets. We thought the cost was decent value for the room and not having to put up a tent ourselves. Unusually the deck was out the back of the tent and we would have liked to sit out the front. Pizza night was great and we enjoyed our prawn wood fired pizza very much. Thinking of returning same time next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad place. We had made a booking online and to no fault of the park the third party program didn't work so they didn't have out booking even though we had paid in full so they had to squeeze us in which was a bit of a disappointment. In all honestly The toilets stunk and there was always toilet paper on the floor. There was no soap to clean your hands so make sure you bring some. Some sites are fantastic and secluded others were too close for my liking. The cafe is great and they serve gluten free pizzas that were great. The only downer is I felt like some of there events ran a bit late so people who wanted to go to bed early didn't really have a choice but to listen to the music/crowd. Direct beach access was nice. We paid 40 bucks a night for an unpowered site it seemed to be a little bit on the expensive side for the particular site we were crammed into but that was because our booking never went through. We found other cheaper places at cape trib that we will stay next time. There camp kitchen was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We just loved it here. From the moment we pulled in, it was like we old friends! We only put out camper half up before having a beer with the manager!! After setting up and exploring the beautiful beach we ordered some wood fired pizzas - delivered right to us! They were so delicious. The guys are always happy for a chat and too share local knowledge. We had such a great relaxing time here, I would love to go back. We got to see crocs, turtles, snakes, crabs, lizards, orb spiders and much more.
Good hot showers with plenty of pressure. Basic but always clean.
Thanks for a great time, would love to come and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fantastic location, right on the beach and in the heart of the Daintree. The facilities are very small and basic and they just cram too many people in side by side which is a shame since the surrounds are so lovely. Found the rate for a powered site far too expensive for the grounds, my advice would be to ask for a more secluded site in the unpowered section ( they do have powered sites in the unpowered area).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The cape trib camp ground was an excellent place to park our camper trailer and do some 4wding. The camp ground has a decent camp kitchen, reasonably clean amenities given the more or less constant rain and provides good shelter from the winds off Myall Beach.

We made use of the coconut spike and rope swing to amuse our son, ate yummy home made muffins with coffee on our first morning and on our last night we ate some delicious wood fired pizza. There is a communal fire every night which is a nice place to toast marshmallows. Owners were very helpful with advise on driving the Bloomfield track (where we saw a Cassowary!). Camp Ground is easy walking distance to a boardwalk near Cape Trib where we spotted a tree kangaroo at night.

We stayed in an unpowered site which was in the middle of the grounds, if I went there again I would ask for one of the sites that sit in the forest which borders the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Trib Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Trib Camping

Address: Lot 11 Cape Tribulation Road, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Tribulation Camping ground is in the heart of Cape Tribulation on beautiful Myall Beach and provides absolute beachfront rainforest camping. We cater for tents, motorhomes, camper-trailers and caravans. We also have double and twin safari tents available.We have a fully equipped camp kitchen with free BBQ’s, gas cook-tops, urn with boiling water – always ready for that cuppa, hot showers, laundry, beach showers, public telephone, kiosk/reception, cold drinks, ice and ice-creams. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Trib Camping Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Trib Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.