We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferntree Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ferntree Rainforest Lodge to your Saves list
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
36 Camelot Close | 36 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia (Formerly Ferntree Hostel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed there for a night in October 2013 and I quite enjoyed my stay. If you are planning on coming up to Cape Trib bare in mind that there is "nothing", make sure you are looking for a relaxing time and bring plenty of food with you there is only one little tiny shop and that's about it. Cape Trib is wilderness. I spend my two days walking around the woods, sunbathing on desert beaches and hopping no crocodile or cassowary would hurt me hehe Once I said that, the hotel was quite nice, huuuuuge lounge and nice swimming-pool. The staff were very friendly and allowed me to use their phone to call the tour company (no signal up there, of course). The room was clean and spacious and I slept on a normal bed, no bunk bed. I would recommend this hotel is you are looking for a relaxing place to stay in. (October 2013)

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    64
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
53
56
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a fantastic location - you feel like you are surrounded by the rainforest on all sides. We stayed in the Garden Loft cabin which had a fun design, especially for the kids who really were sleeping at tree level. Although everything was clean, the room really was ready for a little renovation. The bathroom was quite dated and the air conditioner made a considerable din. We found most of the staff very helpful and it was very easy to book trips and tours. Kids loved the pools.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My stay there was pretty poor. From the moment we walked into the reception no one greeted us until I said something to the receptionist. Then the room was pretty disappointing. We payed for the cheapest room which was still 140$ and the room was very run down. The shower was broken and the water temperature was impossible to regulate. The toilet was so old it was yellow instead of white. It has all the good basics though. A good bed and a mini fridge and everything is pretty clean just very old. I wouldn't rush to stay there again especially for the price.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a few nights with our young kids and another friend. Considering the prices of accommodation in the area it was a great value for money. We had a lodge that comfortably accommodated all of us- which was great as we wished to spend time together. Our lodge was clean and nicely appointed with everything you expect form a hotel room. The whole place is a beautiful, exciting wooden structure in the middle of the rainforest and I actually liked the slightly run down look of it. The pool was huge and well maintained and the grounds are endless labyrinth for exploration for kids and adults too.The staff was friendly and not intrusive. We even arrived after the reception was closed but the key for our lodge waited in the envelop for us. The breakfast was basic continental with everything you would need. Don't forget that this is a quite remote area of Far North Queensland and enjoying the wild surroundings in a comfort of this lodge offers is the key! If you are after a flashy chrome and glass outfit- its probably not the place for you. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here mid November to relax with a few friends. Friendly staff, nice rooms, good food. I know where to come next time I visit Cape Trib. Only mistake we made was not staying long enough.... Thankyou

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

The hotel is set in a beautiful setting. The rooms are dated and could do with a refurbishment. As such the room was not good value for money. The breakfast was good and the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This lodge has seen better days, it badly needs renovation. The room rate is much too high for what you get. Breakfeast is lowest level, so is dinner. One can see the bottom of the coffee cup if it is full.

Room Tip: We stayed in a poolside room with quite run down furniture. I do not know of better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferntree Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferntree Rainforest Lodge

Address: 36 Camelot Close | 36 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia (Formerly Ferntree Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ferntree Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferntree Rainforest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.